How to plant asparagus in a new raised bed - How To: Weekly contest by WizarDave - WizStead Post #7

in #howtoweekly6 years ago (edited)

Now is the time of year to plant asparagus!

Why I grow asparagus

  • It's delicioius
    • It's a perennial that should last a couple of decades.
      • Plant once, harvest year after year!!!

2 steps:

  1. Make the raised bed
  2. Plant the asparagus

Here's the final result

filled.jpg

Creating a raised bed

I got lucky on this raised bed.
I had some round metal used for animal feeders laying around.
These just happened to be the perfect size.

  • 56 inches in diameter
  • each piece about 20 inches tall

both pieces metal.jpg

Placement
Traditional recommended trenching

When planting bareroot crowns in the spring, prepare a trench 8 inches deep.
Spread crowns over the soil and cover them with 2 inches of soil.
Gradually fill the trench with soil as the plants grow

I have about 6" of top soil on clay.

  • So I dug down to the clay around the bed.
    • Plant the crowns on inside, on 6 inches of soil...
      • Add about 3 inches of soil.
  • Leaves me with room to fill in soil as they start growing.

As luck would have it, I wasn't sure which of the 3 outbuilding my level would be in
(we just moved here January 1st and haven't had time to organize these yet...)

  • This doesn't have to be perfect, so I thought up a a good enough level
    • a board and a jar of water

homemade level.jpg

homemade leve.jpg

It worked good enough for me!

Planting the asparagus

Picking a variety

I chose AsparaBest® Asparagus

Harvest lots more spears—without sacrificing flavor. AsparaBest truly lives up to its name! Its predominantly male plants produce little to no seed and 2 to 3 times more spears than popular Jersey varieties. And, the purple-tipped green spears have an excellent flavor. Developed at an Ontario, Canada University, the late-emerging AsparaBest is unmatched for cold tolerance, but regardless of your climate this delicious variety will produce longer than all other asparagus varieties on the market!

  • Good for zones 3 - 8 (2 with Winter protection).
  • Botanical Name: Asparagus officinalis 'UG-9'

Did you know… AsparaBest Asparagus won the 2015 Green Thumb Award from the Direct Gardening Association—this variety is known for more spears, excellent flavor and cold-hardiness. Produces up to 3 Times More Spears!

Trixie decided to help by digging a hole over there.

  • Good gurl
    • ::shrug:: haha

trixie.jpg

Fertilizer:
When planting is the best time to apply fertilizer, especially phosphorus.
I chose Gurney's® Asparagus Food 4-3-1

This bag was 3 pints. I need to fertilize now, when it starts growing and at the end of season, so this worked out perfect.

  • I spread 1 pint of fertilizer and worked it in with a rake.

fertilized.jpg

I made a little mound for each crown.

crown closeup.jpg

Here's the final spacing.

  • 3 4 3 worked out to right about 1 foot apart.

final spacing.jpg

Final step:

  • Water the bed
    • This helps eliminate air pockets
      • And will protect them for my next step...

creating wood ash

Just one more step for me.
You don't have to do this.
I just happen to have quite a bit of brush to burn, so thought I would do a few armfuls here...

  • When I lived here 20 years ago, I burned wood.
    • I always dumped the wood ash in the garden.
      • This dirt has been bulldozed around a bit,
        so I thought I would create some wood ash.
  • Luckily, Fire Chief Brutus ( my 8 year old Boxer puppy) was available to supervise the small burn...

brutus wood pile.jpg

These weeds had grown up around the cellar house.

  • They make a very cool popping sound in the fire!

weeds.jpg

Tha-Tha-Tha-That's all folks!

Asparagus Tips

  • They do not compete well with grass or weeds.
    • Keep your bed weeded!
      • Use a mulch, so you don't have to do that as often...
  • Do not harvest any spears in the first year.
    • Just a very light harvest the 2nd year. About 2 weeks
      • You can start full harvesting (5-8 weeks) the 3rd year and beyond.
  • Harvest when about 6-8" tall for the tenderest shoots.
    • before the spear tip loosens
      • or it will get woody and pithy.
  • When done harvesting, let the ferns grow.
    • Prune them to the ground in very early spring.
      • This allows food and nutrients to build a strong root system.
  • Asparagus freezes well.
    • Just lay out on cookie sheets and allow to freeze, then bag them up.

About the contest

Check out these links for the rules:

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

Just learned a lot about asparagus. I'll need to suggest to my wife that we start some this year. But don't harvest first year. I take it that's to get the plant established so it can continue to produce thereafter?

I wasn't sure when you were describing the metal earlier what it would look like, but looks like it was already to go. Just needed to be "planted."

I've just got these 2 round ones. The rest will be flat corrugated metal I'll have to bend and connect 2 together for each raised bed... I'm tempted to save the other one for more asparagus but strawberries have shipped so will probably plant them in it...

Yeah. You don't harvest and then limited harvest so the plant can put all energy into a strong root system. And even from 3 years on you stop harvesting do some can grow into those big fern like fronds. End result is you'll have more shoots the next year...

That's pretty amazing. I've never grown asparagus before, so I didn't realize it could get so large. I do like asparagus, though, and if comes back every year like the strawberries (which we do have), that's even better.

Great post with good instructions and information. I'm going to check out planting asparagus. I wonder how well they will do in a "hugel kultur" (German for hill culture). It's something I'm trying out this year. If you're curious, check out @derekfreeman

Thanks @goldcat

I think I've seen that info. Will check again here in a bit...

You got a 15.77% upvote from @pushbot courtesy of @howtoweekly!

Can't wait to see it grow!

As a friendly reminder, the upvote fee is $0.08 SBD ($0.081 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.24+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65