A cider press, from scrap wood part 1

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hi everybody
I was tasked by my aunt to build a cider press. These were used before electric juicers to press the juice from crushed apples to make some delicious wine or cider.
Here is the photo she sent me for reference.
IMG_20170909_153246_01.png

So I set to work with some pallet wood
IMG_20170908_1852130.jpg

I cut 30 pieces of wood 1' x 1-1/4" at 10 degrees.
IMG_20170908_1852180.jpg
IMG_20170908_1903252.jpg
This part is strapping the slats together to make a barrel
IMG_20170908_1910303.jpg
IMG_20170908_1935585.jpg
Ok, Ill be honest, that part took some figuring out, barrel making isn't something I have ever had to try before. But it turned out OK.
Then I made the platform, this was pallet wood and some 1/4" plywood. I'll need to seal it somehow, maybe epoxy?

IMG_20170909_1427052.jpg
IMG_20170909_1428256.jpg

Allright, that's it for now, more updates to follow, in part 2 later.
Thanks for reading!
DQmYwzBeLvECTuPXdcvESQYeCewjXYKqAZfCn4rB87Zm6Gy_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:
https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-9-14-17
You have received a Whaleshare upvote (@officialfuzzy) thanks to @buildawhale and @akrid. Keep up the good work and content.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-canada courtesy of @goldenarms from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Stellar work so far bud. Hope this works out and I'll be anxious to see it once it's done. The first one does not look light lol

Not light at all, that's a 1.5 ton hydraulic jack mounted on the top to press the apples, so it has to be pretty heavy duty.

Shazaam! yeah just remember to lift it with your back in a quick jerky motion when u goto move it. Screw the team lift u got this, you're a real man 😁

You bet! I read that your lower back is the strongest and least vulnerable part. Quick twisting jerking motion should lift it right up. I'm guessing this thing will weigh all in about 150lbs. Plus about 20lbs for the bottle jack.

This post has received a 1.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @fat-elvis.

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @fat-elvis.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

Very cool! I'm sure that thing will turn out some delicious stuff when its ready!

Thanks, I sure hope it makes some nice cider!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 1.81 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @fat-elvis. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @fat-elvis.

Dude, that's so badass, I'm super impressed.
I once tried putting three backpacks full of apples through a little juicer in an attempt to make hard cider, and it took over 8 hours including cleaning the juicer every 20 minutes.
I'm really into the idea of using a jack as a press. I bet someones made a decent bearing press using a jack like that.... sweet. followed.

Thanks sammy. I have made hard cider with a steamer juicer, then used beer yeast. Turned out fantastic every time. This thing should be interesting to use when it's done. Mine likely won't look as pretty as the pintrest stock picture, bit we'll see, I'll try to add some little embelishments. Thanks for checking it out.

looks great!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56