You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time To Make The Syrup, Tapping Trees and Boiling Sap

Hey, @thecitystead.

Quite the production you've got going there, but I can tell you've done your homework, because even if you're not experienced at it, you at least have a good idea of what to do, and as you go along, you can certainly modify the techniques and equipment used.

I don't know anything about this, but I was under the impression that tapping maple trees was more of a winter thing, though I'm not sure why it couldn't be done anytime, which you are obviously proving it can.

You're the second post I've read today about tapping sap from a tree. The other one is from birch trees. It sounds like they plan to make some sort of a beverage out of theirs. I've asked if they can make syrup out of it too, but haven't heard back.

Congratulations on the curie. This is quite the process, but I think you're doing well with it. Very good video and step by step play by play of what you're doing. You've created your own masterclass on YouTube University. :)

Sort:  

the sap will flow when the weather is cd at night like below freezing, but warmer during the day. I think our season is uausally earlier but this year it was really cold longer than normal

Oh, okay. i hadn't thought about it being colder longer where you are. We've had such a relatively mild winter compared to some previous ones, even though it did get below freezing, I guess I was going off of that, since we've pretty much come out of winter now. I think we can officially call it Spring, anyway. :)

Oh, yeah. Your profiles says you're in Michigan. So, you must have been in that polar vortex or whatever they called it a while back. Sounds like it still may be affecting the weather now.

Well, I learned something. Now all I need are some maple trees, right? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49