HELLO STEEMIT COMMUNITY! - MY #INTRODUCTION

IMG_2870.JPG

I am a homesteader whose interests span from the sea to the stars. After a little over two weeks on here I am FINALLY doing my #introduceyouself post. As I was diving into the world of the blockchain I came across Steemit and have been hooked ever since! Good bye wasted time on FB! I am currently writing about homesteading, sharing slices of life from the unique island I call home and periodically sharing other day to day activities, philosophies and photos. Once I gain a following I would like to conduct professional interviews with local individuals, businesses and municipalities who are taking an active stance in the works of conservation and sustainability.

IMG_1659.JPG
Such a great feeling to have your wood put up for the season!

About a year ago I embarked on one of the most challenging endeavors of my life; I ran for and was elected to a local office – one that can have great influence over our local environment – one of the pillars of my platform was sustainability and exploring the feasibility of a large solar energy project. I stopped being a spectator and I shed a comfortable veil of anonymity and presented myself to the public as a person who has ideas, aspirations, and a vision. It is a very vulnerable position to place yourself in, but one with potential for growth and reward that is not at first clearly visible; this is a message that I would like to share with others who have a desire to become involved but are not yet convinced that they can. For more information here is a link to the FB page that was set up:
https://www.facebook.com/JonPetrichForPort/

19732273_1537704712945635_9111098545301591015_n.jpg
The Pixie Dancers are the best part of our small town 4th of July parade

In my professional life, I am a vessel operator for an oil spill response company. I get paid to play on the water and to be the first line of defense against a potential fuel spill into our pristine waters. Many days, my “commute”, consists of riding my bike down to the beach and being picked up by the work boat.

IMG_2036.JPG
Not a bad commute

I am very fortunate to call this my life and I would like to share it with this community. I live an interesting existence that ranges from the offbeat to the professional. With my knowledge, passions and relations with people of many walks of life, I intend to develop good content that helps spread ideas, inspire compassion and share beauty.

Here is a sampling of a few of the posts I have made over the last two weeks:

This one is a short tale of a walk I took. It talks to land conservations -
https://steemit.com/photography/@jonpetrich/a-walk-to-peach-preserve
Here is a Homesteading post explaining my process of procuring firewood for the season -
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@jonpetrich/harvesting-firewood-timing-felling-decking-rounding-stacking
One of a philosophical nature that is a stream of consciousness –
https://steemit.com/dtube/@jonpetrich/pq9ukvn9
And this one is about a “live foods closet” that I have in my house - https://steemit.com/food/@jonpetrich/live-foods-20171216t204044372z

Pleas follow, upvote and share if you enjoyed my introduction. I look forward to meeting many more like-minded people on here. If there is anything that spoke to you, or a topic you would like me to cover, please share in the comments. Thank you for reading!

@welcoming

Sharing is Caring.png

Sort:  

Awesome! I love to hear other people's stories on here and agree with you, once I found this a month or so ago I quit waisting much time on Facebook except to help find some of my photos I had loaded there in the past.
I'm not much of a writer but am interested in mainly photography and art, and the homesteading info I always like to look through.

I have been Following your posts. Thanks!
@ohicklin

I have noticed your activity on my posts and am very grateful! Thank you @ohicklin! I know we will be seeing more of each other :)

Welcome to steemit hope it's the beginning of a long journey! I'm here for whatever you need, do not hesitate to ask for help! I will follow closely your posts and your blog updates. Will be happy if you follow @nunojesus

Thank you so much for the offer of a helping hand! Be careful, I might just ask for the help ;) Haha

Welcome to Steemit @jonpetrich! Best regards!

Thank you @johnasp96! Same to you!

Wow fantastic introduction! Your life sounds like a slice out of heaven, but it seems like you have worked hard for it. It definitely seems like you have obtained a balance.

I cannot emphasize enough how great it is you got politically involved, and ran for a local public office position; especially campaigning on sustainability and solar energy, which is becoming cheaper every day.

Love those pixie dancers haha, werq!

Welcome to the community, I can't wait to read more of your posts!

Thank you @toddoto! I have to remind myself from time to time how fortunate I am to have this life - and sharing helps me do that. No life is without its trials and tribulations, and I certainly have my fair share, and I find it important to stay focused on the positive.

I owe so much of my motivation and success with the campaign to @twinislandflames - without her it would likely have just stayed a dream.

Thank you for your kind words and inspiration!

oh shucks, @jonpetrich! we make a good team ;)

Welcome @jonpetrich to Steemit! i guess you will do well here! Lets upvote and follow each other! i post about environment and Recycling!
Regards,
@leranion

Wonderful @leranion! Headed over to your page right now :)

Hey jonpetrich! Great post and welcome to you too! 🤗

Thank you for sharing this. I think its cool that your work involves sustainability and conservation. I really I want to do meaningful work like that.

It certainly does make me feel better when sacrificing my time for "the all mighty dollar".

Fellow newcomer and homesteader here! Following!

Awesome! Headed over to your page now! Tha

welcome to steemit @jonpetrich, best regards..
hopefully you feel at home here. 😊

Welcome! I look forward to seeing your adventure!

Wonderful! Thank you @fredompoint! And I have been following you for a little bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51