Making a sourdough starter, for the best bread going! ✊ 😜

in #homesteading6 years ago

Nothing quite compares to the smell of freshly baked bread


Laying out the equipment I can feel the excitement growing

I did have a sourdough starter many moons ago must be ten at least, when I first moved out and fell in love with cooking and baking, looking back I can’t remember what happened to it.

No doubt I went away for a while as I travelled a lot at that age and it didn’t make it, or was secretly discarded when I was away.

Anyway, @riverflows did an amazing post on making a sourdough loaf and other cool things and it got me enthused to get a starter back on the go.

Check out her great post below!
https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@riverflows/cold-faces-warm-bread-saturday-smiles


A spare clip top jar minus the seal

Before I get to the nitty gritty of mixing up the sough dough I though I’d show you the container I’ve settled on, it a 1.5l glass flip top jar that has had the seal removed. Please do bare in mind if you plan to make this avoid any air tight containers as the CO2 released could build up to a dangerous level and cause a catastrophe, and I’d hate so seem me fellow Steemians get hurt or have to clean up the mess at best!
Measureing out the flour

For this starter im going to go with a 50/50 mix by weight of flour to water, 400g strong bread flour ( as that is what I had) to 400ml of water
why did I choose to use a funnel 😣

Once the flour has been added its onto the water
400ml of water added to the mix

Once this was added the next step was to give it a good thorough stir to make sure the water and flour had mixed together without to many big lumps
ready for day two

Next step is to let the wild yeast start to take hold and feed it over the coming days with more flour until we have a nice strong yeast culture that we can harvest to make a leaven which will be added to the bread mix to make it taste amazing!!!! I’ll keep you posted on the feeding and ultimately the first “baking of the bread” once the starter is good to go I can’t stress how much I’m looking forward to a good home baked bread!
As always thanks so much for stopping by, leave a comment as I’d love to hear from you all, apparently its tradition to name your sourdough any suggestions? If you like what you see consider an upvote, resteem or follow but most of all keep on steeming! All the best Dan

Sort:  

@birdsofparadise was it you asking me about the starter? Check it out!!!

Glad you were inspired mate... can't wait to see result. Fresh bread is the best.

The funnel picture made me giggle....

Yes! I was asking, just found this post! So when do you add more flour? And just leave it on the counter? How long does it take until it is bread "starter"? So exciting!

Well, until it's nice and sour and smelly! I think you're meant to feed it every 12 hours, but I'm not sure - to be honest, Mum started ours and it's gone around the neighbourhood for about 3 or 4 years now!! Keep us updated on the process, @digitaldan - sourdough steem team!!

12 hours is used a lot when reading up on it, but that doesn't fit my weekday schedule unfortunately, it sounds pretty forgiving to be honest so I'm sure 24 hours between feeds won't cause any issues just a bit longer to get it going.

I've been reading around and it seems to vary depending on the flour used and the temperature its kept in, like @riverflows says wait until its nice and smelly, and reacts well to a feed. about a week or so seems to be average but the longer you keep it going the better it'll get! Ill be doing follow up posts through out the week

uuurgh the funnel haha 🙃, I've been meaning to buy a wide necked one for ages to stop these issues but keep putting it off.... ill remember that powers get stuck in it one of these day!

Glad you are posting this! I just read @riverflows post yesterday, didn't know where or how to get the starter! I'll be anxious to stay tuned! Thanks!

I love how Steemians work together on these things!!

Congratulations @digitaldan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That looks great, I'll give it a crack and see how it turns out.

Thanks for posting this.
Almost a year ago I decided to give the sourdough starter a try without success. I do bake bread in a breadmaker. Love it. I will give your recipe and try. Resteemed! :)

Thanks for the kind words the starter smelling great now very yeasty and sour but not in a bad way hopefully ill be baling some bread with it this week end 👍 thanks for the resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59634.42
ETH 3191.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45