HOW TO CATCH A TURTLE… WELL, ONE WAY ANYWAY

in #howto7 years ago

Just jump in that swamp and get one!


Okay, I know that some people wonder about me sometimes, and I get that. They consider how exactly I wind up coming in contact with so many creatures. They may have heard @papa-pepper say, “You never know what you are going to find, but you find more when you look,” but how exactly does one look?


If you look out into some water like this, chances are that you are looking at some great habitat. Odds are that fish, turtles, frogs, snakes, and a plethora of insects are hiding in there somewhere. How exactly should one find them though?

I know that you may be looking at this green, slimy stuff and wondering if you should really go in there and look around or not. Well, do you want to find a turtle or not? If it works, it works.

HOW TO FIND A TURTLE

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-catching-turtle



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

@papa-pepper - Quite a way to catch a turtle. That is a lovely painted turtle. You are right that many people would not go wading in and try to catch turtles like that. The turtles, naturally would not expect to be caught like that. I was happy to see that you let them go too. I like the answer you gave to DNR " .. turtle should not be where it was". LOL.

Thanks. I am passionate about all kinds of wild life in general but my blogs do not feature anything half interesting as this ! Upvoted

Thanks for the real comment too!

Thank you so much. Your posts do inspire an emotional response many times and inspire.

Love the comment upvote image!

I made it. It is free to use.

Thank you so much for the encouragement. I kind of grew up doing this, so I at home in the swamp!

As I have already seen from the other videos you have posted, you are really brave and really close to nature. I, on the other hand, could not have been farther from nature- I was in the rut of being a successful executive and now, after stepping back, have started getting closer to nature. My achievements (?)so far have been limited to photographing wildlife and spreading awareness. LOL.
I hope, some day, I will get as close as you are. Meanwhile, I keep trying.

A lot of your photos are excellent though, so you are doing well and heading in the right direction.

Thank you @papa-pepper - I really consider it an honor to hear these encouraging words from you

To make it short, we must love and protect mother nature so these turtles will not suffer due to our negligence.

Haha really nice information. I wonder if i can do it

Only if you try.

If you can post on steemit then why can't catch a turtle? Possibilities my friend :)

Haha Nice hunting brother 👍

Thanks! I enjoy it.

Your articles are really good, i admire the life you are living...so close to nature.
Though turtles are used for black magic in my country, so they are kept in zoo only, never got to see one closely. 😢

Turtles used for black magic? I had no idea. Wow.

Yeah theu are used for black magic in kolkata, India

Some people said if you touch the back of the turtle, you will get stupid or something like that. There's still no scientific proof of that though. It's only hearsay and beliefs.

Hey, @papa-pepper! Good job catching and releasing the turtles. I don't know if would be as brave as you, entering the swamp. As a kid, my brothers and I were in a pretty skanky creek looking for crayfish. When I left the water, I had a multitude of small blood suckers attached to my legs. That kinda put me off. LOL

Where I live it is illegal to catch turtles, or harvest their eggs. The Green, Hawsksbill, Leather Back, Logger Head, and the Olive Ridley turtles are all endangered species. We see them come ashore to lay their eggs near us. Egg poachers pose a real threat to these lovely sea creatures. The army is often sent to guard the nests.

I am glad that even the army gets involved when need be. I saw my first two seas turtles last month in Texas.

@hndmarshall is this how you catch your turtles?
A post I resteemed yesterday. It's part of @hndmarshall job to catch them and relocate them.
An interesting post thank you for sharing. Must admit I don't think I could wade out into the unknown all those creatures swimming between my toes.

When the unknown creatures swim between your toes they are easier to catch!

awesome post , this is fantastic and I like its ingenuity.

This is awesome post. Thanks for sharing.

oh that's so great your writing on turtles. they´re amazing creatures. it made me remember my turtle "valentina"

That is a very nice tortoise there. I found one once in Texas.

nice tutorial @papa-pepper. but in our country catching turtles is illegal :)

Wow! Really? Which country? I will have to be careful.

Philippines :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86