100k Homestead Challenge!!

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Homesteaders! Steemers! Community folk who love a good challenge!

As some of you may already know, my hubby and I are taking the initial steps to building our off-grid self-sufficient Homestead. We live in the suburbs currently, but are already brainstorming, saving, selling, reading, learning, fermenting, sprouting, drying, growing, planning, preserving and minimizing. Our suburban lease ends in 8 months. As we are currently evaluating our next steps, I was considering the importance of community and how incredibly knowledgeable you all are. I just got done watching @mountainjewel post on harvesting their humanure, and a wave of the brain hit me. Who knew composting poop could be so inspiring!

The best way to learn is through personal experience... Getting out and doing the thing, whatever it is. So I thought, what better way than to ask my fellow rural and urban homesteaders who have the firsthand knowledge and experience, as we do more first hand as we can at our suburban 'stead.

So?

A challenge! Of course!

Here is the question for all you gorgeous inspiring growing homesteaders, who now have the benefit of hindsight 20/20 vision. 😉

If you could start your Homestead over, completely from scratch, and you had a hypothetical budget of 100k US dollars in your pocket, how would you plan and prioritize?

Some things to consider. I understand that 100k seems like a lot to some (and maybe not enough to others, all things relative, I mostly picked it as an eye catching round number), but you still have to purchase land, and are starting from Ground Zero, with little more than books on permaculture and composting in your go bag.
Let's also say you are in a moderate temperate climate, where 4 seasons are experienced and rainfall is decently ample.

What kind of priorities would you have or reconsider?
What kind of power would you use?
In what ways would you use this nest egg first?
How would you do your planning again, if you had the option?

PicsArt_11-14-11.09.30.jpg

I only ask that if you participate in this challenge, please use the tag #100khomesteadchallenge so that I can find you!

I am a Steemit plankton still, so I do not have much to offer for the challenge winner, but I can offer 1 SBD and a resteem (like I said, you've probably never challenged for less, but I will give you all I can offer)!
Maybe this challenge could be seen more as a community effort to help the homesteading noob collective than a steem earning opp. I'm hoping!

I would appreciate any help, even just a resteem of this challenge post!

UPDATE
@goldendawne has agreed to sponsor our #100khomesteadchallenge! She has donated 2 SBD to the winning pot, making a total of 3 SBD for us to give away!

We will also be putting together a post to include all entries when we announce the challenge winner. Results will be determined in a week from today, November 22nd 2018. Good luck everyone and thanks for your contributions!

Steem on, and live life close to the Earth. Peace.

Xx ToL

Photo cred: http://www.friendsofhomestead.com/

And some @mountainjewel cred:
https://steemit.com/dtube/@mountainjewel/v29qwr7z

Sort:  

A very good challenge! My wife and I are still in the planning stages also, but I anticipate seeing some interesting ideas from folks who respond.

Awesome! It's so much to think about, it's hard for us to figure out where to start. I am hoping that a lot of people can learn from this challenge. 😊
Checking out your stuff too @industriousliv!

Thanks! I have not been on the platform for a few months so I have some catching up to do.

You got a 47.06% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @industriousliv! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

You got a 47.14% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @industriousliv! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

I'd like to donate to this challenge!!!! Is that possible?

What a wonderful attitude, it is refreshing!

Thats awesome @goldendawne... its a great challenge!!!!

Hi @goldendawne thanks for the support and resteem!
I am still a little unfamiliar with steemit so I'm not sure how to go about that but am open to suggestions! Thank you for the offer, that's lovely.
Ps started following you! Love your content!

Oh it's super easy!
I can donate some steem to the winner(s).
So if you have the winnings being 1-sbd to the winner, I can donate some steem.

Are you on Discord?
Find me there- goldendawne#7044 and send me a message- I'd LOVE to donate for this awesome contest!

Fantastic, I am on discord and will head over now! 😁🙏

Oh great challenge! I've been at this for about 30 years and I've definitely got some ideas of what I would do differently. I'll pull all my ideas together and put together a post for your challenge.

Awesome, thanks @porters, really looking forward to seeing this challenge play out!

UPDATE
@goldendawne has agreed to sponsor our #100khomesteadchallenge! She has donated 2 SBD to the winning pot, making a total of 3 SBD for us to give away!

We will also be putting together a post to include all entries when we announce the challenge winner. Results will be determined in a week from today, November 22nd 2018. Good luck everyone and thanks for your contributions!

I'm really looking forward to this. Great idea! What would be done differently from the first time - you will learn from other people's mistakes., taking experiential learning to the next level.

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Love the whole idea. Retired 2 years ago and have been planning and executing our ideas for the past 40 years, the day we bought our property. Have done many things right , but would change some things.

Will resteem as you have requested and am more than happy to share, looking for nothing more than to help a fellow Steemian.

Good Luck! Since I have moved to our homestead, it feels like Christmas morning every morning I wake up, my cheeks hurt from constantly grinning.

That's a beautiful thought @thebigsweed 😊

Thank you for the resteem, and very much looking forward to learning more!
My hope is others who are still learning and planning like myself will also benefit from this challenge!

what a great question! i love it!! we will think on it and make an entry ;)

Awesome, looking forward to it! Thanks for the resteem 😊🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74