Fermented Soaked Oats: Easy, Healthy and FlavorfulsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago


Image source

If you like fermented foods and you like oatmeal. You will love the the rich flavour of fermented oats. The oats are not mushy, they cook quickly (you basically just warm it up) and the sour, yeasty flavour and aroma will be instantly recognizable by frequent fermenters.

If you are new to fermenting foods, this would be a great place to start because of the simplicity of the process.

Why ferment your oats? It improves digestiblily and adds probiotics (beneficial bacteria) to your gut.

Ingredients

2 cups rolled oats
2 1/2 cups filtered water

IMG_0748.JPG

Directions

Add the oats and water into a jar preferably with wide mouth.

IMG_0750.JPG

IMG_0752.JPG

Now to cover the lid with a breathable material and place the jar in a spot out of direct sunlight. (This coffee filter works great!)

Let the oatmeal sit for the next 2 - 3 days, stirring daily. (the oats will absorb all the water)

Note: If you go too long, you may see a yeasty film on top, experience a slimy texture or end up with a super cheesy aroma, so if you’re going to push it to the 3 day mark check often and continue to stir daily.

If your house is crazy hot, you may want to do a 24 - 48 hour ferment.

IMG_0753.JPG

Take notice of the changing texture and aroma of the oats

Day 1: First stir
IMG_0780.JPG

IMG_0783.JPG

Day 2: Second Stir

IMG_0784.JPG

Day 3: Ready to eat!

IMG_0792.JPG

When you’re ready to cook your oats, remove about 3/4 and cook them how you normally would.

IMG_0793.JPG

Serve with whatever you want, dried fruit, berries, raisins, bananas, nuts, maple syrup. Or you could head down the savory route and try some herbs, soy sauce etc. the sour flavor of the oats will lend itself nicely with either. Experiment!

IMG_0799.JPG

Add your fermented oats to 1 1/4 cups of water and 1 cup of fresh oats (or more or less if you wish, just keeping to the volume ratio of 1 part oats, 1 1/4 parts filtered water, to repeat the process of fermenting oats.

IMG_0794.JPG

IMG_0797.JPG

Check out my last two posts on koffucha (coffee kombucha) a fermented coffee beverage.

IMG_0721.JPG

How to do a Koffucha (coffee kombucha) brew

IMG_0787.JPG

Coffee with a probiotic twist: My Koffucha brew update

#fermentedfoods #probiotics #guthealth #oats #ferments #healthfoods #tasty #delicious #foodalternatives #culturedfood #health

Sort:  

Congratulations @venomnymous! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really like your pictures, what a great content and quality @venomnymous
Please up-vote and follow me @hatimbenya
Thank you

You're welcome @venomnymous really advised me these information
Please follow me @hatimbenya

Love your health-minded post! I am going to try it this week! following, upvoted and @originalworks
@dakini5d

The @OriginalWorks BETA V2 bot has upvoted(0.5%) and checked this post!
Some similarity seems to be present here:
http://phickle.com/soak-those-oats-fermented-oatmeal-is-better-than-your-oatmeal/
This is an early BETA version. If you cited this source, then ignore this message! Reply if you feel this is an error.

Well thank you! Glad you liked it.

Amazing!! I've been making my own sourdoughs and (milk and water) kefir and just recently started fermenting veggies. Put up a post about just few hours ago actually :). And sure I've been soaking my breakfast oats for at least the night before. But fermenting them is new for me and I'm going to start it now!! Lol. Great timing for finding your post, I'm psyched about fermenting these days ;). Any other fermentation tips? Thanks!!

Awesome! Yeah I linked my recent posts on koffucha in this post. It's a fermented coffee beverage that follows the same processes of making kombucha.

I'll be making more fermenting posts in the future for sure.

Thanks for the comment. I'll definitely check out your post in little bit.

Cool! I actually really like my coffee as it is now haha. But will definitely check out the post and who knows, might give it a try! :)

Ah got it. Yeah it's a different taste from regular coffee for sure.

I eat twice per day @venomnymous

I eat in the morning before going to the gym, also in the night before sleeping
Check out my profile Upvote my introducing myself post if you like @achrafbenz
Im new in our lovely steemit community

Right on. Your gut must be quite happy lol I'll check it out, thanks.

Dude you and i should talk. Id love to pick your brain about different curing and fermentation practices

For sure. Pick away anytime.

Do you think that you could recreate "Atomic Frog Balls" Black Sheep Gourmet Foods makes them.

Ok I found the recipe. Sounds pretty simple. If I ever see organic Brussels sprouts for a decent price I'll try it out.

Do you think its possible to lacto ferment it instead of quick pickling it?

I can't see why not. Should work.

Meem delecious thanks for infomration

You're welcome! 😀

Excellent post!!!! Great work!! :)

Congratulations @venomnymous! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post I've only been leaving my overnight I will try for longer. Would it work if I didn't use a breathable cover?

Thank you. Yes, It should be fine without a breathable cover.

Right on, I will have to leave mine longer then. I did a post about my porridge a week on and I use a jar with its lid. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78