January Week 3 - Part 2

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

farmstead farmsteadsmith sunrise

January 17th

Six eggs again today. Caught some fakers making the egg song in the coop without having laid an egg. Jerks. Six is better than none! I can’t wait until everyone is laying again. I’m really missing my blue/green eggs... I may have to get some more Easter Eggers or at least some sort of blue layers this season.

Lots of cute puppy cuddles today.

farmstead farmsteadsmith dogs dogfarmstead farmsteadsmith dog dogs

It was so windy today, I hardly spent any time outside. But it was relatively warm, which I appreciated.
Took my bestie to a doc appt in Bend, on the way home we stopped and had some Phò. It was delicious. Thankful to have a roommate here who was willing to close up the birds for the night, so I could do things like help my friend out.


January 18th

Another oopsie egg today. This is cracking me up. Whoever is laying these oopsies must really not know it’s coming! Haha wish I could catch them in the act. They’re doing it right after being let out of the coop in the morning the last couple times!

Look who I found in a nesting box today! An Easter Egger! FINALLY! I got my first blue egg today since August or September! I was so happy to see it! Large one too!

farmstead farmsteadsmith easteregger chickenfarmstead farmsteadsmith easteregger chicken cuckoomarans marans

That brought us to 8 perfectly edible eggs today! Once I get 9, I will be so excited because not only does that mean HALF of my hens are laying but also beating my record high of 8 over the summer! I’m going to be so blown away once I hit 18 in one day! Haha I can’t wait!

farmstead farmsteadsmith egg easteregger chicken

Squeakers is doing so well. I left the house today for an hour and decided to take Koodge and Dutch with me for the car rid but leave Miss Squeakers at home (she doesn’t do well in the front seat and with both boys in back, she’d get trampled!). When I returned she was SO excited to see me, jumping and running around, it was the cutest and it made me cry! It made my day, really! She is doing so good. Now she’s decided to be a picky eater... I guess she’s allowed at 12 or 15 years old with only a few teeth left. Haha


January 19th

Today was another eggciting day! 2 of 3 Easter eggers are now laying again!! This is almost more eggciting than when they started laying in the first place!! I got NINE eggs today! Beating my summer “record”! Woot!

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken lady easteregger eggfarmstead farmsteadsmith eggs chicken

Our egg stores are getting full! Haha I believe that I actually now have at least 11 actively laying. Haha cause I didn’t get a few eggs that I got yesterday. No oopsie eggs today. But I got video of one of my Faverolles yelling for no reason.

I spend so much time out with the chickens just watching and observing them. Haha they’ve taken over my life. Maybe the ducks, geese, and quail will start laying soon? Maybe then there will be a change from chicken eggs to other eggs. Eggs are my life... haha apparently. I tried working on house chores today but it didn’t happen. I don’t even know what I did all day?

Oh! So three of the Faverolles and two of my Langshans decided to be adventurous today. They’ve never before ventured far from the coop, but today they came to the front of the house! They all ended up not being able to figure out how to get back to the coop so I had to grab them all and take them back one by one... oye. Haha

farmstead farmsteadsmith kitty paws cat


January 20th

farmstead farmsteadsmith sunrise sky clouds

*The sunrise was gorgeous! *

I got 11 eggs! That put us at 54 eggs for the week! I can’t even believe it! Maybe I will be able to sell eggs this year!! Haha I also bought Squeakers a little cuddle buddy fox and it’s so cute but she doesn’t know what to make of it. Lol

farmstead farmsteadsmith eggs chickensfarmstead farmsteadsmith squeakers dog chihuahua


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she earns on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 8+, unless stated otherwise!


If you EVER want to get ahold of me for any reason, please join us on our Discord, Homesteaders Online. You can always find me there.

Homesteaders Online


@daddykirbs @allforthegood

Sort:  

Congrats on the increase in egg production!

Sounds like Squeakers is finding her niche in the pack. Sweet!

It sure feels good to have them mostly laying, though not all of them are yet again. Hahha.

Yet... more daylight, more eggs. They'll get there this time!

It's gonna feel like such an accomplishment when all 21 hens lay one day. Hahah. I will be so impressed.

You should have your own song for the 100% days. LOL!

Yay! You are rolling in eggs! How Egg-citing! That sunrise is definitely gorgeous. And Squeakers looks and sounds so happy. Benji looks comfy too. "oopsie egg"...you crack me up! LOL! Wanted to send some love to you on Valentine's Day, my friend. Tip!

Yes! SO many eggs! We've been lucky to be able to sell to husband's co-workers! So at least they're not going to waste! :) Thank you for the tip! <3

That is great that you can sell them. That was one of your goals you talked about last year. Good for you! Sure wish I could buy some. : )

Oh that would be so great! I wish you could too!! ❤️❤️

Oh look at Squeakers and her new toy/friend!
Love spoiling my gal here too. She pretty much runs this household... yeah... she's that spoiled rotten!

LOVE the fake egg layers' songs!

It was awfully cute. She didn't much care for it, as it ends up. Hahaha. I gave it to the cat. He likes it! Hahah.

Hi @farmstead! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @whatisnew :)

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Caturday- Pachino Stole My Chair Again. Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 18:04:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.15/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95