Wander Blog # 1 – Indonesia: Searching for the Deadly Komodo Dragons on the Flores Islands

in #indonesia7 years ago (edited)
I hope you all had a WANDERful Christmas!


My first ever travel blog here in Steemit is about the Komodo dragons and the beautiful Flores islands of Indonesia. I was thinking of writing backwards from my most recent trips, but I was inspired by @koskl to share my komodo dragon experience. You can check out his blog and photos of the Komodo dragons as well.

I got interested in the Komodo dragons while I was watching an animal documentary which featured the top deadliest animals. Not that I have a death wish but wouldn’t it be such a thrill to be near those creatures and manage to come out alive! But of course, you have to follow animal park site rules – more on that later. Among those listed, the easiest one for me to access (and I mean visa-free and affordable flights from the Philippines) would be the Komodo Dragons in Indonesia.

Kanawa Island

kanawa5.jpg

I arranged this trip at Kanawa Island where I also stayed. They have an office at the main island of Labuan Bajo, this is also the pick up point of guests. I stayed at a nipa hut in front of the beach at a really cheap price. With the view, this makes it better than a 5-star hotel. It is a small island with no fresh water source and fresh water is delivered daily. Guests should be responsible in the use of water.


The island is about 2 hours by boat ride from the main island of Labuan Bajo so take as much food and water as you need. The one and only restaurant of the island serves good Indonesian meal so you will not starve.

Staying on this tiny island even if you don’t go for the Komodo tour is still worthwhile. They have the best sunset and dusk. The island is surrounded by a rich reef and there are baby black tip sharks by the jetty. One day, I was just snorkeling around the shallow waters and I found 2 baby black tip sharks! Awesome! I didn’t have an underwater camera that time so sorry I can only share that experience with my words. But I do have a dusk photo here. ;)

Okay enough of that, where are the Komodo dragons?

There are 3 major islands where komodo dragons stay and thank goodness, they’re not on Kanawa island! These are the Komodo, Rinca and Padar islands. For this trip, I only saw Komodo and Rinca islands – I guess 2 days searching for Komodo dragons is enough and gives me lesser probability of a Komodo dragon attack (lol). These islands are far from each other so I took these on separate days.

Rinca Island

kanawa4.jpg

The Komodo dragon day tour is a trekking tour so make sure you are wearing proper shoes or sandals. The hills are quite flat and it is an easy trek and the goal of this tour is to spot the Komodo dragons in their natural environment. Every tourist must join a group which is accompanied by 2 rangers, one as the leader and one as the tail of the group. And always stay with your group! This is very important. They recounted a story several years ago of a tourist that was killed by a komodo dragon because he broke away from his group.

rinca1.jpg

But they don’t look scary…

Komodo dragons look like harmless monitor lizards but don’t be fooled, they’re extremely more dangerous. They don't move a lot but they're extremely fast once they turn into predator mode. Their sense of smell is really strong. We have been warned not to go if we have a big wound that would have blood and for females don’t go if you have your period! Their sense of smell is very strong that they all came to see us at the headquarters because the rangers were cooking lunch. That was really a welcome for us!

rinca2.jpg

Komodo Island

komodo1.jpg

Ironically, we spotted lesser Komodo dragons on this island named after these reptiles. But this may be due to plain luck as they may be just hiding or devouring some animal somewhere. The most significant creature that we saw is a baby Komodo dragon. Our ranger guide explains that we’re lucky to see a baby Komodo because it's uncommon for them to be seen and would usually hide on top of trees. They’re rare because the older Komodo dragons kill and eat them and even their own moms kill them! There's no such thing as mommy instinct for them! It's so rare that even our ranger guide was so excited to take a photo of it.


Towards the end of our trip, we found this huge Komodo dragon under a tree. They're really good at camouflaging and this is their way of waiting unnoticed for their prey. There are deers, pigs and other animals on these islands which would soon become their food.


komodo4.jpg

Here’s a summary of the park safety rules as I recall them, in no particular order:

  • Each tour starts with a briefing where they discuss all rules so make sure to make a mental note and follow the rules!
  • Always stay within your group and don’t wander away even if you believe that you are super independent – that doesn’t apply here
  • Make sure you do not have open wound or any with blood. The Komodo dragons have a very strong sense of smell and can smell from far away. And to the women, that includes your period, so schedule your trip accordingly. It sucks to be a girl if you get your period unexpectedly.
  • Stay in the open area and don’t stand beside the stilt headquarter houses as they can be hiding underneath these houses. Their color makes a good camouflage so always be mindful of your surroundings.
  • Lastly, just enjoy. The rules sound scary but by following them and not being stupid, you will feel like it’s just a walk in the park with predators who wouldn’t think of you as their prey!

So that’s it? You went to a far away island just to see large lizards?

No! After these Komodo tours, there’s also a snorkeling/ freediving sidetrip. Too bad that I have just recently learned freediving! They have one of the best underwater garden I have ever seen. I only snorkeled and it was enough to see the several underwater species which I can't even name, I can’t imagine what more I can see if I went deeper. They say that half the tourist there go for the Komodo dragons, while half of the go for the diving. I will definitely go back to do some freediving or scuba (or why not both).

komodo3.jpg

@derletwins as promised I'm tagging you in this post. Hope you somehow feel that I have taken you to Southeast Asia.

I hope you enjoy my first ever travel blog here in Steemit. I also welcome (constructive) critics for my writing. I am not an experienced blogger, I welcome questions, suggestions and comments. And just comment anything you want to say.

Photos taken using Sony NEX-C3D

UPDATE: Want to see more photos? Check out my Wander Snaps post where you'll find 25 photos related to this blog.

Sort:  

beautiful

See I knew it, you are a star! Don't forget the little people once you're famous :)

Seriously, awesome job on the post and congratulatons on the success of it. Wait til my post tomorrow and you will see REALLY what its worth! (hint: its a lot more than $100)

Thanks @davemmcoy was just about to sleep but Steemit keeps me awake haha. I replied on your post too, will wait for lesson #4.
And there are no small people here ;) I believe that you will be a "whale mentor" one day! :)

I hope you are asleep by now... lol ... But I agree with you about no small people! Just people working together to help each other survive and hopefully prosper! I hope you're not still up, but if you are good night again ;)

I like us fellow noobs helping each other here. I'm lucky to have come in here at the right time. Hopefully, this culture of helping each other out will remain here in Steemit. Thank you for being one of those good people! :)

Same here @wanderlass :) and back at ya on being one of those good people!

And I do think we can help with the culture, I'm seeing more and more of our "newbie" class out there getting things done!

Both you and @keeperofthewoods cracked into the big time today with more that $100 posts... (which is probably 3 to 5 times that amount in US$ once you do the conversions)... Its funny, but I felt like it was me who got those results when I saw both your posts hit the trending lists. I was excited for my teammates :)

Even better, I'm excited to help you go to the next level because once you get your credibility, this system really sends you higher. I'm already ready for that step and its coming sooner than you imagined.

I'm sure I'll see you around tomorrow, but again you're doing an awesome job and blazing a path forward.

Wow you're helping a community of newbies here @davemmcoy and I will check out @keeperofthewoods It's always great to find more connections in here :)

I'm really excited for us all. I don't want to go back to work yet next week because I wanna focus on Steemit but gotta earn money to travel :D See you later on your newbie lesson! :)

awesome... I think you will like it!

And completely understand about going back to work next week, I've been able to spend as much time here only because the markets die at this time of the year... Starting next week, I will have to start cutting in to my sleep habits to get my steemit fix ;)

I've read it and i think she has real great talent and skill :)
Have to incorporate steemit now in my daily life :)

nice work.
and well done :D
you're one of us now! :D
you're so lucky! u saw a baby Komodo!

Thank you @koskl it's an honor to be one of you! And I still need to improve and learn more on how to be successful here :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wanderlass
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wander-blog-1-indonesia-searching-for-the-deadly-komodo-dragons-on-the-flores-islands


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Previously i think Kenawa and Kanawa are the same island, i realize both are different. thanks for sharing :)

You're welcome @ekonugraha . I also didn't know about Kenawa before your comment. I looked it up and it's also a beautiful island near Lombok. I didn't get the chance to see Lombok. Hopefully when I go travel to Indonesia again :)

This is so amazing! I'll definitely add Indonesia to my travel-to list now. I had'nt heard of the Flores Islands before that post, but now it got my interest.

@kassixo Indonesia is sooo big. They have more islands than the Philippines. We have 7k+ islands while Indonesia has 17k+ islands! You will have a lot of places to choose from but Flores is really beautiful. Dive when you go there, that's one thing I wish I have done. But I will go back :)

Yeah. I really like countries that have a lot of islands. Every island lives its own life and has its own cool places and things to discover. But i bet travelling between islands cost a really lot of money? I mean.. its basically pretty impossible to visit all of the islands in the world although that would be so cool. :D
Diving can be done pertty much in everywhere where the ocean is clear and pure.

Yeah traveling in between islands can be costly because most of the time you have to fly. But there are usually promo flights. Just sign up for the newsletter or add in Facebook the budget airline in that country. Best if you do that a year or months before the plan so you can save a lot. But food and accommodation are cheap :)
Would be really cool if we could visit all islands and that will take more than our entire lifetime :D

Indeed a very interesting tour ride, angel picture can also, really very beautiful work @wanderlass .

Thanks for your kind words @hattaarshavin You should check these islands out :)

Cool post. I like all those dragons. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

@choogirl thank you very much for reading my first ever travel blog here. The Steemitworldmap is an awesome project and I have added my blog there. Thrilled to be the first pin on the Komodo Island! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42