You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts from a jeepney ride: How do we heal stereotyping and give chance to the living?

in #humanity5 years ago

Im speechless😢 I have that kind of stereotype mind myself about my people in Aceh too. But once I move out to Java Island and see for myself how people struggling to stay alive by collecting food from the garbage and collect the plastic bottle or whatever plastic wastes anywhere, I'd better give give what I can share rather than seeing them steal something to eat.

I always give my respect to those who beg for a sum of money to stay alive sometimes, rather than thecwhite colar thieves at the goverment office!

Sort:  

Sometimes we think that we are not criminals without knowing that we may have pushed someone to be criminal by not helping him out. We play part of the crime. Sometimes we really need eye-opening experiences before we learn. I am thankful for those lessons. I am also glad that people like you have the same perspective.

I know it is very hard to turn mindsets around but I really hope that we all realize what we are doing or how our stereotyping is damaging the society and humanity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61170.16
ETH 2717.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41