Thoughts from a jeepney ride: How do we heal stereotyping and give chance to the living?

in #humanity5 years ago (edited)

Have you ever realized that a simple daily encounter can launch many questions without answers?

I take tricycle, jeepney, bus and sometimes motorcycle (habal-habal) on my way to work every day. Recently, one of my jeepney rides have brought a different angle of seeing things, an eye-opener and thought-provoking scene.
20190725_124941.jpg

In a third-world country like ours, it is not surprising to see beggars here and there. When I give alms, I usually pick and give only to children or those who look physically invalid. That is because of the thought that they are not fit to find a living so they need help. I know that some people will say those beggars are just acting to gain sympathy and take advantage of good hearts. Some would say that the lazy parents are just using their children to earn a living through begging. I have heard more than enough of those and I don't care. If they are just acting then that is their problem, not mine.
image.png
Source

On the other hand, there are beggars that I ignore. If they look well and able then I wonder why I should give them alms when they can find a job and take care of themselves. However, that perspective was challenged through my encounter with a man in a jeepney. His words echo in my head from time to time.
image.png
Source

The man who was about on his late-twenties suddenly jumped into the jeepney while the driver was trying to maneuver and squeeze into the morning traffic. He was dirty. He did not take a seat but sat on his back in the middle in front of us passengers. Then he started his declaration in a not so fluent Filipino language. I did not memorize his exact words but the message is here:

"Ma'am,sir, wag po kayong matakot sa akin. Hindi po ako mandurukot. Hindi rin po ako magnanakaw. Ako po ay isang Badjao mula sa Basilan na nakikipagsapalaran dito sa Maynila kasama ng pamilya ko. Yan po ay sa kadahilanan na ang aming pinagkakakita-an ng hanapbuhay ay kinamkam. Ang aming taniman ng saging, wala na po. Kahit sa bundok, wala kaming mapuntahan."

"Marahil ay naiisip niyo, pwede naman kaming maghanap ng trabaho para hindi na humingi sa inyo. Nais po namin talaga yon. Kaso lang, hindi po kami tinatanggap."

"Kahit po konting barya o kung ano mang maitutulong niyo ay malaking tulong na po sa amin. Kahit po mga biskwit para sa mga bata. Mainam na pong humingi kami kaysa magnakaw. Maraming salamat po."

image.png
Source

"Ma'am, sir, please do not be scared of me. I am not a robber. I am not a thief. I am a Badjao from Basilan who is taking chance with my family here in Metro Manila. That is because our source of livelihood was usurped. Our banana plantation is gone. Even in the mountains, we got nowhere to go."

"You may be thinking why don't we find job and not depend on alms. We really want that, but we are not being accepted."

"Few coins or whatever you can spare will be a great help to us. Even biscuits for our children. It is better that we ask than steal. Thank you very much."

Then he started distributing envelopes wherein we can put our donations. This scene of beggars getting into buses or jeepneys to ask for donations is not new to me. But to hear the beggar's short story is.

"Even in the mountains, we got nowhere to go."

"... but we are not being accepted."

Those phrases hit me real hard. And here is why...

Basilan is a province in the southernmost part of our country. I have never been there (maybe yet) but I have read good things about the place. It is rich with natural resources thus a great location for agricultural production like this coffee plantation covered by Britannica. On the other hand, Basilan is notorious due to insurgencies as we see on the news from time to time. Because of that, I guess many have this stereotyping of people from Basilan to be dangerous. There is nothing mentioned as to how the man's real property was usurped but it is maybe due to insurgency. And again, he said they got nowhere to go. That may be possible if rebels keep tailing the residents and harassing them. I can only imagine.

Then I remember this song of Merle Haggard.

The branded man paid for his debt yet people are not satisfied. What is more with this man who may not have done anything yet being rejected by default? The man's story may not be true. He may be just creating a drama, who knows. But assuming his story is true, I questioned myself and the society that I live in.

  • What do we do with people like him? Throw them somewhere? Bury them alive?
  • Isn't not giving the man a chance to find a decent means of living like killing all his chances? Aren't we the ones driving people to do evil things if they can't get good chances and resolve to theft and other crimes?
  • How easy do we judge by generalizing and stereotyping when we do not even know if the man is one of those rebels or just living a simple life in the farm?
  • What will we do if we are him with nowhere to go and not being accepted by the society?
  • Why don't we give people a chance?

At first, I did not want to give anything because the man looked perfectly healthy to work instead of beg. However, again assuming his story is true, I have no answers to my questions. That made me obliged to put something inside the envelope that he handed to me.

I did not know what to say. I guess the answer to my unspoken question will sum it all: How do we heal stereotyping and give chance to the living?

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Thank you very much for your support!

Howdy macoolette! You did the right thing. I'd rather take a chance than not help someone who is in need and it isn't his fault. So you followed your heart which was the right way to do it.
You like Merle Haggard? Is country music big in the Philippines?

I just heard about Merle Haggard from my elder brothers when we were young. I do not hear them sing his song anymore.

Country music is a hit in the Cordillera region where our province is. Maybe because it is a mountainous thus the relation to country living. We even have a radio station playing country songs all day long. The likes of Alan Jackson, Garth Brooks and more... Though, I do not know a Texan country singer. Maybe you? 😃

lol! Definitely not me since I don't sing. lol. Willie Nelson, George Jones, Wayon Jennings, Miranda Lambert, Barbara Mandrell and Lyle Lovett are all from Texas. There are more but I'd have to look them up. Blake Shelton has a house in Texas.

Anyway, that's very interesting about the country music there! I like that! Garth Brooks is one of my favorites.

I heard about Willie Nelson but not familiar of his songs. I do not know the rest. They're old, yeah? 😃 I know Blake Shelton's Austin song.

I thought all cowboys sing. Aren't you a cowboy? 😃

lol! It depends on what you call "old"! But yes they are old except Garth Brooks and Blake Shelton and they are about 50 I think, to you that might be old. No most cowboys don't sing at all! lol. Thank goodness!

50 is not old. Willie Nelson is. 😄

Why, Dan Seals is a singing cowboy!?

haha! Yes Dan Seals is for sure! But most cowboys are smart enough to not even try. lol. They might sing to the cows but that's about all.That's a fine video though, thanks for sending that!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #581.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 21000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 22000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Im speechless😢 I have that kind of stereotype mind myself about my people in Aceh too. But once I move out to Java Island and see for myself how people struggling to stay alive by collecting food from the garbage and collect the plastic bottle or whatever plastic wastes anywhere, I'd better give give what I can share rather than seeing them steal something to eat.

I always give my respect to those who beg for a sum of money to stay alive sometimes, rather than thecwhite colar thieves at the goverment office!

Sometimes we think that we are not criminals without knowing that we may have pushed someone to be criminal by not helping him out. We play part of the crime. Sometimes we really need eye-opening experiences before we learn. I am thankful for those lessons. I am also glad that people like you have the same perspective.

I know it is very hard to turn mindsets around but I really hope that we all realize what we are doing or how our stereotyping is damaging the society and humanity.

Sad story but thanks for sharing. Very rarely we recognize that we should be happy for the job we have, and for lives we live.

We are happy for the life we live. The thing is, very rarely that we recognize that we neeed to share.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=thoughts-from-a-jeepney-ride-how-do-we-heal-stereotyping-and-give-chance-to-the-living


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 24.39% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47