TAKING A BREAK FROM THE DAILY GRINDsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Often life is lived in pieces, and sometimes you need to switch things up.


I have spent the last few days grinding a lot of stumps down on my land whenever I had the opportunity. However, yesterday afternoon I decided to take a break from the daily grind and see if I could scrape by.

For those of you who don’t know, I’m having some fun with a bit of wordplay there.

TIME TO SCRAPE

While I am not completely done grinding all of the stumps in the driveway, I have enough done to be able to get our shipping container in. To start with, I needed to swap out the stump grinder for an angle blade. Now that the stumps are down far enough, I can scrape the topsoil and debris off to get the driveway reading for road base.


T-shirt worn by @papa-pepper provided by @jacobts


@Mobile-joat, who does a lot of my mechanical work for me, drove by and offered up some advice and help, so we got started.

Once we had the stump grinder off, we had to hook up the scraper. The scraper hooked up to the tractor just fine, but it still needed to be welded to reinforce it.

Although I did get some cool photos of the welding, @mobile-joat was actually getting some real work done and making sure that equipment would be tough enough for me to abuse for a bit.

READY TO GO

Soon, I had the tractor back down on the land with my new tool hooked up and ready to work. I was mostly just getting used to it and testing it out.

It did a good job and handled quite well. I wanted to make a few light passes to try to get the job started. The majority of the work I’ll be doing today, and I already put in some time this morning. Perhaps I’ll even get in some road base before the end of the day!

Yesterday I took Pinky-Pepper and Red-Pepper down with me to the land to work. They had fun riding in the tractor, but they had to do a lot of rock picking too. Those are two tough girls that we are raising there, and they can be some really hard workers. Yesterday I worked them long and hard… perhaps too long and too hard…

Just look at that! Red-pepper asleep on the job! You can get fired for that some places! Of course, you would probably need to be older than five and actually getting paid, but still!

Pinky-Pepper and @papa-pepper did take a few funny photos of Red-Pepper sleeping, but we let her enjoy her nap for a bit. Obviously, we have our work cut out for us, but a family that works together gets a lot done!


THANKS GIRLS!

I could not have done it all on my own!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-taking-a-break-from-the-daily-grind-to-scrape



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

@papa-pepper ..always a hard worker and a true family man... love your quote... "family that works together gets a lot done" which you live up to... a post worthy of my upvotes as always... my regards to your cute ladies Pinky-Pepper and Red-Pepper
keep steeming my man!

Thank you and I am glad that you enjoy it. We do too!

I gave your comment a 100% upvote because it is real, and I enjoy actually interacting with others here. Too many just reply with "nice post" or "follow and upvote me."

Thanks @kenhudoy!

Always welcome @papa-pepper and thanks for the kindness ...you truly a great guy & loving dad too!

Papa-pepper, how much torque does that tractor engine put out?

Honestly, I have NO IDEA, but I could ask later tonight!

I would definitely appreciate that. Thanks.

That's really something and made me think of things I hadn't in a long time. My Dad used to have an old Cat D7 dozer that he cleared land with and there are pics of me and later my little brother often asleep on the bulldozer. Thanks for reminding me of that and you have a beautiful family :)

Really? That is so cool. It is getting a little common for us right now.


Monster Truck the Pepper



Red-Pepper

Yeah, I'll see if I can dig up a pic of him holding one of us on the bulldozer. I seem to remember one pic, where you'll be mind blown at the sideburns he's sporting, I mean, wow. No promises on when, Mom's got those pictures somewhere though, lol.

Having fun with the fam. That's what life is all about. Just beautiful

Thanks mate! We do enjoy our time together, even if we are working!

@transilvania
yeah... life is truly beautiful...

There is nothing like daddy-daughter time working together, it's where great memories are made. I had my daughter building fence, putting metal roof on and even slaughtering hogs, hell she even changes her own oil.
You are going to have strong children Papa! Good work!

Way to raise 'em @jed78. I agree, precious memories with results to last!

YES... You most certainly deserve to take a break AND really like the "Play-on-Words".

Enjoy Your posts more & more and it's REALLY incredible to see how well You & Your wife are raising & teaching Your children... THIS is truly "priceless" for Your children & anyone else that may have children, so they may "learn" a thing or two by the examples of how You are living...

You must be so Proud of Pinky-Pepper and Red-Pepper... and that look of pure innocence of the photo of Red-Pepper sleeping because she worked so hard... again "Priceless" !!

BIG Kudos... Cheers !!

@sacred-agent
love your comment...
@papa-pepper is one guy who values family first... which reminds me of my post on a short story on family versus office where you see people neglect family a lot...
regards

YES... @Papa-Pepper really is a Bright Beacon shining his Light & Love on his Family, STEEMiT Community and am sure, everyone that he meets...

He truly is Inspirational !!

Will look at Your Post You made reference to... Thanks 4 Your kind words.

BIG Kudos ALL=ways... Cheers !!

thanks dear...and keep steeming hot...and hey...do look also into my latest health sleep on sleep deprivation...a good tip!

Thanks Ken will look at Your latest on sleep deprivation, however maybe I didn't look hard enough... can You send me the link for a short story on family versus office where you see people neglect family a lot...

Thank You Ken... Cheers !!

Beep beep. Hi @kenhudoy!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

ok...

What a fun work day with the family!

Oh yeah @hotrod! It sure was!

I love your interaction with your kids , they love going on all different kinds of adventures with you . Sometimes we all need a break and do something different , I actually have a tractor back home in Pakistan and I love driving it in the feilds . Seems like your kids enjoy the tractor as much as you do :D

They all (well the big three) all woke up early just to work with me today! How cool is that?

That's truely a great feeling for fathers , The bond is definetly unbreakable ! I would go on adventures with them everyday :D

Our life is an adventure, and we are enjoying it to the fullest.

I just saw Pinky-Pepper washing my truck a moment ago. First off, I never wash my truck. Secondly, she thought that she would do it just to bless me, all on her own! WOW!

That must have been very adorable !! She probably knows you didn't want to do it so she decided to step forward and help daddy , you have raised them very well

I love puns so I enjoyed your play on words! Keep on keeping on!

Glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you!

@bedoodle i love puns too
great comment dear

What a great day with your kids!

It was. Enjoying another one right now.

@lifes-a-donut
great comment... family matters a lot...

Yes, I agree! My best friend told me, "When your kids ask you to play while your doing your dishes, do it, because your dishes will be there later, your kids will be grown and gone."

ahh...you just reminded me of my post on family versus office... a short story about a kid and his mum...please look it up...!

I will definitely do that! Thanks!

Always welcome!

Great choice. Sure you love it plus my latest health tip...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78