Are you a bid-bot crusher?

in #howto7 years ago (edited)

bid-bot crusher fitinfun.jpg

You crush a steemit bid-bot when you slam it with a big vote at the end. This is unnecessary and you do not have to play that way! You do not want to be this guy!

Jump in smaller if you must play the end of the bid-bot line. A big vote at the end is what crushes the profit for all.

If you are going in at the end - for best results:

Bid 30% or less of the remaining Max Profitable Bid

https://s3.amazonaws.com/yabapmatt/bottracker/bottracker.html
This is where you can see how the bots are doing - updated in real time so you know where to bid.

bid-bot crusher fitinfun (1).jpg

$10 is huge for these bots; $5 is rare

Most bids are $1 or less.

You will do better if you split your bids up in a few bots if you must bid so much for one post.

If you are trying to make sure to get a good bid right at the time you post

Look at the flow of the bots in advance to find enough bid value. Prepare in advance what you plan to do. Wait a few minutes to post if you need to.

= =

If you need help with more than just bots, check out some of this information:

Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

What is Your Steemit Voting Power and Why Does it Matter?

Minnow tip - Lease Delegated SP ASAP Now is a Good Time Since STEEM is on Sale!

Minnow Tip Steemdunk Post Upvoting Save Time Increase Rewards

Part Two of a two part list of contests and challenges:
https://steemit.com/steemitchallenges/@kalemandra/daily-and-weekly-contests-and-challenges-part-two-day-by-day

Good luck!

Sharon fitinfun before after.jpg
Losing weight was the best thing that ever happened to me. Anyone can get over obesity and live their dreams if I did.

Sort:  

I stopped using bidbots for myself. I still occasionally buy votes for truly undervalued posts by other authors, and I still work for the BuildTeam (the guys behind minnowbooster) but I no longer buy votes for my posts. Why, you ask? Because I don't need them for exposure. I have a nice big following, and my post payouts average at around $50. Could I be making more money using the voting bot I work on marketing? Yes. I probably could. But that's not why I am on steemit.

I am most definitely on steemit and all my social media to make money as a primary goal. This is not a hobby for me. This is how I make my living.

I'm using the bid-bots now to:

  • reward my other upvoters
  • make additional sp
  • make additional sbd which goes to my expenses with every other thing such as book sales and affiliate sales.

After one week, the bots are a huge win in all regards. I'm doing the them in day 5; not for exposure. I'm not worrying about ranking in trending etc.

My sp gain will be enough that I will not need to lease delegated sp anymore. That alone is with it.

I have a large following who does not vote for the most part. I think I will get curators now because my posts will pay. I hopefully it will snowball and at least 1 obese person here will get healthy. I can always hope.

Why are you on steemit?

Well, it's complicated.

I write for a living. Corporate blogs, magazine articles and basically anything that needs writing. Mostly in English as Hebrew doesn't pay too well and having native-level English is a fast way to get too much work here in Israel.

I am a bit of a social media maven and local "celebrity". I have a nice large following on Facebook (which is where most Israelis are) and some on Twitter, but I've always had a kind of line between "work" writing and "fun" writing. And so work went to clients, and fun went to Facebook or (when I felt like investing) my blog at techslut.com

And then steemit happened.

Steemit blurs all the lines. It's a place that PAYS me to write things I enjoy. Now, I am not a greedy person. When I discover something new, the first thing I think is not "how can I profit?" but rather "how can I have fun?". Nonetheless, the monetary reward is what keeps me posting here stuff I would otherwise either not write or post elsewhere. Sure, my Facebook posts get more likes than my posts here get upvotes. But it's a different community. Different audience. And more than anything - it's fun.

I am still boggled by this blurring of hobby and work. I write stuff I truly like and enjoy and get paid more than what I get writing boring-ass work-shit. So... the mind. It boggles.

Also, in my experience, obesity is often a symptom rather than the cause of medical issues. I've only ever touched the obesity BMI from the bottom, and am very happy with my little extra weight according to BMI tables. Which are bullshit. Be the weight you're comfortable with. Me, if I lose more than 4kg off my current weight, I become "average" in terms of BMI, but I don't feel as comfortable in my own skin.

I deal with the morbidly obese - 40% of Americans. Their bmi is 40+, so not bs in that case. It's life or death - not comfort.

You could get healthier with my methods, but you are not my target audience.

If you are in Twitter - please join my steemit list and tweet your posts! My steemit posts and those of my friends do great on Twitter and all my 5000 followers are content creators. I have had a few come and die here from Twitter so there is hope for them to come back or others maybe with the price increase.

https://twitter.com/FitinfunSharon/lists/steemit-friends

Lots of steemers on this list. Few of them tweet their posts.

Steemit only has 7K in active people and that does not cut it for my work - or anyone really.

Right! Americans! Well, I don't really blame them. The food in the US is garbage. I could not keep it down. And people don't walk. What's with that?

I eat a lot of whole grains, vegetables, fruit, fish and eggs. I (try to) work out at least twice a week, once with a physiotherapist / boxing trainer. So I seriously doubt I am your target audience at all. :)

My twitter is currently a feed of my facebook statuses - you can probably guess my twitter account name :) . There aren't enough Israelis there, and currently that's my main audience and crowd. So I am bringing them here by the droves from Facebook.

If there are only 7000 active users on steemit, then 10% of them are Israelis who joined in the past 2 weeks. I think your estimate considers active DAILY users. Some access every other day. Some weekly. We have other social media and content creation platforms. And, well, dayjobs.

It's very sad in the us on many fronts and that is why I left.

I'm using this stat from @archange for active users. Basically - minnows don't count, so I am going with redfish and above.
archange user reps dec 23 2107.PNG

Sorry, I don't think minnows don't count.

Their vote value does not count, they have no visibility and that are very likely to quit.

Regardless, there are still only 7k-ish here and this needs to grow exponentially for the place to work beyond circle-jerking and bid-bots.

You are absolutely right. This is the best strategy

I wrote this post to give to people messing around in there without knowing what they are doing.

I just found these things a week ago and have commented to at least 20 people who made the mistake. Most of them had no understanding of the game.

I will be sending this post to people from now on when I see them. I hope it helps in future :)

Happy new years - you are looking great. Cheers to you in 2018

Thank you so much!

@fitinfun I knew very less about this and definitely will help me !!thanks for writing such an informative post thanks from the bottom of my heart @fitinfun!!

I'm so glad to help. It is tricky but you can do it :)

Thank for sharing .I have known a few bot such as @bulidawhale & @minnowbooster.

You have to be careful with them, but it is worth it mostly. Good Luck!

Sorry for crushing your expected upvote calculations but that's what a bid bot is. You should understand this when bidding on any bid bot that it can turn any which way. Don't think everyone's interest is same as yours. Not everyone targets the same returns as you and put a bid in line with your expectations.

Thanks for raising your concerns about my last minute bid. But you are warned now. This is how I bid.

You are a very big fish a small pond pond. You are getting very poor returns compared to "average" by your method. What is your reason for doing the bots if not returns?

Wow..I think this will really help as a new to steemit. Ive been looking for a reliable bot to put my small sbd on, as recently i was scammed, and I cried bout it, dont want to make same,mistake again. Thanks

Oh! So sorry about that. Only use the bots that make it onto this service. Anyone else who sends you a wallet notice - do not go there.

Keep going - you can succeed here. The tiny sbd will grow bigger over time.

The last week or so my wife and I have been experimenting with these bots, using the site you have listed to follow the values etc etc and we found that unless a person wants to be in the "HOT" listings for what ever reasons they are not really worth the effort.

Sometimes the calculator on the site seems to be out of whack as far as timing goes, but that happens like once in 50 checks or once in a hundred checks and it sucks when it happens when deciding what bot to use when trying to post and botvote soon after.

Experimenting is over and done with now, now comes the week when we check the final results.

Interesting. I would like to know what happens. I'm doing using them to:

  • reward my real voters with better rewards
  • entice other curators since my posts pay well
  • grow my sp
  • grow my rep
  • make additional sbd

The bots are huge win for me on all counts. I do not use them in the first couple of days. I think "trending" and "hot" are not worth my effort since I never look at them myself.

This is very important to me for my steemit strategies and developing the steemit life carrying the right path.I agree with you@fitinfun

Thank you! I hope it helps :)

How's this working out for you? I'd thank you to keep your advice for your posts instead of judging other people's use of bots on their own posts. If you lose, don't come crying to others next time, or my response to you will be less polite the next time.

This normally works out well, since many people are not sure what they are doing in the bots. I try to reach them who I can. I was not on the bot you crushed, I just saw it as I was looking to bid. This is a social network, so I assume we are all in this together and want to succeed.

I gave you fair warning but your arrogance and vile nature has you coming to harrass and cast aspersions about me on my blog. Desist from doing that. Remove the lies you wrote.

Which comments do you think are lies, and why?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29