My Little Free Library

10ce00d3-747b-4f6a-af88-6881acb9db30.jpeg


I live in a neighborhood where many have an income below the poverty level. The school close by has 80% kids whose life reality is just that.
A Little Free Library seemed to be a good idea. I am happy to say that I have many people stop by each day and I get a lot of donations.
The books hardly ever come back and once in awhile, someone takes them all.
But I can always get more...
Do you have a little free library in your neighborhood?


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

in our town, about a dozen around town.
Also, about two blocks away, a little Children's library we went to as a kid.
I just brought over 4 boxes of books for them. Most of the children's books when my girls were little. They each kept what they wanted, and the rest went to the library.

And a box of sci fi paper backs, because, when mom or dad brings the little one there for story hour, or whatever, they need a book, too!

In the beginning, I went and bought books and begged everyone to please donate books to me. Now, I sometimes have to go and pull books out because someone stuffed it too full and the door can't close. I build some benches out of repurposed concrete and wall toppers that were headed for the landfill next to it and many people come and sit :)
This summer, I am going to work on shade.

the one closest to me, in an intersection a couple blocks away, has a large green grassy area, with a bench. The sad part is, that bench is dedicated to the memory of a high school classmate who was on one of the 9/11 planes that hit one of the towers.

I do love the little lending libraries, but that one nearby has tough memories just a bit too close for me to enjoy it.

That would be hard to be reminded every time you go there! For sure.

No but I have been wanting to do one for ages

Maybe this year is your year!! If you go to the website, some people are so creative - using old coolers, refrigerators and all kinds of stuff :)
https://littlefreelibrary.org/

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-02T19:54:39
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 486.05/800.00
Total Photos: 70
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love this. I haven't seen one anywhere in this town. I need to create one.

With your creativity, you can build one in no time!! I wished mine were bigger and have two levels to keep the books better organized. Eventually, I might do a second one - one for kids and one for adults.
https://littlefreelibrary.org/

Get out! I came across not one but 2 of these and was just trying to put a couple of neurons together to post about it. I'll just crash your post instead.
How cool is this idea. I took my little one and we did a book swap!
I love these.
I am hoping to move soon (cross everything for us this week, my one year free write was not fictional), I am definitely putting in one of these. X
IMG20180526142445.jpg

Yes!!!! Fingers crossed for you. And people are doing all kinds of creative designs!

https://littlefreelibrary.org/

Yes!!!! Fingers crossed for you. And people are doing all kinds of creative designs!

https://littlefreelibrary.org/

I put books out in my alley , or in a spot on the painted electric box, since we have so many people in and out of OB. I thought I read somewhere that cities were shutting down these free libraries because they violated something or other. I'm glad yours is still kicking!

I don't see how they can shut them down. It is on private property and if I want to give something away, that should be my right. But the departments of making you sad always find a way to try to control people. Crazy!!!

Our city featured mine on their city instagram :)

Yay! Glad you got some local press ;) and yeah I don't remember the reason, but maybe a year a go I saw an article about how these little boxes were getting shut down. maybe you need another fucking special license to be a library or something ... I swear, some people's whole existence is just a contest in how to be as asinine as possible :(

We have a similar system in our apartment building. Put them on the wall near the letter box, someone takes them, usually me.
I can see how they would do it here, councils love to control and squeeze every last drop. They charge shop keepers rent to put out a sign in the street, out the front of their own shop. I could see them calling it public liability or something similar. Anyway, for now I am going to work towards this in my new hood.

Wait what?! Charging them to put signs out in front of their shops?... What city are you in?

Sydney, nice to visit, expensive to live. It is a local government (council) tax. You hire the square meter in front of the shop. The council's are questionable sometimes, but one main road is was boundary between 2 municipalities. One side had fees the other didn't.
These council members tend to have property interests too.
We have had a housing boom that kept ballooning, didn't burst with the global crisis like most. The council elects have interests in the over supply of apartments which are creating multi million dollar future ghettos that have seen medium density rezoning near most train stations and suburban centres. They we largely intended for Chinese foreign investment, which kept properly purchase a pipe dream for many people.

Like many non portfolio holding, no baby boomers, We are looking elsewhere.

Wow, I got carried away with that response. Incidently, shop leases are much cheaper than residential tenancy. A number of people live unofficially behind their business facade on strips of these older arterials.

Have a great time in Indo. I'm a little jealous x

What a beautiful idea! You are a genius and so kind to think of this!

The minute I found out about them, I wanted one. Books are so important. And I know there are so many kids with no books in their homes. It is one of the principals of permaculture to practice people care :)

I agree! It's a wonderful practice!

What a great idea. I usually donate my books to Savers Thrift Shop. Every donation helps out locate non profit organizations.

Yes, they do. But many thrift stores throw a lot of donations away. And this helps to build up the neighborhood. Otherwise, I donate all I can as well :)

What a fantastic idea! I have so many great books that are collecting dust.

There is a non-profit which shows the locations of everyone who registered with them. I did to support their work, but we build our own library. If you don't want to do one yourself, you can always look for one to donate your books to.

https://littlefreelibrary.org/

I love the free libraries! There's many of them in my neighborhood and it's funny to see which books end up back in other people's libraries. It's also great that, while there is vandalism in my area, these little book houses are never the target.

I had a bit of vandalism going on. The glass was shot out once - I am thinking a kid with a BB gun - I hope. Sometimes, someone takes all fo them. I figure they are selling them and probably need the money. And sometimes, people just throw some into the yard. Why, I have no idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46