IANS: Introducing @catherine813

in #ians6 years ago

It’s been a while since I did an IANS post. Life gets crazy busy sometimes. I know we’ve all been there. But I still love the initiative, and I still love doing these little posts and sharing promising steemians with all of you.

That is what the IANS initiative is all about. @gmuxx started the tradition of introducing promising new steemians with his followers and many have followed in his digital footsteps.

This week, I’d like to introduce you all to @catherine813. Her introduction post was shown to me by @rhondak.



Photo from Catherine’s introduction post.

Now, who is @catherine813?

Hi, my name is Catherine Robins and I am 16 years old.
I live in small town, and if you're not from there you wouldn't know that it even exists.

In her introduction post, which I urge you all to go and check out over here, Catherine talks about her life, her love of animals and her volunteer work at @tarc, @rhondak’s ARC.

I loved her for that reason alone. But then I went and checked out her profile, since her intro post is past upvoting, and I want to give you guys the opportunity to show her some lovin’.

Here’s what I found:

A beautiful poem, which I can only rejoice at.

And then there’s this. In this piece of fearless and fierce writing, she tells us about her own experience with depression and anxiety attacks. To open up about something like this is a brave thing to do for anyone.
But for a 16 year old who has not even had the chance to get to know anyone here, to share something this personal, is beyond brave. It’s a feat of courage I can only bow down to.

I am and have been homeschooled for two years. The reason behind me wanting to start online school at home was because of my anxiety. I got diagnosed with anxiety and depression in 2015. No one knew that I had been having anxiety attacks in the bathroom and in class at school everyday since I was 11 and in sixth grade.

How can we not welcome a young girl as creative and brave as @catherine813 into our community?

Right?

As is customary in this tradition of @gmuxx's, the SBD payout of this post will be transferred to @catherine813 upon payout, to give her a little bit of a hand in building her Steem account.

Thank you all for reading, and I know I can count on you guys to give Catherine a warm, Steem welcome.

Hugs

Tiny

Sort:  

I should say hello. Bienvenida.

Thank you for extending a warm welcome to @catherine813, Sei. ;-)

Her story reached my heart. Really. If the live of someone else becomes a storm, at last I can try to help with words due the distances.

I simply CANNOT WAIT to show this to her. She's on her way now to help me with the dogs today. :-) Thank you, Tiny!!!!

Thank you so much Tiny!!

You're very welcome, honey.

got the link from discord :). great job.

Welcome to the ocean @catherine813 :)

Thank you very much!

Hi Tiny , I am going to hop over to @catherine813 page, glad she decided to join the community. Her bravery and selflessness is to be commended, Thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much, Gail. You're very kind to support her like that.
hugs

Sorry to make you wait @catherine813. I've been a bit out of it since I was ill. I hope this is just the start of what is in store for you on the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70