A Chicken Best Friend

in #homesteading7 years ago
So, I kept telling myself that I am totally not attached to my chickens. Nah, not at all. Well, that was true, until one of them became my Bestie Chicken! Yep. I folded. I did. She woo'd me and I was hooked. I call her "My Lady".

The first time I knew she and I were going to be great friends was when I was sitting out with all the chickens, basking in some of the first spring sun. She walked right up to me, sat down beside me, and sprawled out in the sun. It was then I knew that she trusted me implicitly. Trusted me enough to come right up to me, and relax fully.

She is an Easter Egger and I would have never guessed she'd turn out to be so friendly. Everyone always talks about how friendly and nice their chickens are, and I just really tried hard not to have too friendly of chickens. This is because I want to protect myself from heartbreak. Haha. I free range my chickens, and I know that sooner or later, someone will get picked off by a predator. It's just the way it is with how I choose to raise them.


She is always the first to greet me by running up to me and talking at me. She doesn't argue when I pick her up, and she likes to stand on my arm. I almost feel like I am some sort of bird of prey trainer when she stands on my arm. Maybe I should get a leather glove!? She does end up scratching me every time, but I never learn.

I have a small portion of my property fenced off to create a small sanctuary to call my back yard. I did this to hopefully keep the chickens out of it, as they like to destroy plants and shit everywhere. Also, my dog loves eating chicken poop. Mostly, they do stay out (surprisingly), except for my bestie chicken, I will often find her standing at the sliding glass door looking for me.

fence

There's just something about hearing the pitter patter of her feet running behind me as I do some of my chores in the morning. She was laying on of her first eggs the other day, and it was as if she was pleading for me to stay with her while she figured it out. Some chickens seem rather empty and rather preoccupied with whatever they're scratching for, but there's something about this little chicken that helps me get my day straight.



Here are some of her first eggs for me. The green/blue ones are hers. I believe she is the one who laid the shell-less egg also.

I am really happy to have some sort of connection with a chicken. Now I can see how some people can regard them as pets! Pretty eye opening to see that a chicken can be more than just a birdbrain.

Do you have a weird best animal friend?


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Blog Series

  • Nature on the Farmstead - These posts will be educational and informative about the nature that happens on my farmstead. Look forward to posts about wild animals, birds, wildflowers and plants, insects, and more!

As always @farmstead here blogging from FarmsteadSmith!

verify

Yup, it is I, feeling like crapola, no make up and fuzzy hair from lazing on the couch! Okay, I put on some mascara just for this picture. Face is red from an allergic reaction of some sort... I don't even know.

*Photos by me using my iPhone 6s, unless stated otherwise!


daddykirbsallforthegood
Badges by @daddykirbs and @allforthegood!

Sort:  

Chickens are great pals. During our travels in New Zealand, we stayed at this home with a few acres in the countryside and the property caretaker raised her chickens there. They were very entertaining, and surprisingly chatty. Love your pics with your chicken. She is very cute. :)

They are surprisingly fun to watch!! I could watch them all day! Often I find myself doing just that!

Thank you for coming by!

What a sweet little Angel !! You are very lucky <3 <3 Get attached! If something happens, at least you got to have this bond, better to have loved and lost than never loved at all <3 <3 <3 #ChickenLoveIsReal

I'm attached to this one. But after losing my baby goat earlier this year, man, I am going to try hard not to get as attached!

Awww, poor baby goat :'( I didn't know about that loss. Certainly homesteading teaches us so much about the life and death cycle...

Yeah it's hard to share! Hahah I can only do it in bits. Haha

Great post! I always like to hear about these stories that people have. I had a Burbon Red turkey that did the exact same thing. She would follow you everywhere and would always be talking to you. The biggest problem we ran into was that she got to big to set on our arms.

Oh man. That's awesome! Turkeys kind of scare me. I only witnessed one of the males do their fluff thing for the first time a little while back. That is the weirdest noise!

Howdy gal, enjoyed your story and the part where you try to stay unattached. It happens to the best of us, there is always one that tugs at your heart. My dog likes the poop too, ick! Hope you feel better, take a benedryl and drink lots of H2O🐓

Haha, yeah. I think the others I am still pretty unattached to. I do threaten them with the crock pot all the time. Been thinking about sticking it out in the field, hoping it would scare them into laying. ;) hahahah

Thanks. Been battling this for a couple weeks now. :/ It's pretty frustrating! Been trying to find my benedryl, I know I have some SOMEWHERE. Haha. Zyrtec doesn't seem to be helping any. lol.

Thank you!!

😂😂 @ threatening them with the crock pot!

`Caunas seem to be the ones to be most personable, have most attitude, or be most flighty. I've run the spectrum over the years. My current couple of Americaunas are happy to stay out of view and keep to themselves.

Easter Eggers are a toss up on behavior and personality because they're such a mixed breed. Kind of crazy. My other three are pretty flighty, they don't much care for attention, so I don't bother them. Haha. One of them is a rooster! He's kind of a dick.

I had one cauna that was an attention whore. she loved to futz around in the grass while I did chores. I think a coon got her a few years back. I've had fights with some roosters.... from the time I was a child through just last year, occasionally one needs a quick smack to get them to pay attention or settle down.

I can't have chickens in my town, so I'm getting a kick out of your flock! It's fun to see what y'all are up to!

NO. That's awful. Such a stupid rule. Haha. I am so glad you are enjoying my posts!! That makes me really happy to hear!

Yeah, I'm in a suburb and they consider chickens 'livestock' - just like a cow or a pig. I can't really blame the town. If you knew some of my neighbors, you'd be thankful they aren't allowed to have roosters. Not only would we be up at all hours, half of the jerks would be organizing cock fights behind the bowling alley. (Some of my neighbors are just above sub-human. Sigh.)

Most towns don't allow roosters but hens, come on! Haha tho they do get loud when they lay. Haha

Anything that specifically mentions quail?? Usually you can get around it with those.

Hmmm, hadn't considered quail. Of course, with Tinker, she might think we're making her hunt for her dinner now. She wouldn't have a problem with that, but the birds would.

One of these days, I'll tell the story of Tink plotting and executing a successful chicken raid on one of our vacation trips. It was epic!

The quail would probably be safe cause they have to be completely enclosed or they'll run away. Haha but it's something to think about! If you wanted eggs or a meat animal. I have some bobwhite quail, and they whistle JUST LIKE HUMANS! Freaked me and the dog out! He went running to see if there was someone on the property and I was too!about ready to grab a gun or something! Freaked me out!!

Oh man, I forgot about the bobwhite calls. They are distinctive, no doubt. So glad you didn't blast 'em!

It's honestly never my first instinct to grab a gun, but the thought did cross my mind, AFTER. LOL!

I never thought I would say this, but I think I am beginning to like chickens; especially your Bestie. You have got yourself another pet! I love the first photo. By the way...you always look great! :)

They're really a joy to have. I feel like they're super low maintenance too!!

She is really cool! Super bonus that she lays blue green eggs!! Haha

You'd love it here! Many opportunities for pictures! Time to save up some money! Haha

I know that I would love it there! I would need help with my chickens though...LOL :)

That's really cool. We recently picked up a red sex link hen from someone who was giving several away. She's about a year old we think. Anywho... she's much sweeter and social than our rhode island red hen.

I was busy replying to your note here AND THEN A FUCKING SPIDER WAS DANGLING IN MY FUCKING FACE BETWEEN MY FACE AND PHONE!!

I screamed! I am not a screamer!! But here I was lying in bed! Totally vulnerable! Screamed and jumped out of bed and ran! Omg. shudder

So, I forgot what I was going to say.

Our Brahma chicken is our feathery dog. It's young enough that we still can't quite tell its gender (it was sold to us as a rooster, but we're suspecting it's actually a hen), but it follows us around, perches on our arms, full-on snuggles, and literally runs to our side when we come in view. If ever something gets this chicken, my little happiness time-bomb, I'll be a wreck for a bit.

Ah man! I'd love to see!!?

It's kind of a crappy picture, but here's me and Tiger, snuggling like we do. :)
tigerrrr.jpg

Hehehe, how old is it?

Hmmm....5 months? I'm not actually sure, now that I think of it.

I guess you'll know if you end up with an extra egg a day. Haha

Bestie Chicken Rules.

fist pump yeah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57716.25
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26