Quick Update On IW Tag Use and Misuse

in #informationwar6 years ago (edited)

Hey all, @truthforce typing.

Today when I went through the first 100 New Posts in the #informationwar tag, I noticed a good 30% to 40% of all of the new posts in the last 24 hours had nothing to do with the IW tag, while some were "kind of related but more like complaining" and the rest were correctly tagged.

There will be some more organization regarding how we curate content, some guidelines will be created, and the thing that likely makes the most sense will be to have a section in our Discord where "Approved IW Submitters" would post a link to their post. Or some kind of variation of a bunch of other ideas currently being discussed.

We do not want to become an open border where a bunch of people just use the IW tag to try and gain profit, while they aren't even trying to post anything IW related(like the person who made an Oprah post that made no sense).

This is the beginning stages of figuring out what to do about this problem. Due to so many people incorrectly using the tag it will take us longer to get through curating all of your stuff.

I encourage everyone to please review the Our Purpose link here, and only use the IW tag on stuff that is outlined in that post. New guidelines with examples to follow when we figure this all out.

Growing pains are good, people are hearing and seeing us everywhere, so not all bad ;)

Sort:  

when we first started using the tag, it was mostly technical explanations of how propaganda worked, mostly about how the deep state/leftist/globalist/whateverthefuckthey are used it against us...

Also, we talked about critical thinking (logic, intelligence analysis, etc)

it was less conspiracy oriented, and..I'll repeat technical and ...cough cough...kind of boring for people

A couple of folks whose views I respect suggested that we open it up a bit; make the concept simpler and not so technical...and start inviting steemers in general to join us in an information war against the deep state and its media cheerleaders

we are kind of in our infancy as a community, less than 3 months iirc.

what we WOULD like to see from contributions to the tag is not just links to people pointing out media lies, but bringing in a few articles and cross-referening lies or discrepancies
...putting some thought and criticism into their blogs
...sharing intelligence processes, not just conclusions

here's a few additional links I hope will help
https://steemit.com/informationwar/@stevescoins/you-can-write-for-informationwar-easily-and-on-a-format-kick-that-writer-s-block-in-the-junk

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@stevescoins/why-patriots-should-start-using-steemit-a-three-month-old-repost-and-share-request

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@stevescoins/how-to-be-an-information-war-activist-series-index-and-tonight-s-discord-meeting

Yes! I will get some links together of stuff I think is really good.

And we also need an updated Our Purpose post as well, and I think we should put a bunch of examples into the Our Purpose and what not. I figured since you wrote the last few Our Purpose's you would do the next one too. I can certainly add some to it if you want.

https://steemit.com/informationwar/@stevescoins/you-can-write-for-informationwar-easily-and-on-a-format-kick-that-writer-s-block-in-the-junk

First time I read this one. I'll make sure that it gets translated.
Glad i'm not that far from the way to write an IW post.

Thanks metal, and steve is posting some new meeting stuff and new guidelines for future use :)

You're going to get it, unfortunately. Some may be genuine mistakes as they don't know exactly what sort of things you're looking for. I've read your linked post, but I'm still not entirely sure what you're looking to promote. Is it accurate news reports that might contradict mainstream media or more things that argue what's being reported?

This is why I don't use the tag. I am unsure what one would post, either a regurgitation of news already reported elsewhere with a commentary or just a rant without the citation. I figure I am safer reading the posts (as I identify with most of the positions/editorial presented).

Glad I'm not the only one!

We will create guidelines to make this more clear :)

👍

I noticed the abuse too and I agree completely. I also go through the # and a lot of post make no sense. Please @informationwar @truthforce kindly share the link to the discord group

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12