Wander Snaps #1 - Indonesia: Komodo Dragons and the Flores Islands 25 photos

in #indonesia7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I posted my first ever Wander Blog which was about my search for Komodo dragons on Flores islands in Indonesia. If you would like to read about my awesome travel experience there, here is the link.

Today, I will share more photos about the same blog and this will be under the series Wander Snaps. True to my wanderlust, this will be my dual Wander series.

Why waste people’s time with two Wander series? 

I know some people like reading, while some just like photos. And there are those who want to see both

What’s the difference of these two?

My Wander Blog will contain my travel experience and stories plus some photos to give more life to that experience. On the other hand, my Wander Snaps will have more photos with a short description.  The Wander Blog will be posted first, and the Wander Snaps on the following day. 

Why should I bother looking at your Wander Snaps when I have already read your blog? 

I want you to experience the places I have been to through my photos. Although I am not a professional photographer and I will not Photoshop these pictures, I hope that a #nofilter photo would show you the real place. (Aside from the fact, that I’m no good at editing photos!) Before I travel, I like searching for the most raw photos that I can see so that I know what to expect and not be disappointed.

Now that I have explained what Wander Snaps is, let me take you now to...


Kanawa Island  

The jetty at Kanawa island where you can spot baby black tip sharks on shallow water.


My 5-star-like nipa hut beachfront accommodation. No padlock. No care in the world.

Beach!!

Sunset from the hill

Dusk view from my hut 

The island has no fresh water source. Limit showers to a few minutes!

 

An aerial shot posted at the island restaurant. Just look at how rich the reef is.


Rinca Island

The entrance to one of the 3 islands where Komodo dragons roam freely.


Our ranger explaining our trek trail and safety rules.


Komodo dragons welcome us at the headquarters. Well, they smelled lunch being cooked.



Spotting a dragon in the wild


Our head ranger holding a stick for precautionary purposes.


Overlooking scenic Rinca Island


Snorkeling spot. Sorry, I have no underwater photos


Komodo Island


Entrance to Komodo island


Lucky to see a rare baby komodo dragon. Most of them get devoured by older dragons.


An uncommon sight that our ranger takes a photo of

Are you able to spot that Komodo dragon?


Take a closer look. It's a huge one!

Sidetrip snorkeling


Pink beach from afar doesn't look so pink.But believe me it's pink when you get nearer. Wasn't able to take a photo because our boat cannot dock on the shore and we have to swim to get there.

!

Labuan Bajo

Back to the main island


Finally, Bintang Beer! 


Photos taken using Sony NEX-C3D

[

+

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap -8.612252 lat 119.425507 long Snapshots of the Komodo Dragons d3scr)

[


12012

Sort:  

Great photos there! Thanks for giving me ideas on the places to go to Indonesia.

You're welcome @afiqsejuk and thank you! Please share those places you'll go to here in Steemit :)

Loading...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wanderlass to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

excellent post, beautiful pictures)

I drove to the Baltic, I will soon write a few posts, from the westernmost point of Russia)

That would be great @pirojok007 I'll wait for that. I wanna see Russia! <3

By the way, I see you upvote and thank you for that. But it looks like you have to "recharge" your voting power for now. Here's a helpful post about voting power which I have just learned recently:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@davemccoy/steemit-things-i-ve-learned-in-my-first-7-days-1

And here's a link where you can check how many days or hours it will take for you to recover and a calculator as well for your upvote. So save your upvotes for now :)

http://steemforthe.win/
https://www.steemnow.com/upvotecalc.html

I've been seeing a lot of good posts and comments that I would like to upvote but I have to pause and recharge for now. :)

I loved this post! The pics are great! Thanks for this!

I like your pics... and the story that they tell. Its very good.

Thanks @davemccoy more stories from me soon :)

Bonjour @wanderlass
Quelle magnifique photographie!
C'est vous qui l'avez fait? Si vous êtes un vrai photographe! )
Moi aussi je fais des photos sur mon blog si tu t'intéresse;)
https://steemit.com/@katouna
Ravie de vous connaître :) J'espère qu'on sera ami ! ^_^
Bonne journée :-D

Beautiful post, greeting friends ..

Thanks again for your nice words @rafka90 :)

Yeah greetings know ..

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=wanderlass
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=wander-snaps-1-indonesia-komodo-dragons-and-the-flores-islands


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Fantastic photos! They still look professional to me! Clearly you've got a steady hand. Even though I work with photos almost every day in photoshop, I myself stink at taking pictures. My hands are always a little unsteady and the photos turn out blurry. That's why when I create my photoshop manipulations art works, I really on my sisters photography, or on adobe stock. Anyway, good for you! I admire your ability. :D

Thank you! I credit it to the good camera. Sometimes I like traveling light better and just use my old smartphone to take photos. It's far from what a real camera can take (although newer phones now have the same camera quality). Your photoshop skills can surely come in handy to make travel memories more alive. And I bet you can use it here in Steemit because a good photos attracts readers :) Good luck to us here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72