What are the Benefits of Grapevine Sap?

in #homesteading6 years ago

I study at the School of Life

Everyday I learn something. Weather it's a new technology, a new concept, or something about growing food or medicine, I try to always be learning SOMETHING.

Today, let's see what Grapevine Sap is all about!

Source


I wrote about managing time spent in front of a screen to be more productive. Well, this is one of those times...

Learning is like a passion, I can't ever get enough of it.

Today while reading through the comments of a post by @Papa-pepper, I read something about Grape Vine Sap... intriguing I thought. As we are slowly clearing land (by hand for now) for No Man's Land, I keep thinking about all those wild grape vines we cut and the many more there are, tangling up the trees I want to save!

Steem line 2.png

What the heck can we do with grapevine sap???

The comment that prompted my question came from @tecnosgirl, whose motto is "Never stop learning, always be a student". (I though it was a funny coincidence, since I'm writing right now about "always learning something" and saw this excellent motto when I went over to the post in question, to get the proper spelling of @tecnosgirl!)

...but before we get rid of the grapevines I am gonna harvest the sap.

I had to find out... I like to do the research, sometimes it takes too long to wait for a reply. Maybe I'm just a little impatient when it comes to learning something new!

Thank you @tecnogirl for the drive to chase some knowledge!

Not a grapvine... but the way the sap comes out of a branch looks just like it, though less sticky. Source


This is what I got from the first web site in my search:

Freshly pruned grape vines have amazing antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory and astringent properties. Source

Tears of Grape Vines
Great name right?

Apparently it was thought to have magical properties that would heal all sorts of things back in the day...

Here are some of the known benefits and properties today:

  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Antimicrobial
  • Antioxidant
  • Antiseptic
  • Astringent
  • Diuretic

According to Botanical-Online this grape vine sap is ine of thr most important eye drops. It can be used to treat Pink Eye or Conjunctivitis.

Applying a little water extracted from grapevine tender branches will help reduce inflammation and heal the itching or pain. (Apply a drop right out of the plant in form of eye drops... Do not store the liquid, it can become spoilt. It must be used immidiately.)

All of this means that it can help with acne, cleaning up the liver, improving kidney functions, swelling of the eyelids, pink eye, styes, the production of melanin, preserving skin health...

Seems like there is quite a lot of benefits!!!

Please don't take my word on all this, do more research and ask your doctor. I have only looked at a couple websites to research this interesting medicine which is in abundance across our future Homestead.

If you look a little, you can find wild grapevines everywhere... I can get you a better photo this weekend if I remember. We are constantly cutting these vines out of the way!

How do you bottle the stuff?

Apparently it's really simple and easy: Just tie a glass bottle on the dripping vine and let it fill up. Or like suggested above, use it straight from the source like eye drops! I like that way of doing it.

Thank you for reading and learning with me!

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at my Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @stranniksenya
After all, a dream will remain a dream, if you do not start doing anything.

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

Big-big like! I love grapevine, and the juice made from that. Very rarely, i drink vine but just when we celebrate holidays. We have some resistant grapevines, named "Izabella" in the garden, they will have very fragrant saps in the autumn.

Very rarely drink "vine"... for celebration!!!

This grape vine sap thing is very new to me, I literally only heard of it hours before writing that post.

As for resilient vines, I have cut some really massive vines off the trees that seem lile they're being chocked.

I heard you can graft wild grape with a grape of your choice, do ypu know if that's true?

cool dude! i was on a walk in our forest the other day looking for morels and i saw this orange oozy sap on a huge grapevine ini had cut in half while clearing land. i researched it and it was actually a yeast growing on the sap, but i also came across some of these health benefits. didn't try hanging a cup on it yet though haha. if you do, i'm curious to hear how you like it :)

Nice to see you here... I was just reading your Miner's Lettuce post!

So it was a yeast on the grapevine? Oh it was growing on the sap. What kind of benefits did that have?

I sure will let you know about it, though I am going to research a bit more before trying anything on myself! I do like the bit where you could use a young branche like eye drops.

dont think the yeast had any benefits lol but it sure looked crazy! i didn't feel attracted to eating it, but it was a huuuge vine like the size of a calf (like on a leg not a cow haha).. it is cool stuff and so much to learn!!

Lol, to the calf!
Oh my god so much to learn...! It all seems a little daunting but it's very exciting at the same time.

Just a few weeks left 'till our move the first week of june...😃

yaaay!!! safe travels and an easy move to you :))

Thanks. We get our bigger RV this saturday to live in till we build sonething Natural!!! Shit is gettin real for us... the dream is coming true!

Thank You @senorcoconut for your quality Benefits of Grapevine Sap post - It has been featured in the @offgrid-online Weekly Review curation :)

Thank you for what you do, it's very much appreciated!!! I went ahead and re-steemed the review @offgrid-online.

Interesting. I actually have a few hardy grapes that I managed to overwinter, so I may have access to grape vines this year. They are still really small though.

That is awesome. I don't know much about grave vines but we want to train a few vines to grow grape at some point... I heard you can graft like you do apples!

I don't really know much about grapes. The grafting potential is new to me!

Same here very new to me though I have know about it. I will have to experiment soon!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Super interesting. Really makes you appreciate all the knowledge past generations had living closer to nature. They couldn't look this stuff up on the internet haha

Oh god, I know... sometimes I wonder if we lost all this digital easy access information, di I have enough knowledge to survive. I know I will survive, even in a Mad Max situation, but still it's nice to have it all at our fingertips!

Thanks for sharing

You're welcome, it's my pleasure. I love this kind of stuff so when I learn something new, I like to share it too!

Amazing post! I love it. Checkout my new post: http://bit.ly/upmyvoteand and let me know if you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15