are you city apartment/urban homesteader???? I think I am...

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have just realised that I am an urban homesteader.  I do not have any land, I live in an apartment but I do like to grow things, make things and reuse things if possible. It saves us some money and is better for the planet, all in one.  


So idea of homesteading is not about having a big plot of land where you grow everything yourself and go totally off grid.


It is more of a lifestyle where you recycle what you can, conserve if possible, cook fresh produce, grow some things if you have the space.  And that is what I have been doing for the last 2 years without knowing I was a homesteader


It just took Steemit for me to put those things together and I have the big homesteader community here to thank for that with @papa-pepper being the best know example.


So here are the reasons (with proof because I know you all like to see proof) why I think that Urban homesteading is a thing:


- I grow lots of different herbs and spices on my balcony (and inside in winter)

- We recycle like pros

- I keep my coffee grounds and egg shells and use them in my plant ground (gives acidity and calcium)

- The apartment building we live in is built with local products and runs on green energy and on energy conservation (solar panels, solar water heating, pellet heating, etc)

- As much as possible we buy our vegetables at the local farmer

- I really try to cook with fresh produce  (95% of the time and at least I cook and do not buy that preprepared stuff)

- I make my own syrups (mostly from my homegrown mint, thats why the plants in the pics look a bit bare, I plundered them last week)

- Last week I made my own little birdhouse in a wave of creativity (already in use now)

- I have a healthy stock of prepared seasonal veg in the freezer for when the mood strikes us

- Sometimes we pick wild herbs we recognise on walks to use in the salad

- My next project was going to be making my own cheese but still researching that one on feasibility

- There must be a few more things that we do that would qualify us but these are the most obvious ones 


So here are a few pictures that prove some of the things above...


This is my ladder of herbs (a nifty system that is outside on the balcony wall but when its colder I can just move and hang inside by the kitchen window, not enough light to flourish be enough to survive winter.


All around the edges I have 4 of these double flower pots that have a very handy water storage system but are better used for herbs and strawberries then flowers... both are colorfull but you can usually only eat one. (I really am loving the amazingly vivid red on the strawberry plants)



This is the rest of the lavender that is now dried and providing an amazing scent in our closet



Here you can see proof of 2 things, my little birdhouse in active status as you can see with the food hanging in there (which I created https://steemit.com/animals/@felander/free-wood-to-project-birdhouse) and if you look closely on the roof in the background you can see the same solar panels that are on our roof and there are some more on the side of the house on the right





So do you think I am what I claim to be?? Am I an urban homesteader or not?? Let me know if you are as well...


Sort:  

You're well on the way!

thanks, its winter now though, mountains of snow and not enough green

You are a homesteader in my books! You're doing everything most homesteaders are doing except without the land. Excellent job. Following and upvoted

Its something that a lot more people should do in my opinion... you feel better about yourself and save a bit of money here and there... not a lot of downsides ( unless you count effort as a downside)

Everything that is good in life takes an effort...

Hi @felander, you definitely look like a homesteader to me. Homesteading can be done at any scale.

Have you tried growing micro-greens? They can be grown in a single tray on a balcony or windowsill. They will provide you with green leaves almost all year round.

You might be interested in the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit to find other like-minded people :

A new edition will be coming out shortly. Let me know if you would like to be included.

Good idea in the micro greens... ill check it out, thanks for the tip
And since I declared myself to be an urban homesteader, I guess that you can put me on your list...
Thanks for the comment and vote

Good work, and great post! It’s amazing what can be grown in a small space. We’re living in a townhouse with just a small backyard, but in our raised planter we can grow a lot of herbs too.

Then you should, it is so satisfying to use your homegrown herbs in your cooking...

cool, I think it is more of a mentality thing even though I wouldnt mind having some land... we always did when I was a child

cool, thanks for the confirmation... its all in the mind

NO matter where you are or how you do it, you are a homesteader! It is in the premise of wanting to grow your own, learning to do for yourself and making a productive lifestyle that satisfies you and your family.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @felander to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

and it is actually nice sometimes to get your hands dirty and learn a manual skill and not looking at a screen the whole time... (not that I do not love STEEMIT) but getting the balance right is important

I'd say you are what you do and that would be what you said, urban homesteading!! I love the herb tower, that looks like a great way to use your space. Everything looks so neat and tidy in your little gardens, it's wonderful!!

That bird house looks amazing! I will have to check out your other post. Very talented!!

I would consider my self a homesteader-in-progress, I garden and repurpose, collect rain water and store some food for winter. I'm trying to self sustainable, but i don't think that's a requirement of homesteading. I'd like to be able to barter more though. #lifegoals

thanks so much for your comment and the resteems (saw you did the one on the birdhouse creation as well) and I guess the homesteading is in the mind more then anything and if you fit some of the criteria you are well on your way there...
do not give up on the self sustainability, thats a mighty goal you have set yourself

with the power of steemit, I can learn what I need to know fairly quickly I think. I'm so thankful for this community of talented individuals to learn from!!.

thanks and honoured by your visit and upvote... homesteaders unite...

thanks for the comment, its these that keep me going... thanks for the follow and the upvote

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Sep 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68220.71
ETH 3321.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74