Live Foods

in #food7 years ago

image

A few months ago I converted a storage closet into a "live foods" closet.

image

The space is easily and efficiently heated to keep it a steady 68F. This is a healthy temperature for many forms of fermentation. My goal is to keep a steady supply of live fermented foods growing around the caldendar.

image

My daughter loves to help prep the crocks and make the tea for kombucha. This gives her a positive connection to the foods we eat and creates what will hopefully be a lasting bond.

Do you eat fermented foods? What is your favorite?

Sort:  

sauerkraut is amazing on so many things - sandwiches, mixed in with eggs, rolled up into a tortilla with some chicken.

is that a sprouting tower you've got in there as well?

100% agree! I keep experimenting and finding new ways to enjoy the kraut!

Yes it is! I put them in there for the first day during germination since it is a controlled temperature. The I move them to the kitchen windowsill so they can capture the sunlight they need to grow.

you should, at some point, show how quickly they go from seed to edible sprout. a lot of people don't realize how quick & easy sprouting is!

That is a great idea! Thank you. I will start a new batch today and document the process and progress :)

I love fermented foods! Kimchi and kefir are my favorite ferments right now :)

Nice! My cousin has a kefir start he is going to pass on to me. Some of my fondest memories are eating my mom's kimchi when I was a kid. I was very lucky to grow up in that kind of environment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60677.93
ETH 3360.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50