Curing bacon and rendering lard!

in #homesteading7 years ago

This is just silly. I got so many things that I want to do a post about that I don't get any posts done at all! I'm only confusing myself and then I give up. So I'm just gonna write about one thing at a time. Not confusing myself.
And I have coffee.

I went to the butcher on monday, it's as local as it can be around here. My daughter had an appointment for checking her eyes at the hospital and the butcher also has a small shop in the same town. So I came home with a big piece of porkbelly, bones from reindeer, porkfat and leaf lard from cow. My goal was to cure bacon, make bone broth and render lard.

I started with rendering the fat.
20171128_142206.jpg

I ended up with about 7 jars, I chose to use small jars, 1/4 litres. I did it in a waterbath to avoid burning it. The fat from the cow was a bit smelly, I haven't tried using it yet so I don't know if it's going to taste anything. I put them in my freezer and kept one of each to try in the fridge.

20171128_140331.jpg

I like the idea of using as much as I can when it's available to us. I use butter, olive oil and coconut oil, but I can't make any of it myself like I can do lard. We need to figure out which one we like the most and then I can get more fat from the butcher. I got the pork and the bones at a very low price, the pork was cut the same day so it hadn't even been frozen.

I ended up getting the whole family involved in making the bacon. I started to cure two bigger pieces of pork, using only salt and sugar. I was reminded about turning it at breakfast already, but I don't need to until later tonight.
Please do not think that I know for a fact that it's going to be safe to do that. I read up on a few curing methods and I made the decision to use only salt and sugar after reading and having a talk with both my hubby and my mum. If you want to cure bacon, please research and decide for yourself.
I learned about this method from a video on youtube, with Guildbrook Farm and Grass-fed homestead.

20171128_183253.jpg

We use similar methods for fish so I figured if the fish doesn't spoil then the meat isn't going to either. If it would start to smell, I'll know that it's going bad. Once it's cured I'm gonna cut it and freeze it. We've talked about building a smokehouse, but that isn't going to happen before the summer anyway.
The reindeer bones I got are still left untouched, I got a really bad cold so if I'm up for it I'll make a big batch of bone broth and soup later this week.

I also discovered that I got over 200 followers! That makes me so happy! Thank you for following me!

Until next time, be well.
//S

Sort:  

Very inspiring! I have 1 1/2 gallons sheep fat in my freezer that I need to render and plan to trade some meat for pig fat to make lard this winter for the first time. How did you end up straining the cracklins from the lard?

Sheep fat, please tell me how that turns out! I used half a t-shirt on top of a strainer, but I ended up throwing it away because I couldn't get the fat off it. I'll probably use some scrap fabric similar to cotton next time because I ended up losing a cheese cloth this time.

So I got around to trying rendering pork lard using your cotton method and it worked great! https://steemit.com/homesteading/@sagescrub/pork-lard-for-cooking-frying-and-baking-rendered-from-pork-back-fat

Thanks that's helpful to know. Do you think a fine metal strainer would work too or would that let too much through? I've not made sheep tallow but I tasted it and like it, it's quite mild in flavor and color compared to pig lard. I'll definitely keep you posted. As it's getting colder and the wood stove is getting fired up more I'm planning on doing it soon!

You could always try with the strainer, but I think sturdy paper could work too instead of fabric. I would have imagined sheep to taste more, that's interesting.

Yeah the sheep fat is very mild and not "sheepy" in comparison to the meat! Thanks I might try both and see what works best.

OMGosh I was just thinking about making some tallow the other day!
Nothing like it when I make my homemade soap.

So glad to see someone else doing the same thing!

It feels like a good thing to know how to do, rendering fat, but I don't know how to make soap from it!

Once I make tallow, I'll do a post

Home rendered lard is wonderful for home cooking!

I don't know what I'd do without it!

That sounds promising! I'm really hoping that everyone is going to like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52