How to be an InformationWar Activist - Part Twelve: Information War, Binary Thinking , Utopian Thinking, Critical Thinking

in #informationwar7 years ago (edited)

As I put this post together, I note that I am using several of my older posts as support, and there is some duplication and cross-referencing within them.

Binary Thinking

Binary Thinking is distilling basic options down to two:
Something is THIS, or something is THAT; Binary Thinking does not allow the possibility that the answer is SOMETHING ELSE

Sometimes, however, there ARE indeed only two options. Due to the way we set up our (American) elections, the winner will be one of the two top candidates. Building third parties is a good idea for the future, but at the time of the election, it will be one of the two most favored candidates. OTOH, sometimes (rarely) there are several candidates that are close in polling numbers

There are not hard and fast rules as far as these situations; each one must be analyzed for all possible answers, and then distilling down to the best solution.

Multiple factors

I maintain in my writing that there is usually more than one cause for any activity outside of a tightly controlled lab experiment; this applies even so more to human actions where you have personal and group interests competing for success or survival.

An example I use is what I call the Poverty Pitfall[2] in criminology; The bulk of current thinking in academia, if not in real life, is that poverty causes crime. And yet when looking at the results of a lack of self-control, the causes and effects overlap with poverty.

Restricting this discussion to Information War and corruption networks, I leave you with alternative explanations to one-agent theories in these links:

How to be an InformationWar Activist - Part Seven: Who Might The Players be?(Updated)
How to be an InformationWar Activist - Part Eight: Making Sense of Multiple Levels of Corruption(Updated)

Utopian Thinking

Utopian Thinking is very often Binary Thinking;
If you do not believe in my perfect vision, you are evil

Utopia ALWAYS leads to Dystopia (Updated/ReSteemed 5/25)

No one is immune to wanting a perfect world; my own failure to think critically is highlighted in my past experience as a neocon:
I was once a neocon - why neoconservatism failed, and why it will ALWAYS fail

There is nothing wrong in wanting to build a better world; the problem comes from intentionally not recognizing realistic hindrances to any given Utopian scheme.

Conspiratorial Thinking

This is a form of Binary Thinking in which every action is connected, or must be connected to the central conspiracy. The links I provided in the Multiple Factors section give several alternate explanations for the level of corruption in the world.

I'll discuss bias next, but I want to bring up that idea that people want EASY solutions to problems; if one believes that is is just ONE cause to a problem, that makes for an easy fix! (see Normalcy Bias down below)

This is why you get group-think answers as far as who to blame like "The muslims", "the Jews", "the bankers", "the blacks", "the whites", "the establishment", "the New World order", "the rich", and "the poor". On the other hand, when membership in a group requires allegiance to to a certain ideology, like "the Left", then yes, you CAN make generic statements. Also remember it is easy to ACCUSE someone of being a member of a group without them actually being a member of that group.

Also remember that a group CAN have a dual purpose. Islam is both a political AND a religious ideology, as well as a cultural heritage. SO while Islam is ideologically a tyrannical and xenophobic political entity, because it is ALSO a cultural heritage, it does not logically follow that all Muslims are violent terrorists.

Remember, Binary Thinking is bad...sometimes.

This does not mean that there aren't good reasons to examine the actions of the elite, or accept their explanations for their actions; it does not mean that conspiratorial theories are automatically wrong.

What it means is that not everything has to be driven by a single agent (like a corruption network), although the possibility is that that is the case.

Cognitive and Group Biases

There are 100s of biases, logical fallacies, and angles of interest that affect both how we see the world, and how we decide to do with what we see. I am just going to list the most common:

  • Self-Interest - Self explanatory
  • Confirmation Bias - We see only those things that support our view
  • Projection Bias - Assuming that others think as we do
  • Pluralistic Ignorance - When we know that something is wrong, but do not speak out on the assumption that everyone else supports the bad idea
  • Rent-seeking - A self-interest bias which uses State power for personal power
  • Do-gooding - A self-interest bias which uses State power for social capital and feelings of self-worth
  • Baptists and Bootleggers - A theory which examines the unholy marriage of Rent-Seeking and Do-Gooding interests
  • Normalcy Bias - A bias in which we take the easy way out, and are willfully ignorant of problems we must face, and/or the harsh measures that are necessary to deal with some problems

The bulk of humanity seems to want to be led around by their nose...from April Morning:

Most folks are not dissenters, and most folks would just as soon find a chain to put around their necks, considering one wasn't there already.

Check out the work of Gustave Le Bon to explore this sad idea.

Critical Thinking

We have to have data to analyze data, once we have gone past the availability of data we must rely on faith and past experience in interpreting events.

Understanding What We Can't See - Conspiracy, "Debunking", and Absence of Evidence - Part One
Understanding What We Can't See - Conspiracy, "Debunking", and Absence of Evidence - Part Two

And we can always apply logic in how we analyze events. So let's see how these boil down in practice:

  • It is not necessary for the government to have taken part in destroying the WTC on 9/11 for there to be a cabal that controls the government and acts counter to the interests of America.

  • It is not necessary for every word in the Bible to be the literal Word of God for the messages of the Bible to be divinely inspired.

  • It is not necessary for the State to provide birth control for a woman to make it possible for her to swallow.

  • An organization (like the State) can lie without every statement issued by the organization being a lie.

And yet, how much time does humanity spend arguing over the smallest of details surrounding these issues?

As humans, our basic biases/instincts often cause us to select for the analyses and solutions that make us feel better, not for those that are realistically achievable.



My Books

Sort:  

Utopian Thinking is very often Binary Thinking;
If you do not believe in my perfect vision, you are evil
Utopia ALWAYS leads to Dystopia (Updated/ReSteemed 5/25)

This is likely true depending upon your perspective. I treat Utopia as something a bit different than I think most people.

As infinity is to numbers, I treat Utopia as to ideologies. It is a goal that cannot ever be reached, yet it doesn't mean we should not strive towards it.

That also means I don't get hung up on the idea that I have the perfect idea of the world and that everyone must follow my plan. In the quest towards Utopia I must constantly change and adapt as I get new input.

Islam is both a political AND a religious ideology, as well as a cultural heritage.

Interestingly enough there are members of Islam that see the political version of it as a problem as well. They are very against it. For the same reasons most of us are. There are people followers of Islam. I've heard one of them say the problem is with those that are Islamist. It was an interesting interview I saw several months ago and I thought it had some merit.

The problem here is with generalizations, stereotypes, etc which are a huge problem in the world today. They have always been a problem, but the issue today seems to be that most types of logical fallacies are experience a huge increase in their use. This stems from a lack of teaching critical thinking as far as I am concerned.

NOTE: Your term Binary Thinking is ALSO what I refer to when I say false dichotomy. The false dichotomy is the bad form of binary thinking. It is when there are more than two choices but someone tries to frame it as though there are only two.

Overall good article. I'll be resteeming it. I didn't see any further editing spots either.

OK, thanks for review and reSteem!

Still something bugging me about this. Oh well, when I redo it in 3 months, I might just catch it LOL

As infinity is to numbers, I treat Utopia as to ideologies

infinity = Utopia = perfection
might never get there, but there is no reason not to seek it on realistic grounds; agreed

I think I associate the term Utopian with unrealistic, tho

Interestingly enough there are members of Islam that see the political version of it as a problem as well. They are very against it.

I've got an old post on this I'll be redoing later; I think the problem here is that the non-Islamists don't use fatwas against the Islamists, while the Islamists do so against the non-Islamists; esp. on issues re: the nature of jihad and apostasy

IIRC, the fatwa that wasissued against ISIS by the London group was based on something other than Islamic grounds (might verify that later)

Without calling the Islamists out on the fundamental nature of what the religion is, the non-Islamists are going to be sucking hind tit in their PR

This stems from a lack of teaching critical thinking as far as I am concerned.

Hell, they teach obedience to dogma these days.

Good point on false dichotomy in relation to binary thinking; precsion in terminology is necessary

Loading...

Resteemed, good one again :) FYI 8 of the images are broken,
the five on top of the board ones, first two I think and the books also :)

Good luck :)

thanks for reSteem and comment!

A coupla days ago, I notice that my sig was losing those images; I've changed the "img1.steemit" to "stemimages" as a prefix in my newer posts, but I'll let the failed images remain as is in the older one. Thanks for pointing it out!

Wow! Very impressive narrative! Thank you for sharing. 👍🏼😄

thanks for reading!

You're welcome

Any thoughts @originalworks?

thanks, I was being lazy about typing that in ;>

The earth is round or flat? well, whatever. But Balfour Declaration is on his way.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This response is purely from an editing perspective. I haven't yet finished it. You asked me to look so if I see something that pops out I'll tell you here so you can edit it and fix it.

Restricitng this discussion to Information War and corruption networks, I leave with with alternative explanations in these links:

With is there twice. (I do things like this too... I reread my own posts several times editing... then later read them again to see stuff I missed... so I do things like this too)

I may edit this several times so check back. I want to post it though so I can start a different reply about the actual article and it's content. Which is the part you asked me to do.

cool; I'll go back and do a grammar/typo correction in abit, so I can get it all at once.

TY

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stevescoins to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Awesome, thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43