The Sproutables: #1 Quinoa

in #homesteading7 years ago

Image source

Sprouting is the process of germinating seeds, grains or legumes. It's an old process that had fallen out of fashion over time but is making a come back in the kitchen. There are many benefits to sprouting, such as improving the digestibility of the food, boost the nutritional value and reduce phytates which can block nutrient absorption. However, in a recent steemit post of mine, I show how consuming phytates is not as big a concern, as our bodies adjust in order to get around the 'antinutrient' issue, but nevertheless reducing phytates are still a plus in my book.

If you are interested in learning more on the benefits of sprouting, I recommend checking out the information provided by the [sproutpeople.org] (https://sproutpeople.org/sprouts/nutrition/science/#sprouttable) website.

Here I will show you how to sprout quinoa

Ingredients

1 quart sized jar
11/2 cups of quinoa
3 cups of water (
Preferably Filtered*)

IMG_0754.JPG

Directions

Rinse the quinoa well.

Rinse

make action GIFs like this at MakeaGif

Add your ingredients into the jar.

IMG_0770.JPG

IMG_0771.JPG

Cover the neck of the jar with some breathable material (This coffee filter works great!). Place the jar somewhere out of direct sunlight.

IMG_0772.JPG

Let the quinoa soak for 6 hours. After 6 hours drain, add more water (rinse) and drain a second time.

IMG_0774.JPG

You may see that some of the quinoa got a early start. Totally normal.

IMG_0775.JPG

Now place the jar upside down on a bowl or large plate and place it somewhere out of direct sunlight.

Rinse the quinoa about once a day for the next 1 - 2 days

IMG_0776.JPG

That's it! Sprouted!

You can store the quinoa in the fridge for up to 1 week.

IMG_0798.JPG

#sprouting #sprouts #livingfood #livefoods #grains #quinoa #nutrients #seeds #phytates #antinutrients #beneficialfoods #superfoods

I hope this information was useful to you.

Posts you may also like

Fermented Soaked Oats: Easy, Healthy and Flavorful

How to do a Koffucha (coffee kombucha) brew

Coffee with a probiotic twist: My Koffucha brew update

IMG_4067.JPG

You might want to follow me because...

Sort:  

quinoa is awsome , I eat it quite often.

You got that right!

Do you consume it sprouted as is or do you have to cook it still?

I cook the quinoa like normal.

Thanks, this is really cool! I’ve been eating quinoa for about a year now and I absolutely love it (my son isn’t a big fan). I would have never imagined that sprouting has benefits, though. You used the white quinoa, I do kind of prefer red quinoa to the white one... What do you think of red quinoa?

Oh right on. Quinoa is a bit odd at first but it grows on you. Maybe your son might grow to love it like people love rice. I haven't had red much, white is more accessible at the grocery store.

We grew some cherry vanilla quinoa this year, whenever I get around to winnowing it, I'll know if I have enough to eat or only plant next year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44