Free wood... to project birdhouse

in #animals7 years ago

Last week I was in a DIY store and there I saw those birdhouses for sale,  you know the ones that you use to feed the birds in winter when they have nothing else.(they really had a much harder time before the kind humans came along)


Now in the store the cheapest ones were about 40 swiss franks which is roughly 40 dollars and that for me was a bit to much to spend on something like that and never mind the bird villa seen in the picture above that cost 299... (didn't even have a pool or jaccuzi so definitely wasn't worth the money)


while wandering through town I came across a big sawmill and outside they had a big barrel of wood that they were going to throw away.  So I put one and one together and came up with the genius plan to build my own bird house (maybe I will do a villa next year)


I eagerly stuffed planks and boards in my little backpack, of course covering myself in sawdust and then went on home ready to hammer and saw away


hmmm... saw away.... hmmm I do not have a saw...   but i do have the wood... cannot back out now... 

So not to be deterred I went to back to the hardware store and bought a saw and glue and nails as you can see in the pic below 

so in the end I spent around 35 franks as well but like the story goes i thought myself to fish instead of buying one fish... (this is my version of it at least.)


So after spending more then one well made bird house costs on tools I set off sawing and hammering roughly but happily and used up some leftover Ikea joining parts and screws. (weirdly there is always some small parts left over after building something from Ikea)


Then I also made it so that it fits on our railing (so basically my bird house is custom built) and that it cannot fall off but can easily be removed.


Now the only thing that is left to do is to buy some of those seed balls to hang on my super hook and then sit back and watch the well fed fat birds lounging around on my balcony...


I really hope you enjoyed the creation of my bird house and I will finish of the roof later on as a cosmetic touch but that is truly for a later date... If you did like this do not forget your upvote and follow but whatever you do.... STEEM ON

Sort:  

Great enjoy a lot want to see more of this in future. @felander

do not know how many more houses I will build but will try to keep up the effort
thanks for the vote and the comment

Good project mate. I can do with my kids. Thanks

kids would love something like this, escpecially after when they see the birds feeding from the house in winter

good work on house for bird using a fine wood like this... @felander nice photos... good work..keep it up

thanks, it really gave me a nice project on a free afternoon in the sun...

sure and keep it up... very good one and do find time o also check my blog posts... keep steeming hot...

Nice birdhouse @felander. We feel good when we make something our self for others. Birds will enjoy living there. Keep up the good work...

thanks for the support, I do enjoy creating things but do not always take the time to do so...(sadly)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74