Sort:  

I do plan on that! Those are great! Need more eggs tho! Haha they're not even producing enough for my husband and I to both have breakfast every day!

How many do you have?

Chickens or eggs?

I have 21 chickens, 2 are roosters. Only 5 hens are of laying age right now. Apparently only 2 are laying. Haha

I was asking about the hens lol. Need to be more clear i guess. We kept roosters. Like 3 of them one was a bantee and really cute. Since there were no hen's they got along. They ate a lot of pests. Even saw one "slurp" down a very small snake once like it was spaghetti. Chickens are pretty cool.

They can get along if there are hens as well. Mine get on fine. There are many factors that make or break roos getting on well. I guess a good number of chickens for each roo is like 8-10. I think space also helps. Mine free range. :D

Chickens are weird and interesting creatures for sure! I love havin' them!

Hm, i guess i never thought about that. Ours free ranged too and then roosted at night in their pen ...which was closed then reopened in the morning.
As you said so long as they have the space they won't act like hooligans.
What are your plans to keep them warm in the winter? Heated lamps or tarping?

They do have a coop, of course for protection. Since chickens are basically zombies at night, I'm not worried about Roo bullies really. Haha. Though I don't get out there until 7:30a most mornings. So far, so good!

Coops do not need to be heated. As long as they're well made, no drafts, and they do not get moist inside at all. The chickens do well even in -40! Can you believe it?! Especially if they've got lots of chicken friends to cuddle up to. I don't think, however, only 2 or 3 chickens would do well in that temp. But I can't say for sure!

Damn, negative 40?! Amazing critters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51