Urban homesteader with velvet skin

in #howto7 years ago

Not having acres of land does not mean you cannot be a homesteader at hart.  

Part of this is making your own things and recycling what you have...


So when I came across this article online about the possibilities of Coffee grounds (I admit we used to throw them away) Being in an adventurous mood I decided to give them a go...


there are a lot more ways that you can re-use the coffee but these are the ones that really appealed @yogacoach and so I set my skills to work and created 2 things

1. a cleansing face mask that you should only put on in the morning

2.home made body scrub with coffee 


So her is How to:


1for the face mask you need the following:


  • 1 measure of freshly ground coffee 
  • 1 measure of cocoa powder
  • 1/5th measure honey
  • milk (if you are allergic you can use almond or rice)
  • 1/5th measure lemon juice


Now that we have everything:

take a bowl and mix the coffee and the cocoa. Then add in the milk while stirring until you get a paste after which you add the lemon juice and honey.


when that is done just put it on your skin and let it dry for about 20 minutes and then wash off (I really recommend just taking a shower because I got coffee everywhere in the washbasin) 

Now there is a reason I mentioned to only use this in the morning because for me it really felt as though I had guzzled down 4 espresso in 2 minutes.  This will give you a guaranteed cafeine rush.


The 2nd thing I created was the coffee scrub

and for that you need the following:

  • 1 measure Coffee grounds
  • 1 measure course salt
  • oil
  • essence (whichever you prefer for extra aroma)

When you have these few ingredients you can just mix the coffee and salt  together and then slowly add the oil, I used olive but I guess you can use whatever.  (I would not recommend motor oil though)

mix these up to a solid paste and add a few drops of the essence if you want to (its not needed though but it pleased the GF)

Now I looked up these on amazon and the prices range from 15ish to 50 dollars for a little pot... So if you want to please the missus and surprise her with your amazing DIY skills this is the way to go and it costs a fraction of the retail price if you do not have the ingredients at home already... And for the ladies that cannot count on their other half helping them out with this (I understand that not all men are as thoughtfull as myself), if I can do it you all surely can...

Urban homesteading gives you a velvet skin... I am the proof


If you liked this please do not forget your upvote, If you tried this out and liked it, let me know...
but whatever you do STEEM ON


Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.5% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @felander
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @felander to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Really good posts ur..
Hey if u seen my posts and like pls follow and vote me

This post received a 5.68% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @felander! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Wow! Didn't know coffee works so well for things like this... Can't try it yet as I use instant coffee - got to go get some beans... Thank you - sounds most interesting!
Found this on Daily Qurator! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62808.61
ETH 3464.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53