Pickled Horseradish – October 8, 2019

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Pickled horseradish - finished crop October 2019.jpg

On Tuesday I decided to make Fire Cider as my helper friend was here. I’d looked for horseradish at our local market on Monday and couldn’t find it. He said it was there, in the organic section, so I sent him down to get some and some onions and honey.

He bought all they had and the other things. He chopped up as much as we needed for the Fire Cider recipe and there were 2 good sized pieces left over. So we decided to make pickled horseradish to preserve it.

Pickled horseradish - grating horseradish crop October 2019.jpg

I’d delegated the processing of the horseradish to him because of my breathing issues. He adores hot peppers and such and so things like horseradish don’t bother him as much. He’d chopped the horseradish for the Fire Cider in the food processor but the recipe called for grated horseradish and he thought that should be done outside.

So he took the grater and the peeled roots outside and did it there while I peeled garlic for the Fire Cider inside.

Pickled horseradish - recipe crop October 2019.jpg

We looked up a recipe in my Joy of Cooking and found one on page 848 under Pickles and Relishes.

Pickled horseradish - ingredients crop October 2019.jpg

We decided kosher salt was fine vs sea salt for this job. I had plenty of apple cider vinegar we’d made last year.

I’d sterilized a pint jar per instructions, but there was too much horseradish, so we ended up using a clean but not sterile quart jar, as I thought we should use all the brine.

So now I have a stock of horseradish in the fridge for making cocktail sauce or other sauces.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Hey, just dropped in to let you know I’ve featured your post in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! Your post was featured on our daily build newsletter! We set you as a %15 beneficiary of our newsletter rewards.

Keep sharing your awesome DIY and How-to tutorials together with the recommended tags.

Cheers!

Thank you so much! Very appreciated!

Haha! I'm going down the list of your posts since I haven't been on in a while and I just responded to your post above about using horseradish in fire cider and then I get to this one. You are 10 steps ahead. ;) I've never pickled it so I'll try this out!! Thanks for sharing. :)

Well, I wouldn't say ahead....Just trying to not waste any...

I think I will dig up a section of my horseradish plant and give this recipe a try. I have yet to make anything from the one growing in my garden. ;-)

It's real easy, and you can use it in lots of recipes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88