A Cider Press from Scrap Wood - finished

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Hi everybody,

I finally finished the cider press project that I've been working on. In case you missed the first 2 posts on this project, here's some links

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@fat-elvis/a-cider-press-from-scrap-wood-part-1

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@fat-elvis/a-cider-press-from-scrap-wood-part-2

Anyway, this took me a while to build, because I was just going off a couple of pictures for a reference, then I needed to learn how a cider press worked.

Enough jibba jabba, here's some pictures of the finished project.

IMG_20170919_2018172.jpg

I epoxy coated the juice tray to make cleanup easier, and so it will be nice and food safe.
IMG_20170919_2013375.jpg

I made a "plunger" that is used to press the apples with the hydraulic jack
IMG_20170919_2012195.jpg

IMG_20170919_2009565.jpg

As you press the apples, the juice comes out between the slats of the barrel, and onto the tray. Then out the white pipe, and into a jar or pail.
IMG_20170917_1531304.jpg

Anyway, the project needed a little decoration, so I made a little sign using a piece from a pallet. I painted the letters using clear urethane, then wiped on a stain, to make the lettering pop.
IMG_20170919_2004475.jpg
IMG_20170919_2006575.jpg

Pretty cute eh?
IMG_20170919_2018012.jpg

Thanks for reading!
DQmYwzBeLvECTuPXdcvESQYeCewjXYKqAZfCn4rB87Zm6Gy_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Wawww, thisi is amazing and awesome! Thanks for information mate!

Thanks 👍 was a long process, but I'm pretty happy how it turned out.

First off, I'm glad someone else says jibba jabba, haha. What a great project. The rewards are gonna be so yummy. Those are my favorite kind.

I never thought about reverse painting/staining. I really like the effect on your sign. So clear to read. I'm adding this to my bag of tricks.

Lol. Jibba jabba is a great Mr. T term. At least that's where I learned it. I first tried that stain technique on a steemit board I built as a coin display for my #steemsilvergold posts, it worked pretty well, and is nicer than paint in some ways because the wood still shows through. Thanks for reading.

Mr. T! Yes, that's where I picked the term up too. Ahh, The A Team, it's been years.

I haven't heard about #steemsilvergold posts. Looking into that as soon ass I get off of here. Sounds very rewarding.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 2.55 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @fat-elvis.

That turned out just incredible! You sure know how to handle your wood.🍎

Lol, thanks ed!

This post has received a 3.12 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @fat-elvis.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This is great! I want one now!

Great work! Looking forward to hearing how the first pressing goes!

I should be delivering it on the weekend to the new owners, so hopefully we can try it out right away! Ill make a post for sure.

This post has received a 5.60 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @fat-elvis.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56