Fixing a Diesel Generator and Making My Own Power For The First Time

in #homesteading7 years ago

We've had a hell of a windstorm over night. We lost our power at 2:30 AM.

About a quarter of our town - a quarter of the whole region, actually - are without mains power now. Because we're in such an isolated location, the five houses at the end of our street (including ours) are usually the last to have power restored. It's so frustrating to look at the outage report for your area and see that you're the last one waiting for electricity. Again.

Generator.jpg

Among the junk, machines, and rusted hulks my grandfather left behind on this place was this ancient diesel generator.

We hadn't been expecting to stay here this long, but we've been through two winters and several of these outages by now. Over the summer I finally had a go at getting it running again.

My expectations were low. Grandfather took terrible care of his things, and once he got his hands on a tool, it didn't work for long. But since I had a bit of free time and patience, it seemed worth a shot.

I charged up the battery, but it didn't do anything but "click" when I turned the ignition. Still, I replaced the engine oil, then found an appropriate socket wrench to remove the dozens of bolts holding the panels to the frame. This exposed a bolt attached to the spinning part of the engine, and I found that when I applied a tremendous force to that with a large wrench, I actually could turn the engine over. A few turns loosen it up. After fussing with this for a while, I turned the key and was shocked to see it jerk on its own.

Eventually I was able to get it to start. I let it run for a while, and even plugged a lamp and an electric heater (1500 Watts) to see if it was generating electricity. It was!

Unfortunately, once it stopped, I couldn't get it to start again - at least not consistently. I tried buying a new battery, since the one inside it was ten years old. Even that didn't seem to provide enough juice to turn the engine without a lot of fussing and jiggling first. So I set it aside again.

Until today. When we lost power this morning we were in a bind. The wife's recently hatched quail are in a brooder that needs to be kept at 100 degrees F., and she has an incubator running with a few dozen more eggs.

There couldn't have been a worse time for us to be without power for an extended period.

So at first light I went out into the garage and tried to get the generator running with the new battery again. Still no luck. Then I wondered if a car battery would make any difference. I can't jump from my Prius, but that old Volvo is still hanging around, so I attached it's battery to the generator's with jumper cables. The thing ground into life, and remained on. I ran 100' of extension cord to the brooder in the bathroom and soon had the quail warmed up again.

Unfortunately we lost one chick which had hatched just yesterday, but the others recovered. It could have been much worse.

Now I had the motivation to take advantage of this thing and see what it could do. It has a 240 Volt outlet that can actually put out 6000 watts of power - if you can track down the right cords and adapters. This process required several visits to Home Depot and the Tractor Supply Co. (Did you know that the L14 connector for a 30 amp generator is different from the L14 connector for a 20 amp generator? Sheesh! Me neither.) Then we tracked down all sorts of splitters and power strips, and a proper diesel can (they're yellow!) and filled that up with extra fuel.

Believe it or not, I've never actually bought diesel fuel before. It smells a lot better than gasoline. I know because I got it all over my hands.

Anyway, now we've got the fridge, microwave, kettle, modem, router, chicken brooder, lamps, and a couple of computers all capable of doing their thing until the power is restored. And I'm almost used to the noise of the thing.

It would be nice if we could drive the well pump as well, but that's hard wired to its circuit, so we'll be flushing with buckets of seawater for the time being.

I know there's a way to wire this thing directly to the house, but that's outside my experience and budget for the time being. According to our neighbor, my grandfather had once done this himself once, but in his usual fashion he did it his own way and got into trouble. Instead of isolating the circuit properly, he let the electricity flowed back into the grid, putting any poor lineman who was working in the area at risk of electrocution.

I'm just grateful the thing runs at all, and that I've managed to start it up without killing myself. The novelty of posting to Steemit during a power outage is pretty grand.


So about this storm:

The wind kicked up some serious waves in the bay, this morning. Big four-footers rolled right up to the beach - about twice the size of what you see here. (I'm always a little late with the camera.)

Waves.jpg

Some serious branches came down in the yard.

TreeDown1.jpg

And an entire tree, just across the street.

TreeDown2.jpg

The road was buried under fallen branches, brush, and debris, and the line at the one open Dunkin Donuts went around the block. I wouldn't have waited if I hadn't promised to bring The Wire a latte!


How do you handle a power outage? Do you have a generator, or are you happy to rough it with candles and blankets?

Sort:  

When I was on the road I carried a (smaller) generator on the back of my truck. I used it to power my 'stuff' when I was parked (laws against idling big trucks many places)...the generator worked FINE...of a little while (a few months)...then I had hell getting it started or keeping it running. It was an inexpensive gasoline model...couldn't afford diesel..so my problems were compounded by having to deal with two different fuels.

I'm glad that part of my life is behind me...

I'm grateful for this generator, but I have to say I'm getting tired of fussing over small engines. Lawn-mowers, chainsaws, generators - nothing ever just works. But then again I'm usually dealing with cast-offs and hand-me-downs.

How did you keep the little generator out of the rain? Or did you have it inside and vent it somehow?

I mostly didn't.
I had a tarp for when I was driving.
Sometimes I used it.

There's not much to basic diesel maintenance- but sitting for a really long time and running with really old fuel is NOT a good idea. You SHOULD have hand-turned the engine first anyway, it's always a good idea and there's ALWAYS a bolt on the front pulley- but fortunately there apparently wasn't any damage, you have to get oil into the bearings and pistons, etc. and that's far safer at very low rpm, and you'll avoid undue wear and premature failure of your starter.
"When I was young..."
Dad had an old A-C farm tractor (he may have bought new in the 1940s, but it may have been used even then) we could ONLY start by hand-crank or roll-start...never had to worry about starter problems until he finally broke down and had the thing rewired to start off the generator (they didn't have alternators back then, so it was a handy DC pony motor) in the 1970s.

Thanks for the info. The wheel definitely got a lot of turning before it ever started. Siphoning out the old gas might have been a good idea, though.

The thing ran great for about a dozen hours. I was hoping it would re-start easier after it had a good workout like that, but unfortunately, no such luck. It just won't turn over for anything smaller than a car battery.

That tractor sounds interesting. Do you have any pictures?

I'm just grateful the thing runs at all, and that I've managed to start it up without killing myself. The novelty of posting to Steemit during a power outage is pretty grand.

haha, sounds like a good adventure Winston! Way to dig in and not give up :P I suppose what else can you do when there's lots of little babies on the line.

WOW!!! You're right on the ocean it looks like! Do you have many mushrooms in those woods? I found a huge bolete edulis in vermont last year and packed it up in my luggage, and when TSA was digging through everything the woman pulled out this massive mushroom like 20 inches tall, she thought that was pretty funny. That beauty was super tasty though!

We do get a lot of big mushrooms in the woods around here. Some of them look delicious. One of these days I'm going to learn which ones are safe to eat.

Glad the TSA didn't detain you for your fungus.

lol, yeah me too.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boletus_edulis

I bet you have these out there too...they're actually one of the easiest mushrooms to identify, most Bolete family fungus is edible, and the two dangerous species are very obvious. It's also known as a Porcini in italian, somewhat pricey too.

Those do look kind of familiar. I'll be on the lookout, so if I find any I can take a picture and closely compare.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43