Basil Ice Cream (keto friendly, low carb, dairy free)

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)



Refreshing with a surprising twist, this basil ice cream is the perfect dessert for staying on your keto goals! 


Did you know that many of the top commercial ice creams contain an ingredient that is NOT on the ingredients list? One that is also found in your car, and is considered "safe" by the FDA? What is this ingredient?

Propylene glycol. 

It's what keeps your car's engine from freezing in the winter. It's also what keeps your ice cream from freezing rock solid. What exactly is propylene glycol? 

Propylene glycol is a colorless organic liquid that's manufactured by treating


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://easyketodishes.com/basil-ice-cream/

Sort:  

My son was recently diagnosed with T1D and so a recipe like this would be perfect for our house. I bought a recipe book that had a similar ice cream recipe. I tried it out, and whoa was the ice cream was very hard!! Although it was very delicious!
What are your thoughts to making ice cream with some avacodo? I’m wondering if it would make the ice cream more scoopable right from the freezer? Or will no homemade ice cream be scoopable straight from the freezer without the additives?

I am working on a Avacado Ice Cream recipe now. Will let you know how well it freezes

What a fabulous recipe @homesteadhippy! I couldn't agree more about avoiding those nasties in store bought ice-cream. My first encounter with the unusual ice-cream was an Italian restaurant that served garlic or black pepper ice-cream! I was curious. And pleasantly surprised. So I'm quite excited about testing this recipe. Thanks for the share. I'm sure #naturalmedicine will appreciate it

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Howdy there homesteadhippy! wow this looks amazing. We're on Keto but really miss ice cream and this could help fill the bill. Do you have other ice cream recipes too? Hey where do you buy erythritol at? thanks, this is a great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63645.37
ETH 3067.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81