I was wrong about Monkey Capital

in #ico7 years ago

It is too early to call it but the way these guys have handled the situation so far has been pathetic.

  • First, they called out Pre-ICO sale in the hush hush.
  • Second, they went into limbo with no communication open whatsoever.
  • Third, they made their slack channel private.
  • Their medium was active on almost daily basis until July 31st and then went out...

and NOW This!

Their MNY hit the market for .003 cents. That means, if you bought CoEval in the hopes of landing 10,000 MNYs during ICO, well, you will still get 10000 MNYs but they will be worth $30. Note that CoEval traded over $1000 in some instances. That means, some individuals are looking at a BIG, $970 BIG, disappointment.

Capture.PNG

All is not lost though.

Even if MNYs pick to 10 cents each, those who bought CoEvals for $1000 will hit breakeven and those who got it for $150 will be thrilled.

Their ICO is still scheduled for 8th August and we have to see what transpires between now, during and after the ICO. For such promises and professionalism demonstreated until July 30th, the events in the past week have been dismal at best!

Sort:  

Congratulations @rkreddy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Do you like business and finance ?, I invite you to go through my account, give me your opinion! It's important for me !

I think you are right. They way they have handled things has been pathetic, banning people from their Slack, calling them trolls when they ask legitimate questions, and improvising (changing) important things every single day. Today they decided that dividends are not being paid 100% in CoEval anymore, but 75% in that currency and 25% in some mineable shitty coin they just purchased. So nobody knows how to expect. I bet this handling of the situation is the one driving their prices down, everything feels that is collapsing because of that. Maybe I will stand correctly, but nothing solid here.

Feels that way...in the ICO review I did say that this "feels like greatest CON or greatest leap for the crypto world", so far, it feels like former.

Hey, I did some research previous to reading this about MNY being traded on Waves. I knew the ICO wasnt till Aug 8th so was wondering how this was even possible. On waves you can see the token issuer address clearly under the token name, although the MNY token currently listed has a check mark by Waves, I'm 99.9% sure it was a fake coin like many others on Waves. I did some investigating behind the issuer address and from what I can tell they make a lot of fake coins, did not look legitimate at all. So as far as I can tell whats listed on Waves is fake but theres always that .01%...

And in the whitepaper or one of the fact sheets they put out had a couple sentences stating that all tokens bought by accredited US investors (I assume not through crowdsale) have a ratio of $1 per 1 token. If you want you can go back and look I'm pretty sure thats what I saw but I could be wrong, if so I hope that helps with the token raising in value for crowdsale participants. Just something to keep in mind

You are right - the early investors who parted their ways from the project may have put their share out in the market...their ICO starts on 8th August and they may already have locked 50% in CoEvals (10000 each) and part of remaining may have been sold in Pre-ICO sale, so whatever is left may be issued during the ICO...

Would love to hear your analysis on this specific ICO! What went wrong? And how can it be prevented in the future? Stuff like that. Thanks a bunch!

Simple and straight - I was conned!

Still - all is not lost - I see that they DID buy monkey.com portal and that they did acquire some other coins...so let's see! This is a VERY Expensive lesson for my brother who went into it like a raging bull based on my review!

what we can do in future is look for PRIOR projects! (which we did for these guys as well but not in Blockchain/crypto space)...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64