IFC S1 R30 - Entry- Being Wrong is Okay

in #ifc6 years ago (edited)



Source

This post is an entry for the Information Finding Championship hosted by @apolymask.
The theme of this round is about the most important issue for us. The description of the round is below.

Do you ever wish certain things in the world had more attention put towards them?
I know I do! There's a lot of them, and I'm sure a number of you feel similar.. I think steemit pulls together a lot of people who have a message and who want to try to help change the world for the better.

So I was thinking for this challenge, I want you to create a blog post about what you think the most important issue is out there that needs more attention put on it in your opinion. For example.. Could be environmental damage, world hunger, war, or corruption in government.. I could think of numerous other things as well!

Oh and.. If you have any ideas about potential solutions feel free to include them as well!
If there were easy solutions these things would likely already be solved, but sometimes just talking about something even if there's no apparent solutions can be helpful. Sometimes just talking about things can lead to new further ideas and developments one might not typically expect.

Whoever brings the most compelling case as voted on by the judges will win this round!
Also.. If you can't think of a single most important issue, just give us one of the most important ones you can think of.

If you are interested in joining you can find more information right here.

Most Pressing Issue for me

The most critical issue that I believe presses us today day is a broad topic, but it extends out to many significant problems that plague society. The problem is something that has been growing for years but in the past few, has been boiling over. We have access to countless sources of information from libraries to the Internet. The problem is though that despite this people don't take time to research issues and come to their own conclusions but feel that they are right, regardless.

People allow other's opinions and feelings to guide their beliefs. This course is problematic because that person may be wrong, that person may be represented or funded by others that would want to mislead people or skew/ disrupt facts. I have studied statistics, and there is a quote that our professor told us, "There are lies, there are damn lies, then there are statistics." That is true because just the way you even present the information, the difference between percentages or raw numbers can be a drastic difference. That isn't including leaving out entire populations of research, adding outliers, wording, changing ranges can all change the outcomes and support whatever you want.

So, people can get wrong information, whether by accident or on purpose. They then believe that false information regardless and don't question it. The problem then, is people don't like to be wrong, right? We love to feel superior in an argument.

Ted Talk on why we don't like being wrong

That is what grading is all about in school, write this paper show me you are right and it will get an A. Unless you took a proper debate class, you didn't learn how to articulate persuasive arguments, and more importantly, see both sides.

Leading to another point, people don't want to see both sides, 'You are wrong, you're a snowflake and watch too much fake news.' The other side fires back, 'Well, you're a racist and watch too much fox news.' I am targeting American politics for a second here, people in America have been getting fucking triggered in the past few years. Both sides are so stuck in their ideas that they refuse to listen to each other and it now forms mainstream politics, which is also causing people to become much more apathetic to others with differing opinions, which is heartbreaking. It then leads to things like climate change, personal liberties, federal programs, taxes, military, etc. If people can't even see both sides, what is the point in talking to each other??

I thought this fit.

Solutions (kind of)

The best lesson that people can learn is that they are wrong. It opens up whole new doors in perspective. Being wrong allows for the opportunity to learn something new. If you are right all the time, then you must be unable to learn because you know it already. But, being wrong, you have an opportunity to be better and learn something new. I would prefer to be wrong than right any day because of that.

In the school/ at home

I think proper debate classes are essential. Why? Because you can learn how to make those articulated arguments, find sound sources, and you have to learn about the opponent's side to argue against them. 'Know thy enemy,' would be the slogan for my debate team if I had one. lol

Next would be teaching the importance of being wrong, whether at home or school. If you can explain to a student that it is okay to be wrong, they can begin to make leaps of progress. That is one point of learning a foreign language that holds back many; they don't want to look dumb. Me personally, I am okay with trying to say, "I bought this phone this year," and actually saying "C***, I bought this phone," thank god that saleswoman understood I was trying to say the first one, and I learned a new word that day. Was it embarrassing? Did my gf at the time hit me? Yes, but I know the actual word for this year. Now, imagine if I refused to learn, every time I would say 'this year' I am utterly insulting the person I am talking to. That wouldn't be good, would it?

The last point is, do your research. It is hard, it can be, but it is worth it. Whenever I read anything in the news that is a source I don't know, I pull up my mediabiasfactchecker to check the source before treading forward and know what kind of language is going to be present and how factual the reporting is.

We have all kinds of information at our fingertips, it is crucial to get the best information, but it is better to be able to question it as well. If we can't decipher through different information, then how can we possibly learn more?




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow 👍
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

DQmXf3NuiWNi6msKVT3qx7QYdaY9DerStDE6yqYp3pc2gmz.png

Sort:  

That is a really interesting topic. It's funny you talk about this because it's so true.

Whenever I have a conversation with someone and it could be about anything people always assume they are correct because they heard it somewhere here first or read it there.

I think one of the problems is there is so much information out there but so much is misleading and incorrect and essentially our brains get filled up with all this wrong info.

I'm sure I've been there before as well. It's up to us though to do solid research instead of just jumping to conclusion all the time and back it up with facts rather then just believing the first thing we read on msn.com

Yeah, we are just bombarded with information every day. It is amazing that there are careers dedicated just to fact-checking things. Trying to siphon through it ourselves is a lot of work to do. That is why I like that site I shared, they give you the bias and how factual they are.

And I have been there before, so don't worry man. I sometimes like to troll people to get them to see things in a different way. That is a fun past time at the bar. lol

It definitely is ok to be wrong, how else can we learn if we know it all. That type of person can be hard to teach, but maybe I'm wrong!!! Great job @mr-bike

Right!! That is why I never liked those honor student types in school, they argue to have grades lifted to an A, like common on, what are you really learning, here? lol

How to be lawyers!!! Lol

Omg, so true!! Lol

I always thought that in school and even now, the most people who love to argue a point will be lawyers or criminals lol!!

Loading...

Hmm.. Great entry! I battle with this all the time. And.. Did not expect to see this when I started the quest, nor did I expect to pick it.. And it was a really difficult decision.. One of the hardest rounds to judge yet.. But I vote for you for this round cause I think if people just tried to look at things impartially instead of always "trying to be right", but if they just genuinely and honestly looked at the information, I think they would be more noble than those who are just trying to have a sort of indomitable ego that is never wrong about anything ever. I think in a sense, that sort of leads to all, or.. Most of the major problems we see. People get stuck or trapped into certain modes of thinking and they can't ever be wrong about it.. But if many of these people were to look at things in a more fair manner, instead of an extremely self convoluted one, then that would be major. If people looked for the real truth, instead of just trying to act like they know the ultimate truth.. I think the world would be so much better. Thanks for the excellent entry! PS.. I don't think this is an excuse to do bad things either, just to sort of "learn".. And I don't think that's what you meant either, but I just wanted to clarify.. I think being wrong is super important, but I don't go try to hurt others just so I can learn more about it. Some things I don't need to personally learn to just know they are wrong.

It's a informative post to all.thanks for sharing.keep it up.everyone will be benefited on this.keep going

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44