How To Get Your Photography Post Noticed

in #howto8 years ago (edited)

Love what the your camera can do and the beauty it could convey? Have you made such a pretty pic and you just can't help but share it in Steemit? Ya' did? @screenname showing up your comment thread saying your post has been undervalued? Turn it around!

Have you ever wondered how come other people's photo post are doing so great and yours seem to be undervalued? I used "SEEM" because the truth is - unless only you are upvoting it - or it has no upvotes nor views at all - then you can really say it's been undervalued. However, if there are so many upvotes on it and there are at least cents at the bottom page - then it's been valued - it's just not the value you wish it has. Isn't it? Maybe ...

If you have read @tuck-fheman's latest post, then you already know that there was a time when photography posts ruled in Steemit. If you get back to those, which are probably all but buried since everyone seems to be enthusiastically posting about pictures and photography .. but if you could and would then you'd know those pictures are one of "this" kind of pictures.

How does it make you feel looking at that pic above?

In my case, had I not been there, it would make me want to go there so had you posted it I'd probably ask you where it is. However, had I posted it this way.

This is the view above Calpe's Peñón de Ifach. Spain in January on a sunny day around 5 pm. Taken with a Samsung Galaxy Note 1.

Does the extra information I added make the picture extra interesting? Admit it, it does right? Not only because it really is breath taking but you now know where the place is and that it has just been taken with a smartphone - makes you want to go there the more. It probably makes you curious about the place and you probably are asking what can you do there if you go right? Would you upvote this picture already? Maybe..

What if I added all of these pictures below with all those captions?

This was what the road looked like on the way up. This part is still wheelchair, stroller and walker friendly. Sands and a bit of a teeny tiny pebble would give you a bumpy ride but the view below won't make you notice all that anymore. There is no entrance fee but there are DOs and DON'Ts.

These are a few of the flowers you could find on top of Calpe's Peñón de Ifach. (from top to bottom [Spanish Broom, Yellow Wood Sorrel and the wild onion - Asphodelus tenuifolius )

There were a lot of sea gulls on the rocks. They just stared at us and made some weird noises. A redbreast European Robin has been following me while we. It wasn't aloof at all I wished I had biscuits in my pocket that day or a bread I could feed him. He looks pretty stuffed though.

Beyond this point, the wheelchairs, strollers and walker aren't allowed anymore. If your family are friends decide to go up, you could still enjoy the sun, read a book, enjoy the view below while waiting for them to come back from the other half of the climb. If you need to take a leak, that roof on the first pic is actually a tourist information service center. They have free separate toilets for men and women and are wheelchair friendly.

This is the part of the mountain that leads to the other side. You'll be passing by a dark, narrow, slippery marble road. It would be advisable to stop and get back if you're not wearing proper shoes.

Do all these pictures make it more interesting now? Why?

All of those information add value, don't they?

In the months that I've been here, I watch photography posts really get noticed when there's additional information added on the pictures. Ned kept saying that in all his talkathon when he was in Norway - if I got the place right. After doing all that - you may then tag your photography pics with photography and use the photography-trail tag please. Yes, there is such a thing. I could also use the travel and travel-trail tag with those pics above.

What kind of photography posts are often being noticed?
  • Super vivid shots.


    Check out @thecryptofiend's, @condra and @sharker's posts for example - there are many more I just can't remember the most of them. When we were just starting, macro shots were taking the rewards. I remember @simba's first macro shots really doing well and it wasn't just because it was so vivid - he made it so much fun making us guess. The comment thread on his posts flooded those days. I wonder how he is doing now.
  • Shots with tutorial on how they were taken.
    @runrudy has made his break through doing this. Check out @ianboil and learn more from him. @ mweich also made works as such and there are many others.
  • Macro photography of plants, animals specially insect that gives extra information about what they are called, what they are like or how to take care of them.
    If you were listening to @anyx during the Steemfest he mentioned about "his hope of bumping across posts that looks like that of "wikipedia" - (not his original words). You could post many flowers and not tell their names or medicinal or culinary uses - is not really adding much value isn't it? You could post really cute looking insect without identifying them and can't really say - it's adding value isn't it? You could post a plant or vegetable you are growing with really nice pictures and gave it a wrong name - it's not really adding value isn't it. Check out @ocrdu and @mweich, they and you all know @jamtaylor do their homeworks of posting additional information about the shots they make - or at least try.
  • A group, series or progression of not only vivid but great shots.


    Even in the real market, a product sold with an extra freebies gets more sales than just one product sold as one piece. If one two stalls in the market are both selling cups, would you buy on the stall that sells just a cup or would you buy from the stall that sells a cup with a teddy bear on it - for the same price? The photography post "market" is pretty vast these days. A lot of photography post authors are here now. Discourage yourself not but try to walk those extra miles and be generous sharing wonderfully taken pictures on your photography posts. I've seen @shaka do this - he even shows the coordinates of where his pics were taken so does @shieha.
  • Yes, you could always crop craps to make your photography posts more professional so I learned from all those photography authors I follow.

    These are just a few tips on how your photography post could kick ass and finally get noticed. If you are a photography post author, please do add some tips and comment below. Let's help people give value in their photography posts.

    Photos may provide visual messages but when added with words, they could tell stories.

    Lastly, whatever post you decide to author - remember and maybe better make it our Steemit mindset ...

    Except for the pics I sourced using blued words in sentences before them. I took all of those pics above with my Samsung Galaxy Note 1 during our trip to Spain last year . I've decided to use them instead of my new pics because they fit this post. This was not supposed to be the post I wanted to share today, however, I had the urge to write it to help some of those who are getting frustrated about their photography posts. You may bump into these pics in my tripadvisor profile.



    I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

    FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

thanks for good information and lovely photos....^^

@abdullar nim, you're welcome
I hope it helps

Good post! It is what people like to see.
But I must admit I am also hoping for an audience for single good photos, without comment. A very good photo is the value, no need to add anything to it. Such a photo is not an illustration for a story, it doesn't matter where or how it was taken, it just is, and it is great in isolation, no added value needed or even possible. Famous photographers shooting famous photos don't add text, the photos speak for themselves.
Most photographers don't shoot such photos daily, or even yearly, but when such photos appear, they deserve an audience as well. As art.
But for now, follow the good advice in this posting, it will help!

It would be nice to have an audience for single photos, for sure! Some of the issue is the interface, I think. A single photo just doesn't look so great here. The Artistic Freedom Crew has the best interface for photography that I've seen. Their individual photos look so nice.

@haphazard-hstead
There are single photos that sometimes get lucky with whale love - that, too we're all dependent to that :D
As for the artistic freedom crew - they should Steemit I hope they do!

I've been trying to get some of the Artistic Freedom Crew over here. I know them from the TSU social network, before it went broke and shut down. They love photography and nice images. I'd like to see their interface connected to the blockchain, lol but serious, too. Happy New Year!

@haphazard-hstead I wish you luck!
It's quite a challenge, I keep telling the btc pips here, they have to experience it but they just signed up and froze :D

Maybe they will thaw out in the spring, lol. Keep warming them up! ; )

@ocrdu thank you. I understand where you're coming from. There were post that had those. One pic - huge value. Fame comes along with it indeed and there's a psychology behind that, too.

They are the kind of photos that make my jaw drop and make me think: "I wish I had shot that photo. I bow to that photographer". Photographer's jealousy, but in a pleasant way 8-).
I greatly enjoy photo reportages also, and nature photography with some species information, and they tend to do well, as you say.

@photography it's true - that's when you want to have their cameras hahaha

=D
Cameras? Their eyes! 8-)

@ocrdu - that too!
Not everyone has eyes for photography indeed!
some didn't even get some photography schooling but when they take pics it's like - freaking extra-ordinary !
I want that for a gift!

Like have to tell some story mostly. :-)

When I see a photo of a beautiful place I like to find it on the map and read more about the location. When there is no caption that makes it difficult! Great post and followed.

@vir, thank you
I hope it helps you

Great post. I like the captioning idea it really helps I think!

Very well done, thanks for sharing these tips!

@daveks thank you!
Your generosity is paying off ;)

Excellent post with very good advice!

I also think that commenting and/or asking questions about the photographs helps to encourage the photographer to do more and push themselves to get better pictures.

A while ago, one photographer posted a wonderfully clear macro of a crab spider and included the detail that he had used an external off camera flash, this inspired me to try the technique myself and I was able to take some of the best pictures of jumping spiders to date!

@mweich, thank you
I totally agree about encouraging authors not just photographers through comments!
will be looking forward for the jumping spiders pics!

You'll have to wait until spring for new ones! The photos I was talking about are here:
Little Monsters - Part 16: Jumping Spiders


I also love using markdown in comments!

WOW very very beatiful FOTOS ..! :D

@djsonic thank you, I went to your post just now and I saw that you also posted a photography post. I hope the tips on this post helps you in the future. Good luck!

Spot on, captioning really helps draw the eye and supply the information needed to make the reader read on... And boobs, boobs help loads too!!

@meesterboom I shared this

but @papa-pepper is my witness nothing happened only papa-pepper upvoted it :( @tuck-fheman is wrong about

breastes

Hahahah, this made me guffaw loads!!

@meesterboom - these breastes are still not taking rewards are they? What could be wrong with it? It's even a gif :( more than a pic :(
hahhaha

Hmm , might be the lack of nsfw tag!! Har har!! ;0)

@meesterboom
how about now? it's just that this one has no "es" hahaha
do I have to tag this nsfw, too?

Reply to later reply! I want one of those!!

I like to hear the story behind the picture a well. Not too much information, but just enough to answer some basic questions for the viewer. You put a lot of work into this post. Nice job!

@countrygirl, thank you.
I forgot to include you - so many good photography posts but this was some sort of an "insert post" (sighs) I was checking out photography posts online and saw some of the discouraged trending comments so I wrote it but maybe you could give more

I've noticed a lot of discouragement too. LIke others have said though, it's not how good you are all the time....it's sort of a "crap shoot" as to who will vote and why. Some really good photography blogs get a lot of votes but little steem while other blogs not as good or ones that might have a picture with no details get few votes and a good amount of steem. Not sure how or why that happens but it is what it is.

As for me, I'll keep plugging away slowly. I'll change things up a bit here and there when I get bored with posting pictures :) and I'll keep commenting on other people's stuff and hopefully attract more followers.

My goal is to get past 200 by the new year. I have 2 more to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54