Shotgun or Crossbow?

in #hunting6 years ago

I'm going turkey hunting in the morning but I have a terrible conundrum I have been wrestling with, do I take the shotgun or the crossbow?

Crossbow: TenPoint Turbo GT


source

The advantage of the crossbow, besides being awesome, is that is has the scope with lighted reticle which should give me perhaps another 25 yards of accuracy over the shotgun which has only a bead sight. It is a bit of a pain in the ass to load, especially in the predawn hours, and then at the end of the day if you have not shot anything you have to fire it an then retrieve the bolt which is sometimes a challenge in and of itself. This crossbow tends to bury the bolts so deep in the target that I had to buy an arrow puller to get them out and it still is like trying to pull the sword from the stone. They sell special decocking bolts but I haven't picked any up yet. The main reason I wouldn't choose it, besides being heavy and fidgety,(not me the crossbow!) is that it does not offer a quick follow up shot.

Shotgun: Remington 11-87 Sportsman


Source
mine does not have the extended tube

The advantage of the shotgun is that it is a little easier to carry and load and unload but mainly I would choose it because it gives me the ability to have a quick follow up shot (or four!) if I miss.

So what do the seasoned turkey hunters out there think, should I go with the gun or the bow? why or why not?

Please resteem, comment and vote, I need a new boat!

Check out some of my recent posts:

In defense of freedom of speech

Would we be safer without guns?

Would we be safer without guns? Part II

Texas leaders at odds over gun control following Santa Fe high school shooting

Sweden puts out emergency war pamphlet amid Russia fears

Some Animals Call Trump Savage in Rant

Sort:  

I had no idea it was legal to hunt turkies with cross bows.

for an extra $5 and with a special medical permit for crossbow hunting you can hunt nearly any damn thing you can hunt with a crossbow. Except fish, I think that is still illegal. No bow fishing allowed, except for certain species that you may bow fish.

that seems reasonable.
it would not DO to skewer bottom feeders.
the law is likely a professional courtesy

ironically, it is eels, carp and suckers that you can bow fish ;)

the irony..the irony...
it rusts...

While I am not a hunter, I think the obvious question here is why don't you have a shotgun crossbow? I mean, so much goodness should definitely be wrapped up in one.

Heck why hasn't anyone ever thought to marry these two awesome weapons? I can't imagine they haven't. A crossbow could easily be married with a shotty and BAM! Twipt! BOOYAH! You've got all options wrapped up in one stick!

Either way, happy hunting, patriot!

Would it be a bow that shot lead balls or a gun that shoots arrows?
To be fair they do have both.

they do have them! shiver me timbers..I googled it and they have tons of them and I didn't even know that, boy I feel stupid. have a successful hunt whichever you decide on.crossshot.jpg

thanks, I consider every hunt a success.

why? I had just settled on shotgun, best to keep things simple.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54