January Week 2 - Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

farmstead farmsteadsmith sunset sky clouds

January 7th

farmstead farmsteadsmith chicken salmonfaverolles faverollesfarmstead farmsteadsmith egg chicken chickenegg

I knew it would happen that since I got six eggs yesterday, I’d only get a couple today. Two eggs today. Sigh. I thought I was gonna get a third from my SLW, but no, she just sat in the nesting boxes for a few hours, made a gorgeous and perfect nest, for nothing! Turd just left and did not deposit an egg. I’m thinking about putting my fake eggs back in the nesting boxes as encouragement, but I don’t want to encourage anyone to go broody in the dead of winter! Lol oye.


January 8th

Woohoo, five eggs today! Watched the chickens for a lot of time today. I really enjoy observing them. They did a lot of fighting over the nesting boxes. That brown one (a Welsummer) didn’t even end up laying after putting up all that fuss. Haha

Today I have entered into the Easter Egg hunting club. This was the first time a hen laid out of the nesting boxes. I knew one day I would find someone laying in the thorny rose bushes, today was that day. One of my Australorps has decided she is much too good for the nesting boxes. Yes, sometimes I hurt myself trying to gather these eggs... But I am so glad that I was outside at the time, I heard her sing her egg song and she gave her hiding spot away! I’m curious if I am going to have to check that spot often now...

farmstead farmsteadsmith langshan welsummer chickensfarmstead farmsteadsmith langshan chicken egg

Today I cleaned the coop, cleaned bunny cages and clipped bunny nails. Spent a lot of time outdoors because the weather was decent and it wasn’t freezing. It’s amazing how much time passes when you’re just watching chickens...

farmstead farmsteadsmith eggs chickensfarmstead farmsteadsmith kitty cat



January 9th

farmstead farmsteadsmith geese ducks mudfarmstead farmsteadsmith chickens langshan salmonfaverolles faverolles

Nothing super exciting today, except I did get 8 total eggs, however, two weren’t edible. But finally production is picking back up! After what felt like ages!! I’m so happy about it! The excitement of going out and getting eggs is the best! The Australorp decided to lay in the roses again... two days in a row, the heifer. At least her spot is easy to find!

The geese and ducks got fresh water in their pools, so they were of course more than happy to play in the mud!

More fighting over the nesting boxes again. The second pic above shows a Faverolles trying to sneak into this nesting box with the Langshan. The Faverolles ended up laying an egg in the same box with the Langshan.


January 10th

Well today was a stressful day, to say the least! Maybe the chickens knew cause I only got two eggs today! lol Squeakers had her appointment to get the majority of her teeth pulled. This was so stressful for me because she had to have an additional unexpected (read: very expensive) xray to determine whether or not her heart could take being put under for this surgery.

Poor little Squeakers. You can tell she feels pretty awful. All she wants is to be held and cuddled. She whined whenever I had to go potty or left the area. She has eaten some but not much, and she has yet to drink water. She wouldn’t take a pain pill and I’m not allowed to force her, lol. Meaning, Due to her dental work, I can’t just pry her mouth open and pop it in there.I hope she drinks water in the morning, or has snuck it in sometime, but I doubt it. Will call vet in the morning to ask about it.

farmstead farmsteadsmith dog chihuahua postsurgery

I’m definitely loving all the cuddles. I hope she recovers quickly cause it’s killing me seeing her like this.

Benji also had surgery today. He was neutered. Compared to poor Squeakers, Benji, on the other hand, is doing remarkable and was hyper for the rest of the day. Ate as fast as he could, and was a crazy kitty. No worries there! Haha


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she earns on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 8+, unless stated otherwise!


If you EVER want to get ahold of me for any reason, please join us on our Discord, Homesteaders Online. You can always find me there.

Homesteaders Online


@daddykirbs @allforthegood

Sort:  

That sunset. Holy moly!

I knoooow!!!! They’re almost always awesome! My poor phone is filled by sunset and sunrises! Hahah

Aww poor Squeakers and Benji <3 I hope they feel better soon! Beautiful chickens and yay for egg production increasing! Our girls are just starting to lay more...can't wait for spring!!

I know right? Poor things, but they've come around just fine. Well, Benji, you wouldn't have even known that the had any surgery! The vets said that as soon as he woke up he was trying to play like a crazy kitty. Hahah.

Bunnies? You have bunnies too? I am so excited because I got to hear my first egg song. Poor Squeakers; I hope she is feeling better now. Give her a kiss for me. Glad to hear that Benji is doing so well. Man...that is too much stress for one day!

Yes, I have bunnies, but they're so boring. Hahaha. They're just doing bunny things, which isn't much. I don't like them much, but they're mine and I don't want to give them away. I don't think they'd make good pets for anyone. One of them is deaf, I am pretty sure. And the other just doesn't like much interaction. Which is fine for me, I just take good care of them and can use their poop in the garden! Haha.

Squeakers is doing so well now and now tries to play with one of the big dogs. It's pretty hilarious to watch. She gets very excited about food! Speaking of, it's just about time to feed these mongrels breakfast! Haha.

Sounds like you have an animal sanctuary going on there. I didn't know that you can use bunny poop in the garden; at least they are good for something. I wish I knew that when I had my bunny. : )

I am so happy to hear that Squeakers is doing much better. Your mornings and nights sound like they are busy times for you because of feeding. : )

Yes! Somewhat of a sanctuary but I have had to stop accepting furry friends now. Haha I’ve been offered a guinea pig and more rabbits. I say “no, thank you” now because I don’t want any more pet-type animals. 3 dogs, 1 cat, and 2 rabbits are more than enough for me! I may eventually get more cats from the shelter which are meant to be outside barn cats, but no more animals in the house!! I can’t do it! Haha

Oh yes, all animal poop (except cats and dogs) aid good for the food garden! I imagine cat and dog poo might be okay for flower garden, but I tend to avoid that.

Bunny poo is great because you can use it immediately! The same with duck poo. But chicken poo needs to break down and compost cause it’s high in ... nitrogen I believe and is too “hot” until it’s broken down. Interesting, huh?!

thanks for shearing..

i am inspire about him from your post.
thank you for your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73