A Different Kind of Farmstead in Taos New Mexico

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Taos is one of my favorite destinations, twice we have chosen to vacation in New Mexico-land of enchantment. I just love the bustling art scene, wide open spaces, quaking Aspens, glorious sunsets, snowcapped mountains, and the striking Adobe architecture.

IMG_3210.JPG

IMG_3211.JPG

IMG_3212.JPG

Just a sort distance from Taos, not far from the Rio Grande gorge, you begin to see these unusual structures seemingly rising out of the ground looking oddly like something from outer space. Earthships! Designed to be a totalły off-grid style of living where most of the inhabitants believe in a simple and sustainable lifestyle. Truly living off the land and employing the skills of early pioneers.

IMG_3206.JPG

IMG_3205.JPG

IMG_3204.JPG

For a dwelling to be called an Earthship it should have thermal/solar heating and cooling, generate solar/wind electricity, employ self-contained sewage treatment, be built from natural and/or recycled material, practice water harvesting with long term storage and have food production capability.

IMG_3208.JPG

Earthship design is meant to encompass all aspects of its location by blending into and using the resources of the terrain in a sustainable earth friendly way. Most are built from recycled and discarded items such as tires packed with dirt, rocks, sacks filled soil or gravel, used bottles, and even tin cans melded together by concrete. The outer structure is often covered with an Adobe type plaster.

Taos averages between 7 to 12 inches of rainfall yearly although there is snow during winter months. Water is collected from rain, snow, or condensation that's gravity fed into a cistern for storage. After being used in sinks and showers, the greywater is reclaimed, filtered and used to water gardens.

IMG_3207.JPG

Toilets are usually a dry type or composter type, septic is not a good option in the high desert. Power is generated by either solar or wind turbine or a combination of both then stored in batteries to be converted into power for the home.

Permaculture is the preferred method of utilizing local flora and fauna. Many farmsteaders grow fruits and vegetables in indoor biospaces lined with large windows facing the side exposed to the most sunlight. Greenhouses are used outdoors for growing, the Taos winters can be harsh with many days of below freezing temperatures. Late spring and summer provides the opportunity for growing and maintaining crops outside.

IMG_3215.JPG

Many traditional homesteading arts are practiced and encouraged in this niche society. Classes and instructions are available for acquiring particular skill sets. Some of the more popular are cheese-making, canning, growing a home apothecary, beekeeping and running a small home dairy. Some hardy individuals make money by selling their produce, cheese and honey to area restaurants or in co-ops. Many others live off the land bartering for goods and services.

Earthships are a phenomena incorporated into a specific vision of living life. Deciding to build one or live in one has its advantages, but I'll stick to my style of homesteading. It's fun to visit and somewhat intriguing, but I'm not sure we'd be up to the challenge of starting over quite literalły from scratch.

Sort:  

I've just recently come across this type of all-inclusive lifestyle. Like you, I don't think I could go to this extreme. I do, however, admire and cheer on the folks that can. They're preserving the skills and knowledge that will most likely be the things that allows people to flourish in the future. Rampant consumerism is unsustainable. The earthship approach is anathema to consumerism. I'm betting I know which will win out in the long run...

;~D

I hear you, it's a dream for the young at heart. There are many wonderful aspects to choosing the lifestyle, but I like my little luxuries and having choices.
It's amazing to me how prices keep going up for less product, it can't go on like this forever something's gotta give eventually.🐓

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Beep back at ya. Thanks for the support.🐓

I like that @mother2chicks
if you can visit to my post

What a cool overview of your most excellent travel destination! My grandpa lived in Taos as a child, and I have always wanted to visit. I have dreams about having an adobe house. In fact, years ago before we built our house, I had dreams of a straw bale adobe house. Maybe one day I will still build something like that, I like mud, lol! Thank you so much for sharing, I really enjoyed reading about the earthships!

Thanks @generikat, it's was fun revisiting the memory.
Cool about your grandpa, wonder what interesting people he might have known.
You must visit, Taos is a magical place with lots of interesting history. A must see destination is the Taos Pueblo where the native Americans have continuously resided for over 1,000 years.🐓

Thank-you for having a looksie🐓

Wow, Taos looks great! I knew only about Laos till now. :)

It is a great destination. LOL at Laos!🐓

Laos or Taos? Haha

My ex and i visited the earthship community when they were building the phoenix. We stayed in one i think it was called the hut. I love this kind of living.

It is a pretty inventive lifestyle. Funny how we adapt to our situations. Thanks for stopping by.
I love that red truck too! 🐓🐓

I love this blog and you have captured my thoughts on the subject completely! I have watched a lot of permaculture videos and learned from them, and I have watched videos where people plan these "Earthship" homes out and build them. I really admire them for what they are doing and the lifestyle that they are trying to attain, it truly gives new meaning to the phrase "Simple and down to earth."

But at my age and health status I'm not up for doing something like that, and if I were I would have to get a divorce before initiating such an adventure and change of lifestyle. There is no way that my wife would even contemplate giving up her luxuries voluntarily. 😉

It would be a difficult endeavor for many of us. Definately for younger folks who have their whole lives ahead of them. I'm in your wife's camp, although I do like to fish, and do other unfemale like things.🐓

A very fascinating read. It is truly a great concept - Homesteading . Thank you for creating a much needed awareness :)

Thank you so much. Homesteading has its charm🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38