Farmstead Update - Babies!

in #homesteading7 years ago

farmsteadsmith farmstead baby chicks quail

So a while back, I shared with you guys that I had a broody hen! And I was so excited to get some eggs to put underneath her!

Fast Forward to... Today.

So today some babies hatched! It's so exciting! They're so damn cute when they're brand new to the world. So sleepy and wobbly. But I have to tell you about yesterday...

Now Rewind... Yesterday

Today is supposed to be hatch day for my broody hen... Well.. She has been doing a decent job sitting on the eggs, until today! This morning, I went to the coop to check on the chickens and no one was on the nest of eggs and supposed "broody" was just out laying in the sun, like a fucking bum.

I decide, hey, maybe it's just her time that she goes out and poops and does some foraging. She'll be back on the nest in no time.

I go back out, a half hour later and empty nest still. Shit, what do I do? I don't even know. I resolve to remove the eggs if the next time I go out there, no one is setting.

I bring my egg basket, open the nesting box and one of my Australorps is setting. Okay fine... I guess I will let her set there. This is not original broody, by the way.

Then, a while later, I hear the egg song. I go out to see if the 'lorp laid an egg. She's walking around singing at the top of her lungs. Fine. Okay, I open the box again and one of the Welsummers is sitting on the eggs... Shoot. Well, let's see if the 'lorp laid.

No... But there's a giant shit on the eggs now, and my Welsummer is sitting on it. I am at a loss as to what to do. Do I take the eggs or what? I don't even know. Someone's sitting on them, which is fantastic, I don't really care.

The whole point was to experiment with using a broody to hatch eggs, cause I didn't want to brood more babies in my house! Since I am already broody quail babies.

And this broody butthole dips out on THE LAST DAY?! What on earth?!

I don't even know if I should attempt to take the eggs or... clean out the nest box some how. Today is supposed to be hatch day! I really don't want to bother them... Ugh. Usually I get a feeling of what to do, of what "feels" right to do. I've got nothing. Hahahha. sigh

Finally, I went back to the coop and found that no one was on the nest. So I took the eggs and yelled at the broody hen. "I am taking your eggs! You're a horrible mother!" and put them in the incubator with the quail eggs. I know this is not an ideal situation. But, it's all I could do. Damn.

Back to Today!

I had been looking in the incubator all morning. We even heard some peeps coming from inside the unhatched eggs! Saw a few wiggling a bit... and finally at around 1:30pm, I checked in the incubator after cleaning the chicken coop and doing some chores, and voila! BABIES. One baby chick, and one baby quail!

I'm actually quite nervous now, I keep looking in the incubator, because no one else has hatched yet! Okay, I am freaking out a little. I hope that more hatch, neither of these babies can really be raised together nor alone! I really hope more hatch tomorrow. Keep your fingers crossed for more babies to hatch!

The baby chicken that hatched came out of a blue egg! So it is either one of the Olive Egger eggs I purchased or one of Lady's eggs! Lady is my Bestie Chicken. It would be so cool if it were one of her eggs that hatched! Eeek.

Here's some videos. :D




SBD for Steem Powered Raised Beds Progress:
$36 out of $124 earned.

Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Please Consider Supporting:

  • @rhondak, she runs a much needed and severely underfunded Dog Rescue in the Appalachian Mountains. She uses the funds she earns on Steemit to save lives.

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

I just saw this post today after @libertylol referred you to me and I have to say your writing style is hilarious....I’m trying not to die or shake the bed with silent laughter over you yelling “I’m taking your eggs! You’re a horrible mother!” LOLLLL

good one and successful hatching.. all done naturally which is very good... more success @farmstead

Well I dunno about “natural”, I am using an incubator. But more hatched overnight! So thankful!

Wow...good one... Keep it coming...
Do find time to read up my blog posts

Awww Congrats. So sweet! I want one, the quail is so tiny.
How have you been girl? It would be so cool if it turned out looking like Bestie.🐓

Hey you! It's been kinda grueling lately to get anything done. Stupid weather changing and everything.

The quail are super cute when they're teeny! I wish they stayed so cute. But they're super scardy all the time. They're not friendly at all. Not these kind anyway. Haha.

It would be cool if they did end up looking like her! Hehe.

All feet and beak! Adorable and fingers crossed for additional hatchmates!

We need all the hope for more to hatch we can get! I am so scared that no one else will hatch! Would be devastating! The suspense is killing me!

That little quail looks so much more ready to greet the world than the little chicken. I hope your other eggs all hatch!

More hatched last night!! Thank goodness! I’m sure it was everyone’s positive thoughts! :) haha

The quail are so cute when they hatch. They’re super responsive when you talk to them too!

So cool! Congratulations on all your new hatchlings! :D

Thank you!! They’re so adorable!

Good on you for taking the right action! I cannot believe she would leave her eggs like that!!!! Wow....

Broody biotch! Haha she didn’t even care that I took the eggs! No shits were given! Lol

By the way! More hatched overnight!! Thank goodness!!

Yeah, she gets the "Mother of the Year" award for realz. I'm glad to have someone else hold the trophy for once actually...Bwa hahahhahaaaa!!

Thanks for the update too, wonderful news <3 <3 <3

Hahahhaha mother of the year is right!! Giving up before she even gets the chance! Haha

Back when I had chickens, I only had 1 hen that would set eggs until they hatched. Chickens are fickle creatures...

I'm so frustrated with her. Hahaha. I didn't want to brood babies, but nooooooooo. Hahah Ah well. At least they're cute!

Great enjoy a lot want to see more of this in future. @farmstead

Awesome! :) thanks! Glad you like it!

So cute! Didn't you also have a broody quail hen at some point?

Oh no, that wasn’t me. It happens occasionally I guess but very rare for domestic quails to hatch their own babies. I hoped they would! But no such luck! Haha

Huh I wonder who it was :/ I would love to breed specifically for that trait if I can find any who hatch their own

Now that would be an interesting project for sure!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57971.70
ETH 2448.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34