SCUBA COPS . Hollywood Celebs . Chicago Reunions . THE IMPROV SHOP

in #improv7 years ago

Cold Night. Long Ride. Good times with SNL & Movie's Paul Brittain, TV's Andy St Claire, and Improv Guardians Grant Collins, Tim Yager, Kevin McKernan, Kevin Bobby Devine, Jesse Sieger Wells, and more!


I was taking my time out the door when the phone rang. It was an old college buddy and former roomie, Matt Huffman from out West. Great catching up with him and his bizarro run in with Trump on the links. He gave me some great advice. I let him know he had his foot in the bitcoin door. Gramma reminded me it was 19 degrees out. I knew it was gonna be a good night.

Peddled down to The Improv Shop. First people I run into is Tim Yager and Grant Collins. Two great old skool improv friends from back in the Chicago day. They drove in from out of town. They told me about their new theater down in Nashville called the Third Coast Comedy Club. They reminded me of just how much I've forgotten and how much I miss seeing fellow improvisers.

Then the Kevin McKernan strolled by. Quietly, a historic meeting occurred between former Chicago Improvisers and Two Booming Improv Theaters. Simple words of encouragement turned into invitations to share shows and workshops, to build an improvised bridge between St Louis and Nashville.

Yes and I went to go buy a ticket to the show. Paul Brittain and Andy St Claire were in town. Paul was recently in Killing Gunther with Arnold Schwarzenegger. Andy is a writer and producer for Dr Ken. Both of them amazing improvisers and great friends. We caught up on family holidays. We caught up on improv family news back in LA. The more things change, the more they stay the same.

The suggestion for their show was "Scuba Diving" and they did a whole show with just one scene about two guys who found a body in the river. Improv is one of those things that is hard to describe if you weren't there. It's just one of those things you had to be there for. The packed house enjoyed a classic night of improv from two old pros who discovered and appreciated.

After the shows I ran into the super intelligent Jesse Sieger Walls. He's finishing his dissertation for a PHD in Human Behavior. We talked about Steemit, Blockchain, Dan Larimer, and Improv. I hope he meets Dan someday. I ran into Kevin Bobby Devine and we caught up on our Pro Wrestling. There were others. There were memories I had forgotten. There were bits. "I'm a Dad." "6969 DoItYourself Avenue" "Too Sweet" "Charna".

The night ended on a heart filled exchange of improv lessons shared. A long ride home kept warm from the winds by memories rekindled. I fell asleep on the floor. I dreamt of Scuba Cops. ~ The story of two guys in a boat who found a body. Should they burn the boat. 911 was the wrong number. Was it Lost Boys or Stand By Me? Can you help me buy a house and remember who I am? Let's put the body back. Too late- Scuba Cops!"

20180106_201152.jpg

20180106_210558.jpg

20180106_202242.jpg

20180106_202333.jpg

20180106_202249.jpg

20180106_201146.jpg

20180106_211958.jpg

Recent Posts

When Your Pump n Dump Club Didn't Get The Memo
Happy Birthday Best Friend
Coinbase tells Ripple, "No Soup for YOU!

gxhmcfmwuws4rjjf.jpg

THANK YOU ~ UpVotes, Resteems, & Follows ~ JACOBTS
twitter | ACORNS: Microinvesting | Coinbase
SALT | Binance | KuCoin | coinexchange
Follow @VirtualGrowth for tips on trading with OpenLedger

Sort:  

Awesome post followed you for more informative posts like this thank u for sharing @jacobts

thank you much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58447.11
ETH 2624.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45