Making Fire Cider - October 8, 2019

Fire Cider - ingredients1 crop October 2019.jpg
Some of the ingredients, L – R: dried cayenne peppers, preserved ginger, turmeric, honey, apple cider vinegar

My helper friend made his Fire Cider last weekend and I thought I ought to get mine made soon, as it takes a month to infuse. I’d looked for horseradish at our local market on Monday and couldn’t find it. We’d found the turmeric at an Asian market, but I’d not bought enough. I’d need yellow storage onions also, as I only grew sweet onions this year.

Fire cider - ingredients2 horsradish crop Nov. 2018.jpg
Horseradish roots

Fire Cider - onions1 crop October 2019.jpg
Yellow storage onions

So when he arrived this morning, I sent him to the market for horseradish, onions, and honey. My husband was going by the Asian market and would pick up more turmeric.

Fire Cider - garlic1 crop October 2019.jpg
German Extra Hardy garlic

I’d grown garlic this year and had plenty of big heads. I’d also preserved ginger root in alcohol and would use that.

Fire Cider - chopped horseradish crop October 2019.jpg
Horseradish in apple cider vinegar

Once my helper friend returned from the market, I set him to chopping the horseradish. With my breathing issues, it wouldn’t be smart for me to work with it. He got it chopped in the food processor and covered with vinegar. I was safe!

But we found out horseradish root is too hard for the plastic parts of the processer, as we sheared off the locking square on the drive post for the upper blade. Fortunately the lower chopping blade did the job.

We had too much horseradish, as he’d bought all they had, so we decided to make pickled horseradish, and you can read about that.

While he was outside grating the horseradish for the pickle, I was peeling enough garlic for the Fire Cider to make 2 cups, chopped.

This is the recipe I use from Edible Pioneer Valley:

Recipe4 crop.jpg

I make ½ gallon, not 1 cup, so everything was 8 times as much.

Fire Cider - grated turmeric crop October 2019.jpg

Once we’d finished the Pickled Horseradish, he started on the turmeric that we had. He peeled it then sliced and sent it through the food processor.

Fire Cider - chopped garlic crop October 2019.jpg

I’d finished the garlic, so he sent that through the processor. We both worked on the preserved ginger, peeling and slicing it to go through the food processor.

Fire Cider - preserved ginger crop October 2019.jpg
Preserved ginger

Fire Cider - 2 cups - horseradish, turmeric, garlic, ginger  crop October 2019.jpg
From bottom to top: horseradish, half the turmeric, garlic, preserved ginger

My husband came back with the turmeric and my helper friend peeled and sliced that while I cut up onions. The onions went through the processor, then the turmeric.

Fire Cider - chopped stuff crop October 2019.jpg
Right jar: onions on bottom, turmeric on top, one pepper on very bottom

Fire Cider - mixed together1 crop October 2019.jpg
Preparing to mix together

Fire Cider - peppers crop October 2019.jpg
Dried cayenne peppers

We’d put the 2 cayenne peppers in each jar, but then separated them out so there would be 2 in each jar when all was mixed.

Fire Cider - mixed together2 crop October 2019.jpg

We got it all mixed together well and put it back into the two ½ gallon jars, putting the peppers in the middle. We filled the jars to the shoulders then added my raw apple cider vinegar to just below the lowest ring. The peppers, being full of air, floated to the top.

Fire Cider - tincturing crop October 2019.jpg

I use the plastic caps, but put a wide mouth canning lid on the jar mouth before putting the cap on. This seals it better than a plastic cap would do, but doesn’t corrode the metal rings of a normal jar cap.

The jars were put down in the root cellar where they will stay for about 1 month. My helper friend will bring his tincture press then and we will press the solids, strain it through buttercloth and put it in fresh bottles.

This post shows us using the tincture press last year.

We both ended up with yellow fingers from the turmeric, as well as yellow food processor, cutting board, etc. Bonami cleanser removes turmeric stains pretty readily.

I’ll be ready for cold and flu season in a month!

Sort:  

We FINALLY got our hands on a big bit of horseradish. I'm planting it tomorrow. I can't wait to make my own fire cider. I add horseradish to mine. It will clear just about ANYTHING out of the system. ;) Next year for sure. For now, I'll make the recipe you posted because I already have all of that.

Cool! I hope to plant some next year...

LOVE this stuff! Works every time!

Hubby was a little skeptical the first time I made it; but when he started to get chest congestion I pressured him to give it a try... it worked and he's never doubted me since.

At least you got him to try it, mine's too stubborn... :))

You’ve been visited by @trucklife-family on behalf of Natural Medicine!

This is a wonderful step by step guide on how to make fire cider, I love seeing all the ingredients packed into that jar. What an amazing immune booster you got here. I have never tried it myself but read so much about the many benefits, I think I need to just do it now. Thanks so much for sharing this with us all xxx

naturalmedicinebannernew2.png

Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Thanks! I loved the colors in the jars too!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for using the #diy tag. We have manually rewarded this post from our @build-it.curator account with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote.


Build-it is a central hub for DIY and How-To projects. It's an opportunity to find and share the latest in DIY, and How-To tutorials. The recommended tags required when creating a DIY article are #diy, #build-it. #how-to, or #doityourself. Please read our guide


Need help? Live technical support on Discord or Telegram

|


This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, click here to vote for us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01