Pork Lard For Cooking, Frying and Baking, Rendered from Pork Back Fat

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I was lucky enough to trade some lamb for some pork from my friend's homestead. They raised 2 pigs last year, sold some and had some leftover to trade. Lucky for me they wanted to try some lamb. I ended up with some nice pieces as well as some organ meat, 2 heads and quite a bit of fat that no one else wanted... yay!

Having wanted to try making lard for a while now, I was recently inspired by @arcticgarden's post on curing bacon and rendering lard who made it look easy. Turns out with a little patience, it is quite easy!

I've never rendered lard or cooked with lard, so this was an entertaining and quite successful experiment.

Here's what 5.8 lbs of pork back fat looks like.

IMG_20171222_131810.jpg

Thanks to some guidance from The Encyclopedia of Country Living I cubed up the fat into small chunks, roughly 1".

IMG_20171222_132746.jpg

Into the pot they went.

IMG_20171222_133732.jpg

And placed on the back of the wood stove on top of an iron trivet for rendering. The trivet raises it up to keep it from getting too hot. I liked using the wood stove because it's already burning much of the day this time of year. You can also use an oven or crock pot on a low setting.

IMG_20171222_134013.jpg

The fat begins to melt.

IMG_20171222_220039.jpg

Stirring once in a while to get even cooking. The pieces on the bottom melt and brown faster.

IMG_20171223_215107.jpg

This is pretty close to where I took it off the heat. I was worried about going much further because it was starting to brown quite a bit. I had read that you can turn the lard more porky in flavor and eventually bitter if it's overcooked. In retrospect I think I could have gone just a little longer because some pieces had more "juice" left in them.

IMG_20171224_103500.jpg

Using an old piece of cotton tshirt that is worn thin and a metal strainer the lard was strained and let sit to drip.

IMG_20171224_104325.jpg

IMG_20171224_104334.jpg

This is what it looks like in the bowl it was strained into.

IMG_20171224_111620.jpg

And then poured off into jars.

IMG_20171224_112512.jpg

I was surprised at how white it turned once it solidified! Not bad.

IMG_20171225_104750.jpg

Meanwhile I put the pieces of fat back into a cast iron pan and fried them some more to see if I could get some crispy pieces of fat.

IMG_20171224_142418.jpg

I strained off more fat and got this bit which was darker and more pork flavor and smell. I'll save it for cooking when I don't mind a little extra flavor. In retrospect I could have put these pork fat back on the trivet instead of frying them.

IMG_20171229_112128.jpg

After straining off the lard I fried the fat bits again to try to crisp them up. They got darker but not crisper. They are fun to eat as little tasty snacks or adding onto some dishes for flavor but I don't find myself craving them as much as I thought I would. I think if there were more meat or skin on the fat they would have crisped up nicely. This just tells me I probably could have rendered more lard out of these pieces.

I might even try cutting the pieces smaller next time to see if it melts faster and gets more lard out of the fat quicker or more completely before they get too brown.

5.8 lbs of fat yielded roughly 2.25 quarts of lard or 9 cups.

_

So far we tried baking sugar cookies with 1/2 lard 1/2 butter, waffles, cooking popcorn and frying veggies in the lard. Everything turned out wonderful. The cookie batter had some slightest pork flavor and smell but after it was baked there was no trace of that at all, leaving pure yumminess.

Interestingly enough it seems that things tend to cook faster in lard than in oil or butter. The popcorn starts popping faster and burns easier if not careful, and the cookies cook faster, so keep that in mind in case you have similar results.

Next up to try are baking biscuits and pie crust with pork lard.

And when I get a chance I'll try rendering some tallow from the sheep fat that I have in my freezer and make a post on that.

Sort:  

This post gets the #healthy-home seal of approval.

(Why did you have to go and make me hungry?)

Wow cool! What an honor :)

smart move letting the wood stove do double-duty!

thanks for the good step by step instructions, and the tips about stuff cooking faster. this goes onto our list of "to do" for next fall & winter!

I'm glad this post could inspire your future project :)

Wow .... As it is very delicious ..... but we can not eat it .... but you provide a remarkable recipe once .. very complete my brother .. @sagescrub

Your welcome brother

Hey bud we mentioned you in our interview: we appreciate you and wanted you to know <3

https://steemit.com/humansofsteemit/@humansofsteemit/22-humans-of-steemit-mountainjewel-a-couple-creating-a-conscious-community

@mountainjewel, thank you! I feel the same and am glad to have such awesome permie friends on steemit living true to their ethics and sharing their knowledge and trials for everyone to be inspired and learn from. Beautiful interview... btw did you both end up eating the worms? LOL

Hahaha yes we did ;) <3 our first meeting lol!! Xo

Wow! soo... how did it taste?

Haha slightly tinny and metallic ;)

Nice. It doesn't seem to hard a process...

Nope totally worth it! Making butter on the other hand, I'm not 100% sold :P

I made butter once in high school (we lived in the woods as if we were colonials for a few days)... I totally put it aside out of my memory, all I remember is each one of us taking turns most of the day beating the butter!

LOL I took the easy way out and used a food processor to beat the milk in batches. Although I did make butter once in grade school by shaking a jar. So I feel ya!

Nice!
Did you know lard makes the best lotion ever!
I generally try and use the lightest lard, but any will do. Melt it with beeswax and mix in the essential oils of your choice for smell and such. Truly the best lotion ever. Nothing I make or buy comes close.

I need to find some beeswax so I can try this!

You do! :D
If you dont have beeswax, you can do it without. The beeswax just helps maintain the creamy texture and keeps it stable, (no melting, etc.) But in the winter, you dont have to worry as much.
I make it in batches in coffee mugs. ( I have too many mugs and this is a great use for them!) I have one in my bedroom and in each bathroom, haha. I might have to make a post about this... I dont really measure though. I have neighbors who ask for this lotion from me because it is the best ever, and one lady gave some to her mom, (not tellingher what it was made of), and now her mom and sister are asking to buy some from me, haha!

Yes please! I'd like to read that post!

Strange question I guess but is pork fat the only kind that makes lard?

Haha, Ill have to do it one of these days.
Yes, only pork fat makes lard. Another good fat for lotion is tallow, which is beef fat. I used to make lotions with coconut oil and such, but they never really got the job done. Turns out, animal-fat based lotions actually do work better because the fatty acids in them are closer to what is produced by our own skin, (rather than plant based fatty acids), and so are absorbed better.
I have a free source of pig fat, (neighbors raise a couple hogs a year for meat and do not use any of the fat!!), so that's what I use all the time. If I had a source of free beef fat, I might try and make both and see what works best. It'd be an interesting experiment!

I see!! I wonder how well chicken fat would work. My extended family raises chickens.

I bet it would moisturize quite well. My problem with chicken fat is it smells like chicken. :/
At least with the pork, you can take the early, clearest fat and it wont smell too porky, essential oils will cover it up.
With the chicken fat, at least, in my experience, it comes out quite yellow and smelling very chickeny. But I bet it would work just fine...

No I did not know that! But I did notice that as I worked with the fat my hands were so well greased. It made me wonder how the lard would work as a salve, and I remembered reading that some people used to infuse herbs into lard and use that as their salves. I am curious to try some lard in my herb infused olive oils now, especially considering your advice!

Haha glad to help!
I thought it would end up being too greasy as a lotion, but it actually wasnt. You only need to use a little bit at a time and you stay moisturized. If it ends up being too greasy feeling for you, you can always substitute part of the lard for something else,like coconut, olive, avocado, or other oils. Its fun to play around with. I have not tried infusing herbs into my salves, but I think I should try that. Laziness I guess. Its just easier to drip in essential oils at the end, but you know, I bet the herbs are pretty great and beneficial in there. Ill have to try it!

This is great info, thanks @squishysquid! Do you find you need to use a separate pot that's not used for cooking when you are working with bees wax? I was thinking of logistics, I might even trying pouring oil into seperate containers on my wood stove and then mixing in bees wax and/or lard rather than making it all up in a pot.

I think it just depends on what all you are mixing together. I generally make my lotions with things that are edible, so I dont worry about cross contamination. Beeswax IS hard to wash off, but I generally just wipe out the pan when it is hot and that's it. If we eat some beeswax residue, it doesnt hurt anything.
Most of the time, I am making the lotion for our personal use, so I mix it directly in coffee mugs, (dont know if you read all the comments above, but I have too many of these, and they make a good size container that is not easy to tip). Im sure it's not recommended to use them this way, but what I do is place the mug onto the warming burner on the stove, add in beeswax and let that melt, then fill it up with lard, let that melt and mix it up real good. Then I remove from the heat. After it cools some, but before it solidifies, I add in essential oils. Then I usually stick it in the fridge since I dont want to wait all day for it to slowly cool off and solidify. We run through so much lotion that I just leave it out in a mug for people to use.
When I make it for other people, I basically do the same thing, but I make it in a little stainless steel pot instead, and when its done I pour it into cute little jars.

Wow fantastic! That all makes so much sense and very practical. Most of the salves I make would be edible as well and I like that reasoning. I also like the option of making it right in the final containers on a low heat.. I was thinking something similar. I may try both. Thanks for the inspiration and wisdom :)

Haha no prob!
I enjoyed your post as well!
Reminds me, I have a trash bag of unrendered pig fat in my freezer that needs taken care of.... Ugh!
Its been over a year since I had to lardify any, so the refresher was needed!
Happy new year!

Happy new year! How lucky to have all that fat waiting for you :)

Beautiful man! Great trade!!

Yum. Great post. We haven't done it in such a large quantity but when we buy bacon to use in the business we always end up with lots of rind. By slow baking until it's sweated out lots of oil it then gets fast grilled till we get bacon crisp and lard to use in our home kitchen.
IMG_5960.JPG

Oh yumm!! Thanks for this delicious picture. What a nice way to use your "leftovers" haha!

This post has gone into my Bookmarks.
Thanks.

So, I took a look at @arcticgarden’s page and decided to follow. Thanks for the lead on that.
I don’t know why I’ve always thought there was so much to rendering lard. But I’ve never really looked into it, just sounds complicated I guess. :\ Anyway, it looks simple enough for me to try!
I’m glad you thought to add in the bit about cooking time. I’d probably have burned a few things before it occured to me it was the lard. Lol

Yeah, it's totally worth trying if you do decide to! Not very hard at all :) Just takes a little patience since it doesn't melt fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56