Time To Make The Syrup, Tapping Trees and Boiling Sap

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Time to make the maple syrup, tapping trees and boiling sap. This is our first year trying to make maple syrup so everything we know so far has been learned from youtube university. We got a few supplies for Christmas and off we go. We have a total of 15 taps in now and have already started doing some boiling.
Thanks for stopping by!

Our Amazon Wishlist https://www.amazon.com/hz/wishlist/ls/DNTJLI6PVED0/ref=nav_wishlist_lists_2?_encoding=UTF8&type=wishlist

If your interested in what gear I'm using and what books about farming and homesteading I enjoy: Kit: https://kit.com/thecitystead

Follow us on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thecitystead
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thecitystead/
Follow us on Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/106218337034478212165
Follow us on Steemit: https://steemit.com/@thecitystead
Email us: [email protected]

Places I get my seeds from:
I save some from my own plants
https://migardener.com/
https://www.ufseeds.com/
https://www.rareseeds.com/
https://onegreenworld.com/product-category/seeds/vegetables/

Link where you can find awesome shirts and help support a young couple that wants to get more into homesteading https://www.cafepress.com/makeamericagrowagain

#thecitystead #howtotapmapletree #maplesyrup #homestead #garden #gardening #farm #urbanfarm #urbangarden

Sort:  

Pardon my ignorance. but in my country we do not use that syrup. in fact really, I do not know what it is for. Could you tell me what uses the syrup has?

btw, I really liked the video.

Thanks, the sap after boiled down makes maple syrup which we use on things like pancakes and waffles. I like it on breakfast meats also.

Hi @thecitystead,

Fun video, I always thought it was much more difficult to do this. Glad to see it can actually be so easy.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12-18 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com . This personal addition to my article is always one of my favorite parts.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)

Hi thecitystead,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @thecitystead! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I enjoyed watching your video on tapping trees. I would have never know the method of doing this. Like making the hole on the southwest side of the tree, over a root, and making the drill at an upward angle. It was interesting to see how the sap is collected and the neat bag and tap setup. And the blue bags instead of clear used to protect the sap from the sun. It doesn't look like the bags are very securely fastened to the trees though - in a high wind or storm do they get blown off? Also I was completely surprised that the sap was so thin and clear. From all those years of seeing bottled maple syrup I just imagined it would be brown and thick! Guess that the processing of it that turns it into syrup.
I was wondering what effect it has on the trees to drain their sap like that. Is there a limit to how long you can tap a single tree?

yeah the sap is clear when you boil it down it turns that nice darker color. We havent had any high winds yet but most spile just have a hook lime area either for a bucket or to hook a bag like we did. I know you cant use the same hole for tapping year after year but I dont know how many years you can did it for on the trees. Still pretty new at it and just trying to learn the process

That is quite fascinating and we can learn with you as you go.I had no idea how much sap actually comes out of the Maple trees and it is quite substantial. I take it you are boiling the water out and making it into a thick syrup. If you had 5 gallons how much syrup do you end up with after the boiling process? Is it a small amount or quite a bit?

the standard saying is 40 gallons of sap will boil down to 1 gallon of syrup. It seem that sap from different trees can be slightly different but that is about the ratios for it

Hey, @thecitystead.

Quite the production you've got going there, but I can tell you've done your homework, because even if you're not experienced at it, you at least have a good idea of what to do, and as you go along, you can certainly modify the techniques and equipment used.

I don't know anything about this, but I was under the impression that tapping maple trees was more of a winter thing, though I'm not sure why it couldn't be done anytime, which you are obviously proving it can.

You're the second post I've read today about tapping sap from a tree. The other one is from birch trees. It sounds like they plan to make some sort of a beverage out of theirs. I've asked if they can make syrup out of it too, but haven't heard back.

Congratulations on the curie. This is quite the process, but I think you're doing well with it. Very good video and step by step play by play of what you're doing. You've created your own masterclass on YouTube University. :)

the sap will flow when the weather is cd at night like below freezing, but warmer during the day. I think our season is uausally earlier but this year it was really cold longer than normal

Oh, okay. i hadn't thought about it being colder longer where you are. We've had such a relatively mild winter compared to some previous ones, even though it did get below freezing, I guess I was going off of that, since we've pretty much come out of winter now. I think we can officially call it Spring, anyway. :)

Oh, yeah. Your profiles says you're in Michigan. So, you must have been in that polar vortex or whatever they called it a while back. Sounds like it still may be affecting the weather now.

Well, I learned something. Now all I need are some maple trees, right? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50