What I Learned Made Me Reconsider This Critter's Role @ The Homesteadz

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Possum-redux (1).png

Howdy friends! Let's talk about that 'lil critter we've all faced at one time or another, especially if you live south, or in a warmer climate - the Possum, or Opossum as they are formally called. For here, we'll let formalities go and just chat.

I've trapped these critters here in Texas every season of the year, and perhaps you have too in your neck of the woods. And yes, the thought has crossed my mind as I catch/release these little fellas into their new home..."If SHTF, or TEOTWAWKI, then this conniving critter COULD become a PROTEIN SOURCE, a meal in the pot, if need be." I mean, all you have to do is a search that BIG "TUBE" site, and come up with dozen of recipes for Possum Stew, Grilled Possum, Blackened Possum, and such...Mmmmmmm...perhaps?!?!

Thankfully, we're not in that scenario for now, so every one I trap is released to begin a new home at a nearby lake...just FAR enough to never come back!

YES, they ARE a nuisance, burrowing holes, rooting in the soil, eating the garden crops, raising a ruckus with all the animals on the homestead, hissing and rearing those sharp vicious teeth...AND, and not to mention carrying all those nasty diseases....RIGHT?!?!?!

20171210_192730 (2).jpg

Well, I did a little research and found out...not exactly so...

According to Mother Nature Network Feb 11th, 2018, there are 10 things you may, or may not have known about the 'Possum:

  1. Natural immunity. Opossums are mostly immune to rabies, and in fact, they are eight times less likely to carry rabies compared to wild dogs.

  2. Poison control. Opossums have superpowers against snakes. They have partial or total immunity to the venom produced by rattlesnakes, cottonmouths and other pit vipers.

  3. Omnivores galore. Their normal diet consists of carrion, rodents, insects, snails, slugs, birds, eggs, frogs, plants, fruits and grains. They also eat human food, table scraps, dog food and cat food. They have an unusually high need for calcium, which incites them to eat the skeletons of rodents and road kill they consume. They're the sanitation workers of the wild.

  4. Smart critters. Although many people think opossums are not the sharpest knives in the drawer, there are several areas of intelligence in which they soar. For one, they have a remarkable ability to find food and to remember where it is. When tested for the ability to remember where food is, opossums scored better than rats, rabbits, cats, dogs … but not as well as humans. They also can find their way through a maze more quickly than rats and cats.

  5. Pest control. Since their diet allows them to indulge on snails, slugs and beetles, they are a welcome addition to the garden. Opossums also keep rats and cockroaches at bay by competing with them for food. In fact, it’s common for opossums to kill cockroaches and rats if they find them in their territory.

  6. All thumbs. The opossum has opposable "thumbs." The opossum's "thumbs" (called halux) are on its rear feet (so, technically they're toes), and abet the opossum’s formidable climbing skills. Primates and opossums are the only mammals with opposable first toes.

  7. Impressive tails. They have prehensile tails which are adapted for grasping and wrapping around things like tree limbs. The opossum can hang from its tail for short periods of time, but the creature doesn’t sleep hanging from its tail, as some people think. Opossums have been observed carrying bundles of grasses and other materials by looping their tail around them; this conscious control leads many to consider the tail as a fifth appendage, like a hand.

  8. Good pupils. The eyes of the opossum appear black, but what we are seeing are strongly dilated pupil; there is iris around them, it’s just mostly out of sight. The giant pupils are thought to be an adaptation to their nocturnal habits.

  9. Smile! The mouth of an opossum holds an impressive 50 teeth.

  10. Natural defenses. When threatened, opossums run, growl, belch, urinate and defecate. And when all else fails, they “play ‘possum" and act as if they are dead. It is an involuntary response (like fainting) rather than a conscious act. They roll over, become stiff, close their eyes (or stare off into space) and bare their teeth as saliva foams around the mouth and a foul-smelling fluid is secreted from glands. The catatonic state can last for up to four hours, and has proven effective as a deterrent to predators looking for a hot meal.

https://www.mnn.com/earth-matters/animals/stories/10-things-you-didnt-know-about-opossums

OK, SOOOOOO...I can see a benefit on the Homestead from #1, #3, and #5!!!

Perhaps I'll give this little critter a break, and realize there IS a place for him, or them, on the Homestead....

I do know this, the Possum existed on my land before I was there, and after considering the benefits he brings to the table, perhaps I'LL DO A BETTER JOB securing my gardens from ALL predatory and invasive SPECIES of animals AND pests...and secure livestock and pet feed better. After more thought, perhaps the Possum really IS an asset on the Homestead, not a detriment!

If you enjoyed the content of this post or benefited, please don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, Follow, and Comment!

Sort:  

Have you ever heard of possum grapes??? They were a tiny one seeded grape that grew on two trees on my grand dad's property when I was growing up in Texas. By the time I was 25yo, the massive vines had died and I have never seen them since.

They werent much, but as a tree-climbing-kid, they were an enjoyed treat!!

I'd love to find them again and transplant some onto that property for my kids and grand kids.

Peace

Never heard of possum grapes until now!!! Thanks, that's a new one for me and I'll have to research it. Popular around my neck of the woods is wild muscadine and mustang grapes! Ever heard of wild mustang grape jelly? Now that takes me back, my Grandmother used to make jars and jars of that delicious jelly when I was a kiddo. Thanks for your comments @healthy-home !!!

Man! This is a great post that left me playing dead! :-) You should submit it for the Homesteaders Online KB. It’s packed with info on the critter I’d never otherwise known.

Haha! :D Thank you...glad you enjoyed the post. I appreciate the recommendation to submit it

Ha! You don't relocate your catches to Louisiana do you???? These frazzling things drive me crazy when the grapes ripen! Raccoons too. I suppose on account of me raising a natural food for them, namely , muscadines. I think I relocated about forty or more this last fall! Tell ya what, I'll take mine to Mississippi and you head toward New Mexico, maybe we'll get some relief! Here are a couple of last year's catches....I think I should paint a big red X on their butts to be sure they aren't coming back for more!

100_0209.jpg

Thieves
()
Pest

Ha! Oh, I forgot to mention the "nearby lake" I drop them off at is Lake Charles...LOL! Just kidding of course, but yes, a major pest, ESPECIALLY during spring when the joeys are born and everything is scavenging for food! Glad to know I'm not the only one with this issue!

Let me know how the red X's work out, and I promise to take mine west to NM LOL

Thanks for your comment!

You forgot they are edible in an emergency.

I have a deal with them around here. As long as they do not set foot inside the fence where my animals are, they live. If they come inside the fence so they can attack my animals, (the dogs are just doing their jobs and they will corner them), they have to go. Luckily, only two in 11 years have been brave enough to come inside the fence.

Ah, wise words indeed. YES...an emergency food source!!! I've seen many online recipes for possum, some that actually look pretty edible. Of course, we all know ANYTHING can be made tasty with enough spices, ketchup, and BBQ sauce!
Unlucky for those two..but sounds like the wise ones have learned to stay outside "the wire"...

Thanks for stopping by, I sincerely appreciate your comments!!! :D

Marsupials are so cool! I know a lot about animals but I learned some new things here such as them having opposable back thumbs cool!! I wish we had them up here in Canada. Thanks for passing on the positive about this lovely creature ^_^

Thank you @wisewoof ! I appreciate your comments, and glad you learned some new things about possums! One of my goals here is to bring topics to discussion that are somewhat gritty, perhaps overlooked, but all beneficial to our wonderful homesteading community on Steemit. :D

Followed you ^_^

Thank you!! :-)

I would definitely eat some of those if I was hungry enough. I had some trouble with groundhogs eating my garden, and got a Havahart trap like yours. All I caught though were a couple of Raccoons. Well, maybe the same one twice. The second night the thing turned into a WereRaccoon. It was really angry and mean. I opened the door and ran.

Haha!!! Thats a great story @binaryflat ! I dont have to deal with groundhogs here....fortunately...but I have plenty of other critters and pests that like to devote my plants. I agree with you...I'll eat a possum if its comes down to that lol

Keep up the good fight Buddy!

well crap my dogs eat em and armadillos too... as soon as they hear anything moving on my little farm they are on the hunt... but i also hate them eating my eggs and grabbing a chicken once in a while...

They can sure be a pest...especially when they affect your food supply/production. Sounds like you have some good dogs there too! Thanks for your comment @derekfreeman !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58216.77
ETH 3142.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23