🍉 This year I will be growing Watermelon again on the WizStead Post #6

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

There is nothing better than
biting into a slice of home grown watermelon
and the juice running down your chin...

  • knowing you're getting rewarded
    for planting those seeds
    about 80 days before...
    • keeping them weeded, watered and fertilized
      • which is waaaay easier if you mulch like I do...

This one was 31 pounds! Wowzer

QT watermelon.jpg

  • Sorry, I lied...
    • watching your mom
      who is watching your grandson
      bite into a slice of a 31# home grown watermelon
      and the juice running down his chin...
      • That's even better!

QT & Granny watermelon.jpg

It doesn't get any better than that!!!

This is my entry into this week's
Homestead Photography Contest
sponsored by @knowledge-seeker

Grass border-1295438__340.png

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
Sort:  

I will be working on some watermelons and some cantaloupe in my garden this year too. Hope my watermelons look as good as that on did.

That one was a dandy. One of the biggest I've ever grown. I like those sugar babies since they fit in the frig so easy.

  • Hale's best cantaloupe work good for me.
    • those gurney giant cantaloupe really are...

Good luck!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 01:13:58
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Do you mortals have electramelon down there?

My favorite!

As a friendly reminder, minimum upvote fee has increased $0.05 SBD ($0.051 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.15+ SBD.

That being said…

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Wow, 31# watermelon! That is an accomplishment. We have never had much luck with watermelons, they usually turnout very small. This year we are going to do a few things differently, so maybe we will have better luck in the future. Great Job!

Thanks @knowledge-seeker!
I did grow this on a bit of a hill, letting the vines go downhill.
I put down black plastic and straw on top of that.
I did let just that one grow on that vine.

  • I don't normally get them that big. Just lucky that year?
    The others that year weren't near that big.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61