BarryTheBee - The Adventures of the Traveling Steemit Bumblebee - Promoting Pollinators

Hi everyone! My name is Barry the Bumblebee!

I am a small (very small) bumblebee with big (very big) dreams! I currently live with my mom @kiaraantonoviche and have adventured around the Wild Rose Acres homestead with her! It’s great! I love being outside among the beautiful trees and flowers… but I know this is just one small plot of land in a huge world!

I had a long talk with @kiaraantonoviche and we’ve agreed I need to spread my wings and see the world! You see, bumblebees like me are becoming endangered! We’ve been losing our homes and suffering from pesticides for a long time now! I want to save my fellow brethren and I need your help!

I want to travel to Steemit homesteads all over in order to promote the importance of bees. Not to toot my own horn but even though we’re small, we’re a pretty big deal! We help pollinate your crops and flowers! These little cherry tomatoes are ripe and delicious thanks to our effort!

So I’ve decided to fly all over the world and visit your homesteads (if you will have me)! I’ll come to you through the mail, we’ll take a few pictures together, share my visit on Steemit, and then I’ll head off to the next homestead with your help!

Of course, I’ll miss my mom and she said she wants to see me again by next year! So whoever I am visiting in September of 2018 will need to send me home! Just message @kiaraantonoviche and you guys can work it out!

What do you say?! I can’t wait to meet you!


A note from Kiara:

Hey guys! Barry the Traveling Steemit Bumblebee is an idea I had for promoting the importance of pollinators while connecting us all in a very tangible way! If you’d like to be a part of his journey, there are a few requirements… so this is how the project works!

  1. I will privately contact a Steemit homesteader and ask if I may send them Barry. If they accept and DM me their address, I’ll ship him to their home!
  2. Once you receive Barry, take him on a tour of your homestead and snap some photos! Don’t forget a verification photo with your username and the date (like the one above)!
  3. Post an article with the photos and tag it #BarrytheBee! This way we can all follow along with his travels!
  4. Privately contact another homesteader that you’d like to send Barry to and verify you have permission! Ship him to the next address!
  5. Follow along with his journey!

Please keep all discussion(s) between you (the sender) and the next person (the receiver) private. This will only work if we all work together!

Barry is a small glass figurine so he should be packaged appropriately. Privately provide tracking information to the receiving party if possible.

I really would like to get him back in a year if possible. This figurine was a gift from my aunt and she’d probably get a kick out of seeing his journey! I’ll be following along so he (hopefully) doesn’t get lost!

Thanks guys! I’ll be contacting one of you soon! ;)


Photography by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.


Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!


Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Click here to see what’s trending on the EcoTrain!  

Sort:  

What a cute idea! This reminds me of the movie Amelie when she mails her dad pictures of his garden gnome on "vacation". I'm curious to see where this goes!

Omgoodness! What a great , and unique, idea to bring pollination concerns to the forefront.

I'd LOVE to participate!!

@originalworks

Hahah You beat me to use the @OriginalWorks :) Cool stuff, lets see where #BarrytheBee is going to be next!

Sorry.... like a gunslinger draw... who'll be first lol

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kiaraantonoviche to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

I already contacted one homestead so if they do not want him, you are next on the list to contact ;)

Great! either way... I am super excited about this 'travel'

@goldendawne I just sent you a message on Slack ;)

Hey @kiaraantonoviche, I shared this post on my last attempt at the Steem Around the World Challenge, since your idea is quite similar: https://steemit.com/challenge/@stortebeker/steem-around-the-world-challenge-where-are-we-going Best of luck with it!

Very cool! Hoping he makes it my way soon. :-)

This is an awesome idea! I'm quite partial to mailing stuff around the world anyway ;-) and promoting the importance of pollinators is something I can get behind.

Amazing idea I will start looking at the tag to see the newer posts. Really cool project. @OriginalWorks Upvoted and Resteemed it. Thanks for this cool idea.

Very cool idea to raise awareness! :)

Barry is just the ticket for my Silicate Squash.

Awesome idea! What a fun/cute way to raise awareness. Bary is so cute

Love this! I am going to write up a piece on companion planting pollinators now due to Barry. #AllHailBarry

Awesome haha! Barry appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81