WELDING PHOTOGRAPHY - FEATURING @MOBILE-JOAT

in #photography7 years ago

Curiosity killed the cat, so I am glad I am not a cat.


First off, welding can be dangerous. The heat and the light can do some serious damage if you are not careful. One of the big "DO NOT EVER" actions in welding is looking at the arc without serious eye protection. Of course, I'm curious about what I am missing, so I decided to try some photography of welding.

This is a most difficult task, since you cannot see your camera very well of exactly where it is pointed. (At least I couldn't.) I wound up with some photos that looked like these.

I think that they are pretty artsy and abstract. Perhaps they could even be worth a pretty penny if featured in a gallery somewhere.


This one looks like it could be of two space ships cruising through some space dust in a remote corner of the galaxy.

INSPIRATION!

A friend of mine helped me weld a piece to use the stump grinder on a tractor the other day, and now @mobile-joat did the same so that I could use an angle blade to scrape my driveway.

@Mobile-joat hard at work helping @papa-pepper


After thinking about it the other day, I figured that now was a good chance to try some photos. In the end, I had to sort through almost 200 clicks to cut it down to these, but I really like a lot of them. However the difficulty of taking photos without really seeing what you are looking at was certainly evident, as not every unintentional photo turned out "artsy" or interesting.

Ones like that were common in the photos.

As were some like that. Obviously not every photo taken was a gem, or even worth the look really.

Others, though, turned out amazing, and I am impressed with quite a few. They seem so raw, industrial, maybe even masculine in a way. Many are very nice combinations of several elements too.

The setting was very cool too. A pile of junk and scrap metal for the background, the spark of the welder, the dirty and oily arms of hard working @mobile-joat, the rust of the machine, the smoke rising from the weld. I really enjoyed it!

HERE ARE A FEW STRAIGHT FORWARD SHOTS

These were a couple of my favorite.

I THINK THAT THESE TURNED OUT PRETTY AMAZING TOO!

What do you think?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-the-difficulty-of-welding-photography



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Part of my new job involves welding, it has its hazards , but is as safe as you want to make it. I was tossing around ideas for posts on welding, you beat me to it again!! Lol

Just try to do a better job at a welding post. You have more opportunity! Plus, thanks for making a real comment (as you always do!) I upvoted it at 100% to say thanks and encourage others to do likewise!

Thanks @jed78!

get a lonnnnggg welding mask to protect them awesome whiskers!

Interesting footage of a "dirty oily armed" welder @papa-pepper! 😊 An a great thank you for the featuring article. I am very grateful for the opportunity to help when help is needed and I have a chance to free up from the many projects I have to do. Maybe I don't always leave cool looking space ships flying through space dust but, I do however have a certain satisfaction when the recipient of the work I just completed is grinning from ear to ear! That said I am inclined to believe a featuring article about the work I did feels like a added bonus!!! So before I start a post of my own I better see if I can get someone's vehicle fixed... Lol thank you again!

This proof photo is rejected, how we can say it's you!? Hahahah! You look like an alien with that mask man!
Quite some great shots with the arc effects, wonderful!

Well, @papa-pepper. Curiosity didn't kill the cat this time. Some of the photos are amazing - others not so much. lol I remember a time when someone who was much more knowledgeable told me I wouldn't be able to take good photos looking into the sun. I tried anyway. Some were awful but others were extrodinary. Just goes to show even the experts don't know everything. Keep on taking those photos...

Nice job on taking those photos...

You're welcome

Hi papa-pepper - fantastic pictures, GREAT idea! ... So you have the gear to take some excellent shots of the Solar Eclipse - Will you get a good view from where you're living?

all the best from Costa Rica!

images.png

I was going to do a promo post about that event. We are just a little south of the main area for best visibility, but might actually be in Wisconsin during that time. We will see!

Awesome - I look forward to that!

Welding is a great life skill to have. I like the smoke in your pictures.
I just welded a crack in the water tank at the farm, and just blogged about fixing our bike trailer.

What about us time traveling cats? Are we safe?

Awesome photos! I believe trades is where it's at. I really want to learn welding, and it'd come in handy since I am already a mechanic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56835.87
ETH 2399.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39