Time To Let The Old Lady Go? A Volvo 850 Station Wagon from 1997 That Won't Quit

in #homesteading7 years ago

I spent much of the day bringing our Volvo station wagon back to life after a year-long nap. The question is, what is to be done with her now?

VolvoFront.jpg

We've made a lot of changes to simplify our lives in the last year. All part of leaving the rat race. One of those decisions was to live with just one car. So we took our older car - this Volvo 850 station wagon - off the road in the fall. We kept it around in case we needed it again in the Spring, when things got rolling with the AirBnB rental and obligations multiplied.

Happily, getting along with one car worked out just fine. It's amazing how much you're able to accomplish with so little when you're able to make your own schedule! And there's so much expense involved in keeping a second car on the road. Fuel, repairs, insurance (outrageous), registration, excise tax. We've been able to cut all those expenses in half. But spring turned to fall and we forgot about the Volvo as the weeds grew up around it.

This car certainly owes us no favors. The Wife drove it hard over the years, using it more like a pickup truck than a station wagon. She's hauled mulch, manure, furniture, lumber, kayaks, boulders, and chickens around in that thing. It's gotten us through two local moves so that we didn't need to rent a van or trailer.

And then there were all the dump runs we made, cleaning out my hoarder-grandfather's house (and boat-house, and garage, and shed...) This car has literally hauled hundreds of tons in its time.

We've had it for over ten years and it's never broken down and left us abandoned.

Sure, we have to add a quart of oil ever three weeks and top off the antifreeze every six. One of the tires has had a slow leak for four years. The suspension is so worn out that it squeaks like an out-of-tune orchestra every time you go around a corner. The electric motor that adjusts the driver's seat seized up. The dashboard instruments only work a quarter of the time. The odometer stopped turning at 190,000 miles - over six years ago. And the heating fan only turns on when you bang the dashboard in just the right way.

But, man, this thing is built like a tank.

After a year of total neglect -

I decided to charge the battery with a trickle charger over-night. I reconnected the terminals and the car lit right up. Turned the key. Instant start! No hesitation. No grinding and grumbling and waiting for the engine to catch. Just the familiar throaty purr of that five cylinder engine.

She sounded like I'd commuted home with her last night.

We really had shamefully neglected her. Water leaked in around that sunroof, and the inside smelled like a cross between a swamp and a locker room. The steering wheel was covered in fuzzy mold. Even getting in the car was a challenge, as thorns and Virginia creeper had started to work their way up the hubcaps, and bushes of poison ivy had sprouted menacingly by the doors. That slow-leaking tire was on its rim and the rest weren't far behind.

But with the engine running I was able to drive her out of the woods, inflate the tires, and go to work with the shop-vac. I drove her up and down our private road a couple of times. The rusty brakes squeaked a bit, but other than that, all the important mechanical bits worked just fine. Transmission shifting, belts turning, headlights shining... Christ, even the cassette deck still works!

She spent the day with the doors open and the sun streaming in. A couple more days like this and she'll be all dried out.

It's a cliche, but they really don't build 'em like they used to. I'm used to the feather-light plastic panels and cardboard doors of my Prius. Get into a car from 20 years ago and you feel like you're driving a tank.

VolvoRear.jpg

So now what?

Well, I suppose it might be time to sell. At least she's out of the woods. Even if a buyer just wants her for parts, at least someone can see that the engine's running and she goes from A to B when you step on the gas.

On the other hand, we could just keep her here on the homestead as a working vehicle - to haul salt-hay up from the beach, say, or move topsoil around. No need to register and insure her for that.

I suspect there's a few things that would have to be done before she could pass a state inspection. Another reason we decided to take her off the road was the warning light for the air-bag system had gone on, and she wouldn't pass without a $700 replacement. Ironically enough, after sitting for a year with a dead battery, that light has gone out! She's actually closer to being street-legal now than she was a year ago.

I'm not sure if we'd need to have a working speedometer, though.

I hate hoarding, and I hate keeping stuff around just for the hell of it. And I really was just trying to get her into salable condition. But now that she's cleaned up and purring -

She's really not such a bad car, is she?

How many of you are able to get by with a single car in your family? Do you keep a hard-working beater around for dirty jobs?

Sort:  

Nice car @winstonalden ;)

You do need a working speedometer to pass mass inspection, but you can also find a video on youtube and possibly do it yourself. It sounds like it's work a few dollars in repairs to keep it as a workhorse if you can still benefit from it. on the other hand, I'm sure someone out there would be happy to shell out some dough for a car like that that needs a couple repairs that seem expensive to you, but worth it to them. I could never live with just one car between hubs and I...I need the freedom of being able to come and go as i please.

It is sort of hard to part with a car that has served so faithfully.

Sort of hard to justify the tabs, insurance and upkeep when it gets older like that though. Still looks good and if you think you may have a need for it and its not too expensive I almost lean towards keeping it lol

Yeah, maybe one more year...

I mean, if it's essentially a "parts car," how much can the value go down.

It's funny. We had the brakes done a couple years ago. It was a $500 job but we really needed the second car at the time and it made more sense than buying something else when this one ran so well. Our mechanic said, "Ok, I'll do it - but this is your last year with the car, okay?"

Nice car man. Nice work that car look like new.

Thanks. Other than the roof, the paint has really held up well. (It's never been garaged while we owned it.) A good wash and I might be able to double my asking price!

Get the cutting torch out and turn her into good old El Camino! Then you can haul all kinds around that homestead. Or sell it lol

Not a bad idea! I can't count the times I've seen The Wife come home from Home Depot with a load of lumber and said, "Why don't you just get a pickup truck?"

Might need your help with that project, though!

I just had to let go of my old 1995 F-150 today. This thing got me around for 3 years, as a taxi, pizza delivery vehicle, daily commute, and Sunday drive. I know the bit of separation grief one goes through.

Sounds like a hard-working truck. Hope you're happy with whatever came next!

Ah, memories. In the 90's, my mother had a 197_ Volvo wagon that toted my brother and I around. After she got rid of that one, she got a newer (but still older than yours) Volvo wagon. After that one "left" (IDK what she did with it), she got a turbo sedan Volvo. She really had a thing for Volvo apparently. Basically, most of our time that was spent in the car was in a Volvo. Can't begin to describe how embarrassing it was to be dropped off at my elementary school in a loud, rumble-y station wagon older than me or any of my little schoolmates. But anyway back to your car!

I think if you have a dry place to store it her, there's no harm in having a workhorse vehicle at your disposal. I mean, where will you find another one of equal quality and sentimentality? ☺ You're absolutely right, the most definitely don't make 'em like they used to.

And to answer your question, we use only one car (a reliable late-model import) for most of our daily non-work activities that require driving. However, for special situations, my boyfriend does have the ability to use his work van, which is a serious luxury, IMO.

Sorry your mom embarrassed you. I probably wouldn't have wanted to be taken to school in our squeaky beast either. But at least you were safe in a heavy Swedish car!

Being so close to the ocean, and with a tiny one car garage (with a broken door that doesn't close!), dry-storage is kind of a challenge. And the salt here rusts things out like crazy! Even if I could, I'd never buy a new car while we live here.

But I am toying with the idea of bringing it into the garage when it rains, and leaving the main car outside. Or maybe we could get one of those fabric hoop-house shelters. (The wind around here, though...) Surprisingly enough, the Volvo hasn't rusted nearly as bad as the 2010 Prius.

Maybe we will have a mechanic come by and see what it would take to make her street-legal again.

Safety first! Social awkwardness inducing situations second!

Salty and/or climates are a definite death sentence for vehicles left to the whims of nature. This is a tough decision you face.

Picture this scenario: Sell to a local person with garage on the terms that you may borrow her back occasionally for special circumstances.

Might seem like a dream outcome, depends on who's in your IRL social network, really. I wish you good luck! Keep us posted 😉

That's not a bad idea, actually. I know a guy who works for the town as a mechanic...

I'm sure you will come up with a solution that is suitable for all involved while maintaining your old gal's dignity ☺

That used to be my dream car! When I was younger, I wanted a Volvo station wagon so bad.

We have just one car for our family. We can do that because I walk to work.

Being able to walk to work is the best. Makes a bad day a little better - unless it's raining, of course!

Your dream car, huh? Maybe we could work out a deal and make your dream a reality... ;-)

I get attached to my car...by the sounds of it...so do you. Like its more than a thing at some point. And same as you....I dislike hoarding. I would prolly try selling it to someone who needs a car like this - with a very heavy heart.

I think we may use it as a tractor around the place for a bit. We've got some lumber that needs moving around (once I fire up that chainsaw). Then we'll have a mechanic look at it and see what he says.

We should probably make a decision before winter though. A few more months under the snow aren't going to do it any favors. (Although maybe I could attach a plow.)

Those Volvos are oddly endearing aren't they? I've had a few of them myself since they typically seem undervalued in the used car market compared to a Honda, Toyota etc.

We do keep just one car (no beater) and I don't see that changing for a bit. Even a single car for a family spends a lot of time idle so having more than one would seem like a waste of resources in our case.

They are endearing - and solid! We test drove a few newer ones and they're not the same - all that plastic inside, and not nearly as much cargo space.

It is hard for us to justify doubling our insurance and fuel costs when we're almost always home. And the thing I miss most about the city is not needing a car at all...

Right. I recently drove a new Volvo V60 with the D2 diesel in Norway and it was nice -striking design- but didn't necessarily remind me of the old ones. Except the seats...Volvo makes consistently good seats.

Speaking of not needing a car in the city: I was also in Copenhagen and that would be one great city to live car free in. I like cars and driving so living car-free doesn't excite me but if I did live in a more urban area I would want it to have a pervasive bike infrastructure and culture like Copenhagen does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43