Garden Plans for 2018

I'm not really one for New Year's resolutions. Generally when I resolve to make a change I do it at the time. However, with New Year's resolutions being talked about so much I can't help but think about whether there are any goals I'd like to achieve. @kiaraantonoviche's latest homesteading challenge is homestead resolutions for 2018, so it got me thinking about my goals for the garden this year.

My front garden has been on my mind a lot of late. When we first bought the house it was lawn with a small garden bed at the top and an ash tree to one side of the lawn. The ground is sloped towards the road and consists of clay and rubble from the house build. It's open to the full force of all the weather. In summer it gets baked with cracks running through it and when rain finally comes it just runs off into the road. The rain does eventually sink in to the clay, until it's water logged, then it goes back to running off. The neighbours trees to one side offer a little protection from Adelaide’s near constant winds, but from the other direction the winds just tear straight across.

IMG_20170221_110613.jpg
The top picture is from Google Maps as I don't have any before photos.

Before we started trying to grow our own food we toyed with the idea of putting fake lawn across the front. The thought almost horrifies me now! What we ended up doing initially, though, was extending the garden bed a bit more before changing our minds and taking out most of the lawn leaving just pathways. If I thought the soil on the back was bad I was in for a huge shock trying to grow anything where that lawn once was! A lot of things have died trying to grow here and I'd almost reached the point of giving up on anything more than Aloe Vera and Mediterranean herbs there. Yet slowly things have started to take and after seeing what Malcolm @ligayagardener has achieved with his little front garden I have a renewed determination to make something of ours. So this year I would like to look back and feel like I've made this no grow zone into something productive.

The garden is open plan with a driveway either side. We can't really afford to fence it in to gain privacy and it wouldn't really be in keeping with the rest of the houses on the road. I also don't want it to feel like we're blocking ourselves off from our neighbours. However, we also have big windows across the front, one of which is a bedroom window, so I'd like to get a bit of privacy back without having the blinds down permanently. I'm thinking of achieving this with a row of small trees. I have two olive saplings which are growing slowly and I'm thinking of adding a couple of finger limes which are an Australian native.

IMG_20180105_151452.jpg
The olive trees.

I already have a South Australian Sweet Appleberry thriving next to where one tree would go and it could then climb that tree.

IMG_20180105_154341.jpg
Sweet Appleberry

Due to time constraints, the only thing I've really done to try and improve the soil has been mulching. In order to not have it carried off by the strong winds I went for a heavy woodchip, however, this is slow to break down. So I've decided I'm going to try improving the soil, section at a time, by digging in compost and manure and making sure the area stays damp before I plant in it. I've started an area near the front door which should be easily enough accessed for me to keep on top of it.

IMG_20180105_150730.jpg
This area near the front door is part of a small area that actually gets a lot of shade year round. A good place to start improving the soil.

I want to start getting denser planting to help with cooling and to protect the soil, but I also want to be able to access everything, so I'll need to plan paths out. I haven't made any concrete decisions in that regard, but I have the feeling they'll most likely form organically around what is already there. One of Malcolm's posts has got me thinking how I can best layer things. Sadly, thinking is about as far as I've got so far...

So my hope is that by the end of this year the photo I take of the front garden will have more plants and less ground showing!


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook
YouTube


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Olive tree? Did you say olive tree!
OMGosh.. I was just reading about how to grow them, if feasible in my zone, etc the other day.
We were snacking on some Kalamata olives and cheese and, of course, my mind started wandering.... what kind do you have?

I also learned the only difference between green and black olives is the time of harvest. I swear I learn new things every day!

I dont actually know what type they are. Hubby brought them home for me one day. We don't even like olives! Lol. Olive oil is the only thing olive we use, so I guess we need to learn how to press them if they ever start producing enough. We got our first couple on them last year and discovered why they are pickled before eating! I've never tasted anything so bitter!! That was also about the time I discovered the difference between black and green is harvest time.

Oh that would be a real neat skill to learn; how to press olives for oil.

Wouldn't it? I'll have to start researching!

It will be beautiful! We will be doing some edible landscaping in the front instead of flower beds. Would goji berries grow in your area? The trees are very pretty!

I actually have two gojis already on the front. I need to get a bit more confident with trimming them though, because they're a bit straggly.

Nice! I just ordered some of our edible landscaping including 2 gojis. I'm extremely excited to start that project we just have to paint the entire outside of our house first haha

You've been entered into the #homesteadingchallenge! Thank you!

I'm so glad you didn't put fake turf!

Me too! Our neighbours over the road went that route and it really doesn't look that great anyway.

I'd like to start some apple berry. It would have to be in a container so I could bring it indoors for the winter. I just love the blossoms.

Our yard is all clay. We tried for years to improve it to make it good soil for planting. We finally just made a giant raised bed and hauled in black dirt and mushroom compost. Our progress was just too slow.

I've not had this Appleberry for long so I can look forward to the blossoms. Looking forward to the fruit too actually!

That doesn't bode well for me with my clay then. I'll keep hoping!

Everyine's soil here in southwest Missouri is clay. My grandmother has had success amending it, it was just taking longer than I was willing to wait. I like to think that I've got many virtues. Patience is not one of them. 😏

You put a lot of time and effort into this story. I really enjoyed it. Thank you!

Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. 😊

@minismallholding that would be a great achievement of your.
Its good and cool to see garden with a lot of plants and flowers.
GOD BLESS!

Thank you. I hope I can make a difference to it this year.

very nice and informative post.u always post valuable contents thats y i followed you.people always got advantage and infromation from your post.good and keep it up.

Thank you for participating in the most recent #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner and a few honorable mentions have just been announced! I hope to see you in future contests!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36