Growing Sprouts - Easy

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3081.JPG

Even during the cold dark days of winter, you can have fresh crisp and delicious sprouts to use as a topper, a sandwich filler or my favorite, a forager snack.

Depending on how warm you keep your house they can be ready in as little as three days, or if you rely on wood heat like myself, up to 5 days due to the variable temperature. And anyone can do it!

After fumbling around with mason jars and cheese cloth strainers, I finally broke down and ordered a sprouting unit off of Amazon. This has probably been the best $20 (give or take) that I have ever spent! Link to Amazon listing This unit is affordable, compact and efficient! One run yields me about a 1/2 filled gallon freezer bag of fresh sprouts. I love sprouts so much that I ordered a second unit to stagger the harvest so as to always have a fresh supply.

I start with this organic mix -
IMG_2897.JPG

I have found that 2 Tablespoons and 1 Teaspoon is the perfect amount of seeds -
IMG_2899.JPG

Soak your seeds for about 8 hours to start the germination process
IMG_2900.JPG

After straining the seed from the soaking water, evenly distribute the seeds between the 4 sprouting trays. Try to get an even distribution of seeds per tray. Also try to spread them out as evenly as possible on the tray surface. This can be a little frustrating at first but you will find a technique that works for you. I then place the sprouter into my temperature controlled (68f) Live Foods Closet See Post Here for 24hrs. (This step is not required but if you have the option of a temperature controlled room it speeds up the germination process.)

Place in a windowsill
IMG_2902.jpg

You will want to water your seeds a few times a day. The more the merrier but as long as you do it once in the morning and once in the evening, all will be good. The bottom green tray catches the water so be sure to empty that one first. Try to rotate your trays each watering so the the bottom (clear one) becomes the new top tray. This will help even out the water distribution between the trays. As you fill the top (green) tray the water drips down each level by way of little holes in the bottom of each one (except for the bottom green catchment tray). Depending on the temperature of your house and the amount of natural light the sprouts get, you will have a fresh harvest in 3-5 days! ENJOY!

Learn more about me by reading my Introduction Post

Sharing is Caring.png

Sort:  

That little contraption is cool!
I haven't seen one before. I'll have to keep it in mind for my wish list

It makes the process so much easier and such a larger yield for the space!

Good post thanks for share it

yummy yummy sprout sprouts!!! that first picture is IMPRESSIVE - and good for you for snacking on these and not chips or crackers or other bad-for-you foods.

Luckily these are the only things I snack on..... ;) Haha

plus, think of all the plastic that doesn't get created and then immediately disposed of! sure, the bag is plastic, but how many harvests are you getting out of that?

fall goal: seed saving for winter sprouting?

Dozens of harvests per bag! And sounds like a great goal!

This is a great post. I think I need to get me one of those. I think I need to get my mom one of those.

Thank you :) I would recommend it! I have bought a few for gifts as well. The mix I currently have is Alfalfa, Clover, Radish and Broccoli - it can get pretty spicy if you let them mature too long.

Neat contraption! There are so many DIY versions out there but I like trying something new with a tried and true method. In the future you might think about embedding a link for any products you mention so that it's easy for people to find!

I had considered doing a link but wasn't sure if that was good etiquette on here. I was afraid that it would look like I was trying to advertise or promote a certain product...

I don't think so! I've done it a number of times and no one's ever said anything.

Good to know! Thank you!

awesome thanks! I did end up managing to find it but strangely it wasn't right at the top

Congratulations @jonpetrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love micro greens, so easy to grow, and powerful in nutrients!

I love sprouting. I have even done mung beans...the ones that make the typical"bean sprouts" you buy in the store. They wind up a little more hearty than the ones I used to buy. I also love sprouted lentils. They make a great hearty salad if you add some of your favorite veggies and a nice vinaigrette. Great post btw! good to get folks excited about the benefits of sprouting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61739.92
ETH 2432.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65